LibGuides: Pharmacy Technology: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

AHFS Drug Information AHFS is the only drug information resource curated by a not-for-profit scientific organization and the only remaining original federal compendium whose authority for establishing accepted medical uses includes the broadest scope of drugs and indications under Medicaid, Medicare Part D, and more. The 2018 edition is backed by 60 years of in-depth, unbiased drug coverage—delivering authoritative data for compendia, citations, compliance and more. Information on prescription, OTC, ophthalmic, and dermatologic drugs is evidence-based, reviewed by subject matter experts, and supported by nearly 90,000 references. AHFS Drug Information, 2018 Edition® includes therapeutic recommendations supported by primary research, extensive dosage and administration information, extensive off-label uses and related dosing options.
APhA DRUGInfoLINE The APhA DrugInfoLINE® is a monthly newsletter of interpreted drug and pharmacotherapeutic information designed to keep front line pharmacists current on the latest trends in the biomedical literature. This unique STAT!Ref resource contains current, searchable information not available in any other similarly compiled format.
Case Studies in Pharmacy Ethics Pharmacists face ethical choices constantly - sometimes dramatic life-and-death decisions, but more often subtle, less conspicuous choices that are nonetheless important. Among the topics confronted are assisted suicide, conscientious refusal, pain management, equitable distribution of drug resources within institutions and managed care plans, confidentiality, and alternative and non-traditional therapies. Veatch and Haddad's book, first published in 1999, was the first collection of case studies based on the real experiences of practicing pharmacists, for use as a teaching tool for pharmacy students. The second edition accounts for the many changes in pharmacy since 1999, including assisted suicide in Oregon, the purchasing of less expensive drugs from Canada, and the influence of managed care on prescriptions. The presentation of some cases is shortened, most are revised and updated, and two new chapters have been added.The first new chapter presents a new model for analyzing cases, while the second focuses on the ethics of new drug distribution systems, for example hospitals where pharmacists are forced to choose drugs based on cost-effectiveness, and internet based pharmacies.
Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer Easy-to-understand, in-depth materials to help educate your patients about medications and their proper use Today's patients are informed patients. Now you can give them an educational resource to match their proactive role in their care. Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer™ - Drug Information in Lay Language provides patient-oriented drug information to help patients understand and successfully follow their drug regimens. Written at a 12th-grade literacy level, documents provide greater detail than most patient education leaflets and include brand names, descriptions, proper use, precautions, and side effects. Instructions for how to handle missed doses are included, as are guidelines for when to seek medical assistance or supervision.
DrugPoints® System Rather than giving you too little or too much information, DrugPoints® gives you direct access to the exact level of drug information you need to do your job. Helps you prescribe, administer, and monitor drugs safely and efficiently. Offers 1,400+ concise, unbiased, synopses on FDA-approved drugs (includes prescription and nonprescription)
Introduction to Pharmaceutical Calculations Introduction to Pharmaceutical Calculations is an essential study aid for pharmacy students. Contains worked examples and sample questions and answers.
Pharmaceutical Calculations Retaining the successful previous editions' programmed instructional format, this book improves and updates an authoritative textbook to keep pace with compounding trends and calculations - addressing real-world calculations pharmacists perform and allowing students to learn at their own pace through examples. Connects well with the current emphasis on self-paced and active learning in pharmacy schools Adds a new chapter dedicated to practical calculations used in contemporary compounding, new appendices, and solutions and answers for all problems Maintains value for teaching pharmacy students the principles while also serving as a reference for review by students in preparation for licensure exams Rearranges chapters and rewrites topics of the previous edition, making its content ideal to be used as the primary textbook in a typical dosage calculations course for any health care professional Reviews of the prior edition: "...a well-structured approach to the topic..." (Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy) and "...a perfectly organized manual that serves as a expert guide..." (Electric Review)
Pharmacy : What It Is and How It Works What It Is and How It Works continues to provide a comprehensive review of all aspects of pharmacy, from the various roles, pathways and settings of pharmacists to information about how pharmacy works within the broader health care system. Beginning with a brief historical perspective on the field, the book discusses the many facets of the pharmacy profession. It describes the role of pharmacists in different settings and provides information ranging from licensing requirements to working conditions, highlighting the critical role of pharmacists within the health care system. The author examines the drug use process with sections on distribution, prescribing, dispensing, and pricing. He also discusses the role of pharmacy support personnel. A chapter on informatics explores how pharmacy has evolved through information technology and automation. Additional chapters cover poison control, pharmaceutical care, pharmacy organizations, the drug approval process, and career development. Designed for classroom and professional use, the book contains numerous tools to facilitate comprehension, including: Learning objectives to help readers focus on the goals of each　chapter Informative tables and figures summarizing data Summary paragraphs tying in salient points Discussion questions and exercises to test assimilation "Challenges" which place the material in broader context Websites and references to encourage further study This valuable text provides a look into the profession that is both broad and deep, supplying a one-stop introduction to a promising career in pharmacy.
Pharmacy Technician's Pocket Drug Reference The Pharmacy Technician’s Pocket Drug Reference contains the five main pieces of drug information that a pharmacy technician seeks. For each of about 1,400 of the most commonly prescribed drugs—including more than 100 drugs new to the market since the eighth edition—the book provides generic name (with pronunciation), trade name(s), therapeutic class, general FDA approved therapeutic use(s), and commercially available dosage forms/strengths. Key Features • Five pieces of information listed above • The top 200 oral and topical products by retail sales, most oral and topical products approved by the FDA since 1997, plus more than 400 of the top parenteral products • Trade name index • A top-200 drugs table and brief appendices showing the controlled substance schedules, common abbreviations used in prescriptions, and common conversions Table of Contents: Preface Prescription Drugs A–Z Appendix A: Top 200 Drugs Appendix B: Controlled Substance Schedules Appendix C: Common Abbreviations Used in Prescriptions and Medication Orders Appendix D: Conversions, Weights, and Measures Trade Name Index
Preventing Medication Errors In 1996 the Institute of Medicine launched the Quality Chasm Series, a series of reports focused on assessing and improving the nation (TM)s quality of health care. Preventing Medication Errors is the newest volume in the series. Responding to the key messages in earlier volumes of the series "To Err Is Human (2000), Crossing the Quality Chasm (2001), and Patient Safety (2004) "this book sets forth an agenda for improving the safety of medication use. It begins by providing an overview of the system for drug development, regulation, distribution, and use. Preventing Medication Errors also examines the peer-reviewed literature on the incidence and the cost of medication errors and the effectiveness of error prevention strategies. Presenting data that will foster the reduction of medication errors, the book provides action agendas detailing the measures needed to improve the safety of medication use in both the short- and long-term. Patients, primary health care providers, health care organizations, purchasers of group health care, legislators, and those affiliated with providing medications and medication- related products and services will benefit from this guide to reducing medication errors.
Professional Skills for the Pharmacy Technician Professional Skills for the Pharmacy Technician addresses skills that facilitate interprofessional interactions in the workplace and increase safety in pharmacies by improving communication. This resource discusses topics dealing with interpersonal relationships, conflicts, training of new employees, management and supervision within the technician ranks, and the importance of the technician role within the healthcare system. Additional topics include patient safety, professionalism, organizational culture, ethics, human resources/labor relations, cultural competence, negotiation and emotional intelligence, customer service, substance abuse, security/risk management, career management, inventory management, and technology.
Symptoms in the Pharmacy: A Guide to the Management of Common Illnesses Fully updated to reflect NHS moves to encourage greater self-care and more use of over-the-counter remedies Informed by the experiences and expertise of seasoned pharmacists and GPs, this reference guide provides pharmacists working in the community with the treatment information they need when they need it. Each chapter incorporates a decision-making framework which distills the information necessary for treatment along with suggestions on "when to refer" set off in summary boxes. Elucidating case studies are provided throughout, in which pharmacists and doctors describe, in their own words, listening to and treating patients suffering with a range of common problems, from migraine to eczema to IBS. The indispensable guide to assessing and managing common symptoms seen in the pharmacy  Includes information about medicines recently reclassified for OTC supply such as those for malaria prophylaxis and erectile dysfunction Now includes more highlights of "Red Flag" signs and symptoms Covers respiratory, gastrointestinal, skin, ear and eye, cardiovascular, and pain conditions Offers specific recommendations for women's, men's and children's health problems Provides decision making support for cases involving ethical dilemmas Features a visual display of relevant treatment guidelines Emphasizes the evidence base for OTC medicines With expert coverage of most common ailments which will be encountered by pharmacists on a daily basis, Symptoms in the Pharmacy, 8th Edition is a professional resource you'll want to keep close at hand for frequent consultation.
The Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics Publisher's Note:   Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Discover why housestaff and faculty worldwide depend on this best-selling medical text - both in print and eBook format!  Concise and user-friendly, The Washington Manual® of Medical Therapeutics, 35th Edition, focuses on the essential information you need to know for successful patient care.  Written by residents who are assisted by faculty co-authors and an outstanding editorial team, this must-have reference presents brief, logical approaches to diagnosis and management of commonly encountered medical conditions, including new therapies that improve patient outcomes. Thoroughly updated throughout, the 35th Edition provides a clear view of the challenges faced by residents, interns, medical students, and other practitioners, plus offers practical solutions, and expert guidance - all in one convenient and easily accessible source.   Features: Thoroughly updated to reflect the increasing and ever-changing advances in medical technology and therapeutics. Comprehensive coverage addresses all areas of medicine and the core subspecialties, including neurology and toxicology content available online. Concise, practical format features a brief discussion of pathophysiology, an evidence-based presentation of current therapies, and need-to-know diagnostic and therapeutic guidance from global experts. Easy-to-follow guidelines, diagrams, and algorithms assist in the diagnosis, investigation, and management of frequently encountered medical conditions. Edited by Internal Medicine Chief Residents from the Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation   Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use The Washington Manual® is a registered mark belonging to Washington University in St. Louis to which international legal protection applies. The mark is used in this publication by LWW under license from Washington University. NOTE: This book contains eBook-only content. The last 2 chapters (27: Neurologic Disorders and 28: Toxicology) of the book are only available via the eBook (Inkling and Kindle) version of the book as stated in the Table of Contents. If you have a print version, please reference the eBook instructions and activation code on the inside cover in order to access this content.

Featured Print Books

Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.

Dosage Calculations Master dosage calculations with the best-selling book! This market-leader from Gloria Pickar includes a comprehensive math review, full-color drug labels, and critical thinking assessments. Basic and advanced calculations are thoroughly covered, including intravenous and those specific to the pediatric patient.
Publication Date: 2008
Drug Facts and Comparisons 2016 Drug Facts and Comparisons provides up-to-date information on over 22,000 Rx and 6,000 OTC products grouped by therapeutic category for ease of comparison. Drug Facts and Comparisons helps answer questions about actions, indications and contraindications, warnings and precautions, drug interactions, adverse reactions, administration and dosage, and pregnancy and lactation. Comparisons include drug to drug, dosage forms, and name brands to name brands and generics. Biologicals and antiparasitic drugs, IV solutions, and therapeutic ophthalmic preparations are also included. This hardbound edition includes the Drug Identifier 2016 CD-ROM, the premier tool for drug identification. Search more than 10,000 color images in seconds by drug name, imprint, NDC, color, shape, manufacturer, coating, scoring, clarity, and flavor.
Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy Ready to master the medication process? Tap into the go-to resource for nursing pharmacology basics, with the fully updated new fifth edition of Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy!®.   Offering clear, concise descriptions of crucial nursing pharmacology concepts and procedures, this easy-to-follow, colorfully illustrated guide offers step-by-step guidance so to can grasp the fundamentals in enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. From initial assessment to safe medication administration and patient care plans, this is the perfect supplement to class materials, offering solid preparation for NCLEX®, as well as a handy refresher for experienced nurses.    Learn the ins and outs of nursing pharmacology care, with the latest data and protocols:   NEW chapters on patient education, sensory drugs, and dermatologic drugs  NEW chapter on medication safety, including abbreviations to avoid and a review of dosage calculations NEW content on current approved medications, and dosages, and expected versus adverse effects NEW content on emergency drugs, herbs/supplements, immunization schedule, and more Hundreds of colorful diagrams, drawings, and charts that illustrate core concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions and clear direction on administering drugs; drug distribution, absorption, and metabolism; drug classes and their uses; and potential drug interactions Quick-scan outline format offers up-to-date guidance on areas including: Nursing pharmacology fundamentals  Concepts of pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and pharmacotherapeutics Pain drugs, autonomic nervous system drugs, neurologic and neuromuscular drugs  Psychotherapeutic, anti-infective, anti-inflammatory, anti-allergy, and immunosuppressant drugs Antineoplastic drugs, drugs for fluid and electrolyte balance Ways a drug may affect patients of different ages and other warnings Content reflects the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model - guidance from initial assessment to evaluating outcomes "Practice Makes Perfect" end-of-book practice exam - approximately 100 new NCLEX®-style questions, to increase your exam confidence Chapter features include: Prototype pro - Actions, indications, and nursing considerations for common prototype drugs A three-step process is provided throughout the chapters to help you care for individuals taking commonly prescribed medications  Pharm function - Explains and illustrates how drugs act in the body, and addresses how to recognize and treat adverse reactions Before you give that drug - Warnings to consider before you administer a drug Education edge - Information to share with your patient Black Box Warnings boxes draw attention to life-threatening concerns Lifespan Lightbulb boxes highlight information about how a drug or drug class may affect patients of different ages Quick quiz - End-of-chapter questions with answers/explanations, to help you remember the essentials Nurse Joy and Jake illustrated characters offer tips and insights throughout     About the Clinical Editors   Cherie R. Rebar, PhD, MBA, RN, CNE, CNECI, COI, FAADN, is a Professor of Nursing at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio Nicole Heimgartner, DNP, MSN, RN, CNE, CNECI, COI, is a Nursing Faculty member at Galen College of Nursing in Louisville, Kentucky  Carolyn Gersch, PhD, MSN, RN, CNE, is a Professor of Practice in the Nursing Program at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio    
Publication Date: 2022
Pharmacy Practice Today for the Pharmacy Technician Covering everything from certification exam review to key skills, Pharmacy Practice for Today's Pharmacy Technician: Career Training for the Pharmacy Technician covers all of the knowledge needed by pharmacy technicians to provide exemplary patient care and build a successful career. It describes the role of the pharmacy technician in different practice settings, including the key tasks and skills set required to work in a community pharmacy, institutional pharmacy, or home health and long-term care/hospice care, then adds a road map taking you through certification, the job search, interviewing, and continuing education. Written by pharmacy technician educator and expert LiAnne Webster, this comprehensive text prepares you to succeed in this rapidly growing field. In-depth coverage of medication safety and error prevention includes recent recommendations and actions taken by the Institute of Safe Medication Practices (ISMP) and The Joint Commission. Content on intercultural competence addresses the changing demographics in our society. A student journal on the Evolve companion website makes it easy to submit journal entries relating to your coursework and during externship rotations. Review questions and critical thinking exercises are included at the end of each chapter. Tech Notes provide practical, on-the-job hints. Tech Alerts focus on warnings to watch for and avoiding common errors.
Publication Date: 2014
Pharmacy Technician Exam Certification and Review CD includes more than 2,000 test questions! A complete case-based review for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Examination (PTCE) Pharmacy Technician Exam Review is a rigorous, all-in-one review for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Examination (PTCE). To be as relevant as possible, the content of this unique test preparation tool corresponds to the nine knowledge domains of the new PTCE exam blueprint, and the amount of coverage for each domain matches its importance on the exam. Each chapter covers one of the nine knowledge domains on the test, with the knowledge areas listed at the beginning of each chapter. The nine chapters consist of: Pharmacology for Technicians Pharmacy Law and Regulations Sterile and Non-Sterile Compounding Medication Safety Pharmacy Quality Assurance Medication Order Entry and Fill Process Pharmacy Inventory Management Pharmacy Billing and Reimbursement Pharmacy Information Systems Usage and Application There is also a bonus chapter that reviews basic math to help you brush up on this essential topic. Every chapter includes valuable learning aids such as: A patient case to give the content real-world application Key Terms to familiarize you with important words and terms Tech Tips that highlight helpful facts Quick Quizzes to test your knowledge throughout the chapter A 50-question chapter-ending quiz You will also find a companion CD that includes more than 2,000 questions. The CD gives you the ability to create tests that mimic the PTCE. Each test includes 90 questions that span all 9 knowledge domains. The questions are randomly selected for each test, so you will have an unlimited number of tests available to you.
Publication Date: 2014