LibGuides: Study Skills: Books &amp; eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Ace Your Exam This practical and reassuring guide will ensure your students pass their exams with flying colours. Ace Your Exam establishes a clear, simple framework for revision and helps students get to grips with what exams are all about. Part 1 begins by exploring institutional expectations and common anxieties and exam myths, before showing students how to tackle various types of exam, including essay-based exams, short-answer questions, multiple-choice questions, calculation-based exams and open book exams. Part 2 helps readers plot an effective revision strategy for an imminent exam and, equally important, a detailed strategy for optimal use of time and productive powers during the exam. Finally, Part 3 helps students put their plans into action. >Ace Your Exam will be an essential companion to all students preparing for and taking exams. Accompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/ace-your-exam. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
Be Well, Learn Well: Improve Your Wellbeing and Academic Performance Help your students take control of their university experience, one step at a time. In Be Well, Learn Well, Gareth Hughes explores the different dimensions of student wellbeing (physical, psychological, social and academic) and helps students understand the connection between their wellbeing and academic performance. Be Well, Learn Well begins by considering the impact of factors such as diet, exercise, hydration, sleep and sunlight on learning, before examining how 'deep' learning can improve wellbeing. Subsequent chapters help students create meaningful connections with their studies, build motivation and approach exams, presentations and group projects with confidence. The final chapter challenges unhelpful narratives around career trajectories and helps students to take small, manageable steps towards their goals. This inspirational guide by the lead author of the UK'sUniversity Mental Health Charterwill empower students of all disciplines to study more effectively, feel calmer and take control of their time at university.
College Study Hacks 101 Ways to Study Easier and Faster The general rule of thumb has been that you should study about two to three hours for every hour you spend in the classroom. If you have a 15 credit hour semester, you generally spend about 15 hours in class every week, which means you should be studying between 30 to 45 hours per week. Thatâe(tm)s a lot of time âe" many students donâe(tm)t have that kind of time to spare. This book provides college students with 101 study tips that will help them cut down on study time. Our guide offers tips and tricks to be proficient while still absorbing the information needed to succeed. Students will learn how to take the best notes, time management skills, and the low-down on sleep, caffeine, and food. Youâe(tm)ll learn how to write better papers, how to take tests more efficiently, and how to be a better reader. If youâe(tm)re struggling with studying techniques that take up your time and energy, look no further. This comprehensive guide is your key to getting the grade with the least amount of effort.
Creating Good Study Habits
Eat That Frog! for Students: 22 Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Excel in School Adapted from Brian Tracy's international time-management bestseller, Eat That Frog!, this book will give today's stressed-out and overwhelmed students the tools for lifelong success. Like adults, students of all ages struggle with how to manage their time. Encountering the necessity of time management for the first time, high schoolers juggle classes, extracurricular activities (all but mandatory for college admissions), jobs, internships, family responsibilities, and more. College brings even more freedom and less structure, making time management even more critical. Brian Tracy's Eat That Frog! has helped millions around the world get more done in less time. Now this life-changing global bestseller has been adapted to the specific needs of students. Tracy offers readers tips, tools, and techniques for structuring time, setting goals, staying on task (even when you're not interested), dealing with stress, and developing the skills to achieve far more than you ever thought possible. This is the book that parents and teachers have long been wishing Tracy would write.
The Essential Study Handbook: Essential Skills for Academic Success YOU WANT TO DO WELL AT UNI - NOW THERE'S A BOOK TO SUPPORT YOU. 'Everything you need to know to succeed in Higher Education'Gaye Conroy, University of Sussex 'Great advice, strategies and models. I'd recommend it to our students'Sarah Speight, University of Nottingham THE STUDY BOOK is a practical guide to developing the academic skills you need to succeed at university, college or any higher level study. Learn how to think, research, debate, write about, and apply information - and do all the things that will directly impact on your academic success from the moment you start. It guides you through activities and processes to help you examine your learning abilities and experiences so far. It will help you to understand your particular preferences and styles, your natural advantages as well as any specific weaknesses, and then guide you to build an effective personal approach to studying. You will learn what you need to do to do well in your course, like completing high quality assignments, writing essays, and showing off your full understanding in exams. Along the way you'll find emergency tips to inject into realistic situations like when struggling with the dynamics in a group-working situation, lost in planning a complex assignment, or getting stressed in the days before an exam. It contains specific reminders about academic conventions, definitions of terminology, useful checklists to support tasks, and simplified processes to keep you on track. There are insights from other students, example scenarios, and short case-studies, all designed to root the advice in real academic context, and keep you focused on what you need to do to keep improving. 'A book that will help all students'Jeremy Dudman-Jones THIS IS THE ESSENTIAL GUIDE TO TAKING ON THE CHALLENGE OF STUDYING - AND COMING OUT ON TOP.
Get the Degree Without Losing Your Mind : The Busy Student's Guide to Study Hacking Written with professional insight into higher education, Get the Degree Without Losing Your Mind merges personal effectiveness disciplines with study skills techniques to help modern students manage their increasingly busy lives. Today's students are more distracted than ever before. With hacks to help students retrain their brains for maximum focus and concentration, Get the Degree Without Losing Your Mind connects with students of all backgrounds and experience levels, from traditional undergraduate and graduate students to student-athletes and trade school students, especially midcareer professionals pursuing part-time education. Every modern student can learn to become more successful and productive with Get the Degree Without Losing Your Mind. By addressing academic advancement and personal effectiveness through a holistic lens, this educational resource helps students increase their focus, concentration, productivity, and performance without sacrificing other important aspects of their lives. Students who follow the advice in this book will be able to increase their impact inside and outside the classroom while seeking their life's work. Generative AI was not used in the writing of this book. The contents of this book are based solely on the author's knowledge, research, and personal experience.
The Guide to Learning and Study Skills Skills in learning and studying are vital to ensure success in higher education study, whether at undergraduate or postgraduate level, in university, college or in the workplace. Skills are needed in reflection, analysis, communication and recording information to produce good work, to engage effectively in a group, to carry out a project or perform well in exams; personal skills are needed to handle time and pressure and to relate to others on a course or in the workplace. This new guide builds on the hugely successful materials the authors have developed over the last 15 years. Along with highly practical guidance on traditional learning skills, The Guide to Learning and Study Skills provides direction for students on learning in a blended environment; the increased use of personal and professional development planning, continuing professional development and work-based learning.
How to Use Your Reading in Your Essays Reading is part and parcel of academic writing, and knowing which sources to include in assignments and how to go about this process can be challenging. That's where this handy guide comes in. With over 20 years' experience in the field, Jeanne Godfrey is no stranger to essay writing. Taking students step-by-step through the process, from choosing their sources to checking their work, she helps students to develop the skills and confidence they need to use their reading effectively in their essays and get the best marks possible for their work. Concise and practical, it breaks down the 'why' and 'how' of using reading in academic writing and contains valuable guidance on paraphrasing, comparing the views of different authors and commenting on sources. This book is ideal for students of all disciplines, and can be used by college students, undergraduates and postgraduates. New to this Edition: - Part A contains new sections on how to target your reading, remain focused and know when to stop reading - New section on how to use reading in reports, supported by short report extracts - New two-colour text design to enliven the reading experience and make the text more accessible Accompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/how-to-use-your-reading-in-your-essays-3e. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
Passing Exams for Dummies Release your potential and get better exam results Do you panic at the thought of exams? Do you think you're just not the academic type? No matter how old you are, exams can be stressful--but they don't need to be. This essential guide provides expert tips on how to change your mindset, improve how you learn and revise, control your anxiety, and get good marks--whether you're studying at school, college, or university, or to advance your career. In Passing Exams For Dummies, you'll get hands-on, expert help to find out what motivates you and how you learn best; make your brain more receptive to incoming information and cope with exam pressure and anxiety; improve your reading style and condense your notes using visual mapping techniques; learn association techniques using memory pegs; use visualization to mentally and physically rehearse passing your exams; and more. Fully updated to reflect new research in how the brain thinks, learns, and remembers Information on the key role that astrocytes play in learning and the five key principles for rapid learning (attention, sensory input, solid effort, emotion and time sequence) that get these astrocytes engaged more quickly Reworking of terminology used in the model of the mind to bring the book fully up to date and simplify the content If you're preparing for a school, college, university, or career-related exam, Passing Exams For Dummies has you covered.
Simplify Your Study: Effective Strategies for Coursework and Exams This innovative book provides clear and straight-forward strategies which help students to understand the conventions of academic assignments and what lecturers expect from their work. Simplify Your Study is organised around nine core units which focus on the 'sticking points' of university study, including organisation and planning, reading and note-making strategies, producing essays, critical thinking, delivering presentations and preparing for exams. Packed with tried-and-tested strategies for success, this essential resource will help students of all disciplines and levels to achieve their academic potential. Accompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/simplify-your-study. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
Student Success : 3-in-1 Guide to Master Effective Study Techniques, Studying Effectively, College Success & Study Smart Student Success - 3 Manuscripts in 1 Book, Including: How to Study Effectively, How to Rewire Your Brain and How to Think Differently.
Studying, tips, tricks & hacks : harness the power of routine, build self-discipline, and develop time management skills Get better grades using proven tactics of the most successful students. Learning so many subjects can be so much easier when taught how to study. This quick and easy 6 page laminated reference to those tactics can help reinforce with every review. Follow the guide and practice, practice, practice the tactics until they are habit. Harness the power of routine, build self-discipline, develop time management skills and success will follow. Practice will be easier with this guide as a road map. Once these skills are habit, you will know the road to success like the back of your hand. 6-page laminated guide includes: Start Positive, End Positive Study Habits in Class Reading at Home Studying for Specific Subjects Daily & Weekly Reviews Discipline & Organization in Planning Motivation Power Breaks Study Aids Practice Makes Perfect Collaborate: Bring Together Great Minds Committing Knowledge to Long Term Memory Study Environment Final Review Why You Should Never Cram Before the Big Day Test Day: Time to Shine Test-Taking Tips Suggested uses: Parents -- Get this guide early and know how to help your child study from a young age to make your, and their, lives easier and ultimately more successful Students -- Keep this guide for reviewing regularly until these tactics become habit, then still review the guide for future support Educators & Administrators -- Consider buying in bulk as a handout to students to promote healthy study habits, boost test scores, grades and student success rates
The Study Skills Handbook This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university. New to this Edition: - Additional material on writing skills, including proofreading, editing and writing for different assignments - New chapters on managing stress and student wellbeing at university, learning in diverse and international contexts and writing essays - More emphasis on reflective learning - Extended guidance on how to balance study with work - More use of visuals to summarise key learning points
Study Smarts : How to Learn More in Less Time THE STUDY SMART SERIES, designed for students from junior high school through lifelong learning programs, teaches skills for research and note-taking, provides exercises to improve grammar, and reveals secrets for putting these skills together in great essays. Some students are not getting the grades they want, and others spend too much time working for good grades. Any student can find useful advice in Study Smarts: How to Learn More in Less Time. Study Smarts is the most complete and lively guide to streamlined studying. In a highly readable style, the authors eliminate the confusion and anxiety often felt about keeping up with course work. Each chapter explains a different technique, and each chapter title is a nugget of advice that summarizes that technique. For example, “Eliminate interference from your environment;” or “Never study anything the same way twice.” The writers explain how to set goals, take notes, review, cut reading time, make the most of class discussions, etc., all as efficiently as possible. Beyond refining basic study chores, there are novel tips for time management and cramming and special memory techniques. The authors also tell how to get outside help for special problems.
Teach Yourself How to Learn : Strategies You Can Use to Ace Any Course at Any Level Following up on her acclaimed Teach Students How to Learn, that describes teaching strategies to facilitate dramatic improvements in student learning and success, Saundra McGuire here presents these "secrets" direct to students. Her message is that "Any student can use simple, straightforward strategies to start making A's in their courses and enjoy a lifetime of deep, effective learning." Beginning with explaining how expectations about learning, and the study efforts required, differ between college and secondary school, the author introduces her readers, through the concept of metacognition, to the importance and powerful consequences of understanding themselves as learners. This framework and the recommended strategies that support it are useful for anyone moving on to a more advanced stage of education, so this book also has an intended audience of students preparing to go to high school, graduate school, or professional school. In a conversational tone, and liberally illustrated by anecdotes of past students, the author combines introducing readers to concepts like Bloom's Taxonomy (to illuminate the difference between studying and learning), fixed and growth mindsets, as well as to what brain science has to tell us about rest, nutrition and exercise, together with such highly specific learning strategies as how to read a textbook, manage their time and take tests. With engaging exercises and thought-provoking reflections, this book is an ideal motivational and practical text for study skills and first year experience courses.
Will This Be on the Test? : What Your Professors Really Want You to Know about Succeeding in College The essential survival guide for college students Getting into college takes plenty of hard work, but knowing what your professors expect of you once you get there can be even more challenging. Will This Be on the Test? is the essential survival guide for high-school students making the transition to college academics. In this entertaining and informative book, Dana Johnson shares wisdom and wit gleaned from her decades of experience as an award-winning teacher in the freshman classroom--lessons that will continue to serve you long after college graduation. Johnson offers invaluable insights into how college academics differs from high school. She reveals how to maximize what you learn and develop good relationships with your professors, while explaining how you fit into the learning environment of college. Answering the questions that many new college students don't think to ask, Johnson provides tactical tips on getting the most out of office hours, e-mailing your professor appropriately, and optimizing your performance on assignments and exams. She gives practical advice on using the syllabus to your advantage, knowing how to address your instructors, and making sure you're not violating the academic ethics code. The book also offers invaluable advice about online courses and guidance for parents who want to help their children succeed. Will This Be on the Test? shows you how to work with your professors to get the education, grades, and recommendations you need to thrive in the classroom and beyond.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

101 Ways to Make Studying Easier and Faster for College Students In this totally revised second edition, learn how to create an effective study environment, get organised, and more. We will provide you with various studying methods such as the proved SQ3R method, as well as exercises to improve your skills.
How to Study in College Over a million students have transformed adequate work into academic achievement with this best-selling text. HOW TO STUDY IN COLLEGE sets students on the path to success by helping them build a strong foundation of study skills, and learn how to gain, retain, and explain information. Based on widely tested educational and learning theories, HOW TO STUDY IN COLLEGE teaches study techniques such as visual thinking, active listening, concentration, note taking, and test taking, while also incorporating material on vocabulary building. Questions in the Margin, based on the Cornell Note Taking System, places key questions about content in the margins of the text to provide students with a means for reviewing and reciting the main ideas. Students then use this technique--the Q-System--to formulate their own questions. The Eleventh Edition maintains the straightforward and traditional academic format that has made HOW TO STUDY IN COLLEGE the leading study skills text in the market.
Keys to effective learning : study skills and habits for success This text is geared to students who are academically underprepared for college-level studies, especially first-generation and at-risk students.   The sixth edition of Keys to Effective Learning text helps students build habits for success and develop the thinking, self-management, and study skills they need to succeed academically. This edition is streamlined to focus more on essential study skills, with greater coverage of memory, studying, reading, and test-taking. It retains its acclaimed simple-to-use Critical and Creative Thinking coverage, and adds relevance by addressing the two greatest barriers to staying in school--time and money management.  Recognizing that the first step in developing the independent thinking skills needed for college-level work is understanding how you think, this revision builds students' self-awareness in three ways: embedded in-chapter self-assessments, "powerful question" features, and learning preferences grids that asks them to think about how they learn in a variety of situations. The text offers a pre- and post-course assessment.  The Habits for Success theme is now more integrated and practical.  Students assess which habits they'll need in college and how to form those habits so they have the tools to increase their preparedness, confidence, and commitment to learning.   
Make it stick : the science of successful learning To most of us, learning something "the hard way" implies wasted time and effort. Good teaching, we believe, should be creatively tailored to the different learning styles of students and should use strategies that make learning easier. Make It Stick turns fashionable ideas like these on their head. Drawing on recent discoveries in cognitive psychology and other disciplines, the authors offer concrete techniques for becoming more productive learners. Memory plays a central role in our ability to carry out complex cognitive tasks, such as applying knowledge to problems never before encountered and drawing inferences from facts already known. New insights into how memory is encoded, consolidated, and later retrieved have led to a better understanding of how we learn. Grappling with the impediments that make learning challenging leads both to more complex mastery and better retention of what was learned. Many common study habits and practice routines turn out to be counterproductive. Underlining and highlighting, rereading, cramming, and single-minded repetition of new skills create the illusion of mastery, but gains fade quickly. More complex and durable learning come from self-testing, introducing certain difficulties in practice, waiting to re-study new material until a little forgetting has set in, and interleaving the practice of one skill or topic with another. Speaking most urgently to students, teachers, trainers, and athletes, Make It Stick will appeal to all those interested in the challenge of lifelong learning and self-improvement.
Outsmart your brain : why learning is hard and how you can make it easy In this revolutionary, comprehensive, and accessible guide on how the brain learns, discover how to study more efficiently and effectively, shrug away exam stress, and most of all, enjoy learning. When we study, we tend to focus on the tasks we can most easily control--such as highlighting and rereading--but these practices only give the illusion of mastery. As Dan Willingham, professor of psychology and bestselling author, explains, familiarity is not the same as comprehension. Perfect for teachers and students of all ages, Outsmart Your Brain provides real-world practices and the latest research on how to train your brain for better learning. Each chapter provides clear and specific strategies while also explaining why traditional study processes do not work. Grounded in scientifically backed practical advice, this is the ultimate guide to improving grades and better understanding the power of our own brains.
Study and Critical Thinking Skills in College For Study Skills and Critical Thinking courses. A unique integration of study and critical-thinking skills to help students succeed Study and Critical Thinking Skills in College, Eighth Edition aligns closely with the ways students read, study, learn, think, and network in the twenty-first century. McWhorter discusses the active strategies that develop students' proficiency with text and lecture material, emphasizing that students must adapt how they read and how they study to suit the characteristics of each unique academic discipline. Study and Critical Thinking Skills in College also encourages students to study and think in ways that match their learning styles and to use technologies (such as online databases and social media) that maximize their productivity.   Also available with MyStudentSuccessLab(tm) This title is also available with MyStudentSuccessLab, an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students practice what they learn, test their understanding, and pursue a plan that helps them better absorb course material and understand difficult concepts. It fosters the skills students need to succeed for ongoing personal and professional development. Whether face-to-face or online, MyStudentSuccessLab personalizes learning to help students build the skills they need through peer-led video interviews, interactive practice exercises, and activities that provide academic, life, and professionalism skills.   Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab(tm) & Mastering(tm) does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab & Mastering, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab & Mastering, search for: 013442008X / 9780134420080  Study and Critical Thinking Skills in College Plus MyStudentSuccessLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package   Package consists of: 0133944107 / 9780133944105  MyStudentSuccessLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card 0133944093 / 9780133944099  MyStudentSuccessLab with Pearson eText -- Inside Star Sticker 0321995708 / 9780321995704  Study and Critical Thinking Skills in College      
The Study Skills Handbook: How to Ace Tests, Get Straight A's, and Succeed in School Studying and learning don't have to be chores that you dread. Discover how to make the process fun, easy, and successful. Studying and learning, especially in the rigid confines of school, can be tough to say the least. Use this book to decode exactly how to make it work for you. You'll discover the strategies to rocket to the top of your class. How to double your learning, memory, and testing capabilities. The Study Skills Handbook teaches us about great students. Are they all baby Einsteins? No, they simply have practiced the types of tips in this book. This type of academic success is learnable, but you have to know the code first. Consider this book the code to your academic wellbeing. You will blast your competition and set the curve in each class. How to simply become a better student - at anything inside or outside the classroom. Peter Hollins has studied psychology and peak human performance for over a dozen years and is a bestselling author. He has worked with a multitude of individuals to unlock their potential and path towards success. His writing draws on his academic, coaching, and research experience. Not just for students - for parents, educators, teachers, professors, autodidacts, etc.Optimal exam day strategies - even if you haven't crammed enoughHow to make the most of your classroom time by being less passiveYour perfect study environment to absorb infoConvenient and easy memory techniques to memorize anythingWhat an exam and class postmortem are and how they can help you.