LibGuides: Sexual Harassment & Assault: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Campus Sexual Assault This invaluable reference text thoroughly examines the alarming epidemic of campus sexual assault, including a discussion of laws, high-profile cases, controversies, and proposed solutions. From the assault of a high school girl by a multitude of her peers in Steubenville, Ohio, to the alleged gang rape at the University of Virginia, the ongoing and serious problem of sexual violence at U.S. educational institutions is well established. These horrific attacks continue in spite of the Title IX probe launched by the Obama administration in order to hold schools more accountable. Campus Sexual Assault: A Reference Handbook addresses the difficult questions about the widespread incidence of sexual assault among high school and college students. Written to be highly accessible to high school and undergraduate students, general readers, as well as individuals interested in the campus rape discourse, the book covers the background history of sexual assault on college campuses, discusses how laws regarding sexual assault and the cultural understanding of the crime have evolved over time, and outlines some of the highest-profile cases of sexual assault at U.S. schools. A perspectives chapter presents testimonials from those who by profession or experience have insight into the problem of sexual assault, giving voice to a Title IX investigator, a college counselor, a sexual assault nurse, and individuals who have been sexually assaulted. Readers will come away with a deeper appreciation of the gravity of the problem of campus sexual assault and grasp the causes of this societal issue to intelligently consider proposed solutions.
Campus Sexual Assault: College Women Respond Survivors of campus sexual assault share the stories of how they confronted and overcame the trauma of being attacked. A 2014 report issued by the White House Council on Women and Girls included the alarming statistic that one in five female college students in the United States experiences some form of campus sexual assault. Despite more than fifty years of anti-rape activism and over two decades of federal legislation regarding campus sexual violence, sexual assault on American college and university campuses remains prevalent, underreported, and poorly understood. A principal reason for this lack of understanding is that the voices of women who have experienced campus sexual assault have been largely absent from academic discourse about the issue. In Campus Sexual Assault, Lauren J. Germain focuses attention on the post-sexual assault experiences of twenty-six college women. She reframes conversations about sexual violence and student agency on American college campuses by drawing insight directly from the stories of how survivors responded individually to attacks, as well as how and why peers, family members, and school, medical, and civil authorities were (or were not) engaged in addressing the crimes. Germain weaves together women's narratives to show the women not as victims per se but as individuals with the power to overcome these traumatic experiences.
Confronting Sexual Harassment: The Law and Politics of Everyday Life Examining the relationship between law and social change in the context of employees' everyday problems with sexual harassment, this volume elaborates a framework for studying the role of law in everyday acts of resistance - what the author calls the legal consciousness of injustice. The framework situates the analysis in the context of a specific social problem and its related legal domain. It de-centres the law by accounting for the way that social movements, counter-movements, policy makers and powerful institutions frame the debate surrounding the social problem. Drawing on frame analysis developed in social movement studies, this aspect of the approach specifically incorporates other schema and shows how law supports both oppositional and dominant interpretations of experience. Following the stages of a dispute, the framework then examines the way that people use frames to make sense of their experiences.
Executive Sexism: How Men Treat Women at the Highest Levels, Why Law Does Not Protect Them, and What Should Change This book explains how common sexist behavior is among executives, why law doesn't protect victims, and how female professionals can bring change. Who do you report sexism to when the offender owns the company? "Overt and intentional sexism" against women by powerful men in politics, business, academia, and across the white-collar world in public and private institutions is common. Elizabeth C. Wolfe, a conflict analysis and resolution specialist, details how female executives, even at the pinnacle of their careers, remain vulnerable to their male colleagues. In this book, women executives from nine countries explain how their career advancement and earning potential are continuously harmed though overt sexism, sexist social behavior, and microaggressions--those damaging behaviors that are in a gray area but are not legally actionable. Wolfe further examines why law does not protect these women: sexism, like racism, is a way of thinking and so cannot be legislated. Each "-ism" has legal protections against documentable actions, but ways of thinking, socializing rituals, and microaggressions are not actionable by law. Wolfe details the minds of sexists, describes how sexism is "socialized," and explains how to name each sexist behavior, address it, and take action to stop it.
For Love of Country: Confronting Rape and Sexual Harassment in the US Military A compelling exploration of sexual victimization in the United States military! This incisive book offers a unique perspective on rape and sexual harassment in the United States military. Drawn from the experiences of military personnel and presented in their own words, For Love of Country: Confronting Rape and Sexual Harassment in the U.S. Military takes an honest and heartfelt look at a pervasive problem. Service veterans speak candidly about a breakdown of values and leadership failure which has perpetrated a culture of abuse. Male and female rape victims reflect on their efforts to serve their country with honor. Author Terri Spahr Nelson, a decorated United States Army veteran and psychotherapist specializing in sexual trauma recovery, has mixed a compelling chorus of hundreds of personal accounts into a single voice calling for reform. She presents emotional retellings from victims of rape and sexual harassment, with responses from military and congressional leaders. Ms. Nelson offers statistics released from the Pentagon about sexual assault reports, convictions, and the General Accounting Office, and current field research. For Love of Country: Confronting Rape and Sexual Harassment in the U.S. Military presents: personal accounts from survivors unique, inside perspectives from military personnel and veterans, commentary from military and congressional leaders, Pentagon statistics on sexual assault with conviction and sentencing rates, findings and recommendations from the Department of Defense, clinical information on issues facing military trauma survivors. For Love of Country: Confronting Rape and Sexual Harassment in the U.S. Military serves as a one-of-a-kind resource for professionals, an educational must for military personnel, and a compelling eye-opener to anyone concerned with the preservation of integrity and honor in the United States armed services.
Internal Affairs: The Abuse of Power, Sexual Harassment, and Hypocrisy in the Workplace In this text, the author exposes the common corporate practices that allow companies to harbor and protect career harassers. It dramatizes the real-life stories of sex and power and the subsequent actions of the courts as the author analyzes how justice is really served.
The Mother of All Hooks: The Story of the US Navy's Tailhook Scandal The Mother of All Hooks is a richly detailed description of the United States government's attempts to punish naval officers for sexual misconduct committed at the 1991 Tailhook Association convention in Las Vegas, Nevada. Journalist William H. McMichael describes the institutionalized mind-set that led to that misconduct and, in the face of an oppressive, politically charged investigation, to a large-scale failure to cooperate with government agents. This failure led to further investigative and prosecutorial excesses that ultimately doomed the effort to bring the guilty to justice; many of the guiltiest, hi fact, were given immunity to testify, and escaped severe punishment. At the same time, McMichael makes clear that Tailhook misconduct had been largely condoned for decades, but that senior officials failed to take responsibility for allowing such an atmosphere to flourish. This powerful expose is a shocking, eye-opening read for psychologists, criminologists, criminal justice professionals, and members of the U.S. military. The Tailhook Association convention had become infamous in naval circles for heavy drinking, hard partying, and sexual promiscuity. The most notable such activity was the "gauntlet"--a hallway lined by men through which selected women were forced to pass, only to be fondled. McMichael provides a rich narrative account of how the United States Navy and the Pentagon mishandled investigation of events at the 1991 convention and subsequent hearings. In addition to exposing that approach's dramatic shortcomings, McMichael also provides insight into the Navy's history of open sexuality by its members while overseas, the fighter pilot psyche, and the larger issue of whether the Navy should be permitted to investigate its own transgressions. While more than thirty admirals eventually received what amounted to a hand slap, more than twenty junior officers received career-killing punitive letters of reprimand in closed-door administrative hearings. The Mother of All Hooks provides absorbing new details for all who think they "know" what happened because of Tailhook--and why.
Perspectives on College Sexual Assault This collection of highly acclaimed research articles, published in the peer-reviewed journal Violence and Victims, disseminates state-of-the-art information about sexual violence on campus. It addresses the controversy surrounding statistics on the prevalence of college sexual assault and its tendency to go unreported, as well as contention regarding university policies and response (or lack thereof) by administrators. Articles present research related to victims and perpetrators, predictive factors, efforts to promote awareness, and prevention programming. Expert researchers from such disciplines as psychology, psychiatry, sociology, criminology, counseling, nursing, and social work provide interdisciplinary perspectives with articles addressing gender differences and the role of alcohol use in sexual assault victimization, perceived risk to experience sexual victimization, intimate partner sexual assault and objectification, a bibliotherapy approach to prevention, the role of impulsivity among perpetrators, the role of administrators and bystanders, and many other topics. This research collection about college sexual assault will help to foster greater understanding of this controversial issue, provide a foundation for further research, and promote strategies of awareness and prevention on our college campuses. Key Features: Delivers top-tier research articles by interdisciplinary experts on college sexual assault; Includes research on victims, perpetrators, bystanders, and college administration; Examines awareness and prevention programs; Addresses predictive factors, gender differences, and the role of alcohol use.
Rape and Dating Violence Discover the facts about intimate partner violence and sexual assault, including how to identify them and what to do if they happen to you. Part of Bloomsbury's Q&A Health Guides series, this book employs a user-friendly question-and-answer format to equip teens and young adults with the knowledge and tools they need to better understand and address rape and dating violence. The book's 43 questions cover definitions of rape and dating violence; how to recognize the signs of both; the short- and long-term impacts on both victims and perpetrators; the intersection of sexual assault, intimate partner violence, culture, and the media; and where and how to get help if you or someone you know has been affected. Augmenting the main text, a collection of 5 case studies illustrate key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. The "Common Misconceptions" section at the beginning of the volume dispels 5 long-standing myths about rape and dating violence, directing readers to additional information in the text. The glossary defines terms that may be unfamiliar to readers, while a directory of resources curates a list of the most useful hotlines, books, websites, and other materials. Finally, whether they're looking for more information about this subject or any other health-related topic, readers can turn to the "Guide to Health Literacy" section for practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the Internet. Rape and dating violence are all-too-common occurrences in the United States and around the world. Readers will find the answers to the questions they may be too afraid or embarrassed to ask but which are critical for safeguarding physical and psychological health.
Rape Cultures and Survivors An in-depth treatment in two volumes of the historical and cultural contexts of rape and rape culture, this set discusses both victims and perpetrators internationally during war and peace times and examines the treatment of survivors. Includes case studies on a variety of sexual assault survivors in environments ranging from college campuses to war zones; Integrates the expertise of contributors, who include both academics and activists on sexual violence in different parts of the world; Represents, through case studies, incidents of rape in countries from Africa to Europe and from Asia to the United States; Compares "rape cultures" across the world.
Sexual Assault and Harassment in America This wide-ranging resource uses evidence-based documentation to examine claims and beliefs - and provide the facts - about sexual assault and harassment and other forms of sexual violence in the United States. Each title in the Contemporary Debates series examines the veracity of controversial claims or beliefs surrounding a major political/cultural issue in the United States. They do so to give readers a clear and unbiased understanding of current issues by informing them about falsehoods, half-truths, and misconceptions - and confirming the factual validity of other assertions - that have gained traction in America's political and cultural discourse. Ultimately, this series has been crafted to give readers the tools for a fuller understanding of issues, events, policies, and laws that occupy center stage in American life and politics. This volume in the series addresses the issue of sexual violence in the U.S. It includes chapters devoted to quantifying the extent of the problems of sexual assault and harassment; demographic groups most likely to experience sexual violence; physical, emotional, and societal impacts of sexual assault; how investigations of sex-related charges are conducted; laws and policies pertaining to both victims and offenders; and sexual violence prevention and response services outside of the criminal justice system.
Sexual Harassment: Your Questions Answered This book answers readers' most pressing questions about sexual harassment, including how to identify it, its causes, and its effects. It also provides guidance and resources for anyone experiencing or witnessing sexual harassment. Unfortunately, sexual harassment is an all-too-common reality for many women and men. But what exactly constitutes sexual harassment, and how is it different from assault, bullying, and other forms of unwanted attention? Why is sexual harassment so common? How can being sexually harassed impact an individual's academic or work performance, psychological well-being, and even physical health? What can you do if you experience sexual harassment or believe someone else is experiencing it? Books in Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series follow a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. Each book also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making. A simple Q&A format makes the subject approachable and accessible to readers, allowing them to find specific information quickly and easily; Information explains how to identify sexual harassment when it occurs and what actions should be taken to stop it. A Guide to Health Literacy section helps readers to improve their research and critical thinking skills. Case studies provide real-world examples of concepts discussed in the book. A Common Myths section dispels popular misconceptions surrounding sexual harassment and points readers toward accurate information.
Thinking about Sexual Harassment: A Guide for the Perplexed
Also available in print in COM Library.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

Crowdsourcing the Law: Trying Sexual Assault on Social Media While the general public may feel uncomfortable discussing sexual assault and violence with neighbors or coworkers, the popularity of Twitter, Snapchat, and a host of other social media platforms suggests that we are not shy about expressing our opinions online. Debates that just a few years ago would have taken place in real life have been relocated online; allowing eager commenters to share their thoughts on guilt or innocence with legions of virtual strangers. Crowdsourcing the Law explores how everyday participants interpret and apply law in the influential online court of public opinion. Engaging a multidisciplinary, case study approach, the book analyzes social media comments about public figures such as Bill Cosby, Brock Turner, and Harvey Weinstein to address ambitious questions like: How are rape myths being challenged, reinforced, and reinvented on social media? What is the promise and peril of the #MeToo movement for transforming the law? And can due process be afforded in the face of an increasingly powerful virtual jury?
Domestic Abuse and Sexual Assault in Popular Culture Using historical and current examples from film, television, literature, advertisements, and music, this book reveals the ways that rape and abuse are typically presented--and misrepresented--and evaluates the impact of these depictions on consumers. Incidences of domestic abuse and sexual assault aren't only commonplace nationwide and the source of a shockingly large number of serious injuries and deaths; they're also problems that are often subject to myths and misleading depictions in popular culture and media. The author of this important book seeks to shed light on the situation by examining the specific issues related to domestic violence and sexual assault, from the scope and extent of the problem to victim and offender characteristics, and from common misconceptions to societal, cultural, and judicial responses and prevention efforts. Each chapter discusses movies, music, literature, and other forms of popular culture that address issues of domestic abuse and sexual assault, identifying both accurate depictions and problematic examples. The final section of the book addresses how our culture responds to and attempts to prevent domestic abuse and sexual assault, covering depictions of police response to these kinds of crimes in popular culture, how the justice system handles these cases, and individual and community efforts to curb domestic abuse and sexual assault. A compendium of films, documentaries, popular books, and song lyrics featuring domestic abuse and sexual assault enables readers to easily investigate the subject further.
Gendertrolling: How Misogyny Went Viral Gendertrolling arises out of the same misogyny that fuels other "real life" forms of harassment and abuse of women. This book explains this phenomenon, the way it can impact women's lives, and how it can be stopped. Combines the phenomenon of trolling and keen feminist insight to create a unique perspective on the treatment of women, male/female interaction, and online user interaction; Demonstrates what online rape and death threats have in common with street harassment, sexual harassment in the workplace, domestic violence, and date rape, showing the serious, harmful nature of this practice; Discusses what can be done to change laws and Internet policies to increase women's freedom of speech and safety online.
Hollywood Ending: Harvey Weinstein and the Culture of Silence A vivid biography of Harvey Weinstein--how he rose to become a dominant figure in the film world, how he used that position to feed his monstrous sexual appetites, and how it all came crashing down, from the author who has covered the Hollywood and media power game for The New Yorker for three decades. Twenty years ago, Ken Auletta wrote an iconic New Yorker profile of the Hollywood mogul Harvey Weinstein, who was then at the height of his powers. The profile made waves for exposing how volatile, even violent, Weinstein was to his employees and collaborators. But there was a much darker story that was just out of reach: rumors had long swirled that Weinstein was a sexual predator. Auletta confronted Weinstein, who denied the claims. Since no one was willing to go on the record, Auletta and the magazine concluded they couldn't close the case. Years later, he was able to share his reporting notes and knowledge with Ronan Farrow; he cheered as Farrow, and Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, finally revealed the truth. Still, the story continued to nag him. The trail of assaults and cover-ups had been exposed, but the larger questions remained: What was at the root of Weinstein's monstrousness? How, and why, was it never checked? Why the silence? How does a man run the day-to-day operations of a company with hundreds of employees and revenues in the hundreds of millions of dollars, and at the same time live a shadow life of sexual predation without ever being caught? How much is this a story about Harvey Weinstein, and how much is this a story about Hollywood and power? In pursuit of the answers, Auletta digs into Weinstein's life, searching for the mysteries beneath a film career unparalleled for its extraordinary talent and creative success, which combined with a personal brutality and viciousness to leave a trail of ruined lives in its wake. Hollywood Ending is more than a prosecutor's litany; it is an unflinching examination of Weinstein's life and career, embedding his crimes in the context of the movie business, in his failures and the successes that led to enormous power. Film stars, Miramax employees and board members, old friends and family, and even the person who knew him best--Harvey's brother, Bob--all talked to Auletta at length. Weinstein himself also responded to Auletta's questions from prison. The result is not simply the portrait of a predator but of the power that allowed Weinstein to operate with such impunity for so many years, the spiderweb in which his victims found themselves trapped.
Not That Bad: Dispatches From Rape Culture In this valuable and revealing anthology, Roxane Gay collects original and previously published pieces that address what it means to live in a world where women have to measure the harassment, violence, and aggression they face, and where they are "routinely second-guessed, blown off, discredited, denigrated, besmirched, belittled, patronized, mocked, shamed, gaslit, insulted, bullied" for speaking out. Contributions include essays from established and up-and-coming writers, performers, and critics, including actors Ally Sheedy and Gabrielle Union and writers Amy Jo Burns, Lyz Lenz, and Claire Schwartz. Covering a wide range of topics and experiences, from an exploration of the rape epidemic embedded in the refugee crisis to first-person accounts of child molestation, this collection is often deeply personal and is always unflinchingly honest. Like Rebecca Solnit's Men Explain Things to Me, Not That Bad will resonate with every reader, saying "something in totality that we cannot say alone." Searing and heartbreakingly candid, this provocative collection both reflects the world we live in and offers a call to arms insisting that "not that bad" must no longer be good enough.
Sexual Harassment and Bullying: A Guide to Keeping Kids Safe and Holding Schools Accountable Despite headlines that label all harassment among youth as bullying, there is in fact a difference between sexual harassment and bullying. This book discusses the similarities and important differences between the two, offering firsthand accounts from victims and others involved in combating the activities that victimize students. It provides parents, youth advocates, scout leaders, and other concerned adults with practical steps to partner with schools to prevent and intervene on the behaviors to help keep kids safe. The book clearly identifies the steps to take to hold schools accountable when a student has been harassed or bullied, even when the school is not stopping the behavior. Providing examples throughout the work, Strauss helps readers become better acquainted with the various activities that constitute sexual harassment and bullying and what they can do to combat the problem.
Sexual Harassment in the Workplace You can stop sexual harassment. Sexual harassment is not about sex-it is about power. Immediate help is available to put you back in control. You do not have to give in and you do not have to give up your job. You can stand up to harassing coworkers and supervisors, and you do not have to go to court to do it. There are many ways to get the harassment to stop. Sexual Harassment in the Workplace explains your options and how to take action. This book teaches you: Why sexual harassment occurs; How Title VII can protect you; What the EEOC and FEPA do and how to contact them; What steps your employer must take; Who you can turn to for help; How to prevent future harassment; How to find and work with a lawyer; How to file a complaint. Sexual harassment is never acceptable. Do not tolerate it any longer.
She Said: Breaking the Sexual Harassment Story that Helped Ignite a Movement From the Pulitzer Prize-winning reporters who broke the news of Harvey Weinstein's sexual harassment and abuse for the New York Times, Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, the thrilling untold story of their investigation and its consequences for the #MeToo movement. For many years, reporters had tried to get to the truth about Harvey Weinstein's treatment of women. Rumors of wrongdoing had long circulated. But in 2017, when Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey began their investigation into the prominent Hollywood producer for the New York Times, his name was still synonymous with power. During months of confidential interviews with top actresses, former Weinstein employees, and other sources, many disturbing and long-buried allegations were unearthed, and a web of onerous secret payouts and nondisclosure agreements was revealed. These shadowy settlements had long been used to hide sexual harassment and abuse, but with a breakthrough reporting technique Kantor and Twohey helped to expose it. But Weinstein had evaded scrutiny in the past, and he was not going down without a fight; he employed a team of high-profile lawyers, private investigators, and other allies to thwart the investigation. When Kantor and Twohey were finally able to convince some sources to go on the record, a dramatic final showdown between Weinstein and the New York Times was set in motion. Nothing could have prepared Kantor and Twohey for what followed the publication of their initial Weinstein story on October 5, 2017. Within days, a veritable Pandora's box of sexual harassment and abuse was opened. Women all over the world came forward with their own traumatic stories. Over the next twelve months, hundreds of men from every walk of life and industry were outed following allegations of wrongdoing. But did too much change--or not enough? Those questions hung in the air months later as Brett Kavanaugh was nominated to the Supreme Court, and Christine Blasey Ford came forward to testify that he had assaulted her decades earlier. Kantor and Twohey, who had unique access to Ford and her team, bring to light the odyssey that led her to come forward, the overwhelming forces that came to bear on her, and what happened after she shared her allegation with the world. In the tradition of great investigative journalism, She Said tells a thrilling story about the power of truth, with shocking new information from hidden sources. Kantor and Twohey describe not only the consequences of their reporting for the #MeToo movement, but the inspiring and affecting journeys of the women who spoke up--for the sake of other women, for future generations, and for themselves.
The Voices Of #MeToo: From Grassroots Activism to a Viral Roar The Voices of #MeToo: From Grassroots Activism to a Viral Roar is a timely analysis of how marginalized voices are engaged or silenced in one of the most successful social media projects in recent history. Accessibly written, this book unravels the ideas and practices of activism throughout the #MeToo movement from its inception to its current viral moment. The movement went viral with a tweet from Alyssa Milano after the avalanche of sexual harassment and assault allegations against movie mogul Harvey Weinstein. The hashtag, however, got its start from African-American, grassroots activist Tarana Burke a decade earlier. Taking this as her starting place, Gieseler focuses on the marginalized communities that are often ignored once a movement goes mainstream. With chapters on black female activism, the LGBTQ+ community and disability, toxic masculinity, and international responses, The Voices of #MeToo issues a call for all movements to become more inclusive as they seek empowerment and resistance against oppressive and abusive forces. Perhaps in exploring issues of social justice through an intersectional lens, we may all begin to hear and amplify the voices that are often silenced in the louder, viral roar.