Skip to main content

Kazuo Ishiguro

Read the Nobel prize winning author's books and get sources about his works.

Kazuo Ishiguro Wins the Nobel prize in Literature 2017

Click to see full size imageThe Nobel Prize in Literature 2017 was awarded to Kazuo Ishiguro "who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world". You can read this great literature from books and eBooks in COM Library, as well as get sources to understand his works. 

About the Author
Ishiguro is a Japanese-born British novelist. His novel An Artist of the Floating World won the 1986 Whitbread Prize, and The Remains of the Day, about an English butler coming to realize the extent of his self-sacrifice and self-deception, won the 1989 Booker Prize and was made into a successful film in 1993. His works, which are characterized by a sensitive style and subtle structure, also include The Unconsoled (1995), When We Were Orphans (2000), and Never Let Me Go (2005; filmed 2010), the latter two of which were shortlisted for the Booker Prize.

His first novel, A Pale View of Hills (1982), takes place mainly in his native Nagasaki, dealing obliquely with the aftermath of the atom bomb. An Artist of the Floating World is set entirely in Japan but thematically linked to The Remains of the Day. All three have in common a melancholy reassessment of the past.

Read It

Research It with Books

Read books to better understand the works. Must access on campus or have COM ID for off campus access.

Research It with Articles

Read articles to better understand the works. Must access on campus or have COM ID for off campus access.

Loading ...

Top Databases


Getting Started with Lit Guides


Home Access

""It's true, you can access most COM Library resources at home! COM Library’s catalog, and the thousands of eBooks and articles in our databases can all be accessed off campus. Just login with your COM ID# and last name.

More on Home Access