At COM Library questions are welcome! We can help with your research. Ask via chat, book a librarian, email or face2face. We're here to help!
COM has a fantastic Tutoring Center on campus where you can get help writing your papers or presentations. Check out hours and services.
This guide describes basic examples for citing sources MLA style according to the 9th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
How to grab a citation, cite print, web or other common sources, get citation and formatting tips or access sample papers.
COM students faculty and staff have full access to MLA Handbook Plus online!
You can browse or search the book online, get citation examples for just about everything, and see sample papers.
Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more? How to Use MLA Handbook Plus.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
More information on citing MLA style is available from the print version of the MLA Handbook in COM Library.
MLA Handbook
Teaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their own ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the clearest approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism. Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting.
Visit The MLA Style Center at style.mla.org for writing tips, guidelines on formatting, answers from MLA editors, and more. It’s free, and no registration is required!
Did you know? You can search MLA frequently asked questions or ask the Modern Language Association, the creators of MLA Style, your own question!
Here are the most recent questions (and answers!) below:
© 2023 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
Class Poll
