Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cite MLA Style 9

How to cite according to the 9th edition of the Modern Language Association.

Citation Generators

These citation generators can help you build your citations in multiple styles, including APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, ACS, GSA  and more.

They can be especially helpful when you are citing something not available from a database like a web page, image, television or federal statute. 

zoterobib is the quickest and easiest to use. Want to know more? Try How to Use Zoterobib.

Grab a Citation

The easiest way to get a citation is to grab one from the databases where you got your article, book, eBook or media. For other items you can use a free citation generator to build your citation

Academic Video Online provides citations in APA, Chicago and MLA styles that you can grab from the database. Here's how:

  1. On any video page select Cite below the video.
  2. Choose your preferred citation format from the pull down menu.
  3. Copy the citation.


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. Italicize Alexander Street.


It Should Look Like

"Disinformation Is Real??" , directed by Cullen Hoback. , produced by Alina Solodnikova, 
 
Cullen Hoback, and Hyrax Films. , Ro*Co Films, 2021. Alexander Street,
 
https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/disinformation-is-real.

America's News

  1. Every Britannica article has a citation icon at the top of the page. Click on the citation icon and MLA will come up by default.
  2. Grab your citation.


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. Remove the Accessed date from the end of the citation. 


It Should Look Like

"Google." Britannica Academic, Encyclopædia Britannica, 11 May. 2020. 

academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article/Google/471099.

""

Access citations on the upper right of the page above the entry using the Citation option. 


 


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. Remove the Accessed date from the end of the citation. 


It Should Look Like

Bruun, Christer. "Rome." Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World: A Companion to Ancient History,

Andrew Erskine, Wiley, 1st edition, 2009. Credo Reference, https://comlib.idm.oclc.org/login?

url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/wileycanh/rome/0?institutionId=5089. 

""

At the top of every article is a citation icon. APA is the default, so when the pop-up window appears, change the selection from APA to MLA.

""


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12


It Should Look Like

Clemmitt, Marcia. "Social Media Explosion." CQ Researcher, 25 Jan. 2013, pp.

81-104. CQ Researcher, library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher

/cqresrre2013012500.

EBSCOhost has a great citation tool you can use to cite your articles. Here's how:

  1. Click on the title of any article or eBook from your list that you want to cite.
  2. Click on the Cite icon on the right side of the item page.
  3. Citation Format will appear above the article or eBook cited in multiple formats. MLA style is the second to last listed.
  4. Copy the citation and paste into your works cited page.

MLA 9

Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.


It Should Look Like

Kaye, Barbara K., and Thomas J. Johnson. “Across the Great Divide: How Partisanship and

Perceptions of Media Bias Influence Changes in Time Spent with Media.” Journal of 

Broadcasting & Electronic Media, vol. 60, no. 4, Dec. 2016, pp. 604–

23. EBSCOhost,  https://doi.org/10.1080/08838151.2016.1234477.

Access citations on any video page by clicking on Citation below the video. Citations are provided in APA, Chicago, Harvard and MLA styles.

Click for full image


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. Italicize Films Media Group.
  5. Remove the Accessed date from the end of the citation. 


It Should Look Like

 “A Necessary War (December 1941–December 1942).” Films Media Group,
 
2007,  fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=95702&xtid=44292.

Every Gale article has a citation available. Look in the upper right corner of the article page and select Cite, MLA will come up by default. 

""


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. Remove the Accessed date from the end of the citation. 

It Should Look Like

Berman, Lauren. “Dragons and Serpents in J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter Series: Are They Evil?”

Mythlore, vol. 27, no. 1-2, 2008, p. 45. Galego.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=gale|a188065412

&v=2.1&u =txshracd2496&it=r&p=gls&sw=w&asid=cbf27d207f8181c5cbcfb291b5464c27

Good news! Google scholar provides citations for articles from the search result list ((currently MLA, APA, Chicago, Harvard or Vancouver).

To grab a citation click on the Cite link below a search result and select from the available citation styles.

As with any resource that provides citations, always double check to make sure formatting is correct. See formatting tips below.

Change it Tips MLA

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should look Like MLA

Efron, Bradley, and Robert Tibshirani. "Bootstrap  methods for standard errors, confidence intervals,

and other measures of statistical accuracy." Statistical Science (1986): 54-75.

American History Online

American History Online, Ancient and Medieval History Online, Ancient and Medieval History Online all use the same interface and citations can be obtained in the same way in each.

At the top of every article is a citation icon in that you can click on to get your MLA style citation. 


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. Remove the Accessed date from the end of the citation. 


It Should Look Like

Burg, David F. “Declaring Independence: 1776.” American Revolution, Updated Edition, Facts On File, 2007. 

American History, online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=95702&itemid=WE52&articleId=203427. 

""

1. Select the "C above the article.

Click to see full size

2. Citation options will pop up. Select MLA.

Click to see full size

3. The citation box with your MLA style citation will pop up. Grab it and paste it into your paper.

Click to see full size

Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. Change all upper case Words to lower case with beginning letter upper case.
  5. Remove the Accessed date from the end of the citation. 


It Should Look Like

Murphy, Brett. "Prosecutors ask judge to not release Parkland high school shooting surveillance

video." Naples Daily News (FL), 1, DailyNews ed., sec. News, 6 Mar. 2018,

p. A4. NewsBank, infoweb.newsbank.com /apps/news/document-view?p=AWNB&

docref=news/16A79F8F65358728.

At the top of every Issues & Controversies article is a cite option. Click on it and select Citation to get a Chicago or MLA style citation, MLA is the default.


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. Remove the Accessed date from the end of the citation. 


It Should Look Like

“Fake News.” Issues & Controversies, Infobase, 4 Nov. 2020,

icof.infobase.com/articles/QXJ0aWNsZVRleHQ6MTY0NTA=. Accessed 29 June 2022.

OneSearch is best used for citing items like books and DVDs that are physically in the library. If you are using an article, eBook or other item from a databases it's best to grab the citation from the database

  1. On the result list, click on the quote icon to launch the pop up citation window.
  2. Select MLA.
  3. Select COPY THE CITATION  TO CLIPBOARD.
  4. Paste into your paper. See the change it tips, below, to make it just right.

Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. Italicize the title. 
  5. Delete place of publication. 

It Should Look Like

Brooks, Max. World War Z : an Oral History of the Zombie War. 1st ed.,

Crown, 2006

ProQuest provides citations in APA, Chicago, MLA and more styles that you can grab from the database. Here's how:

  1. Click Cite on the right side of your article page.
  2. If APA comes up in the pop up window, click on the pull down menu and select MLA.
  3. Copy the citation and paste it into your paper. See the change it tips, below, to make it just right.

MLA 9


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.


It Should Look Like

Corthell, Ronald. "John Donne's Articulations of the Feminine." JEGP.Journal of English and

Germanic Philologyvol. 100, no. 2, 2001, pp. 280-282. ProQuest,

https://comlib.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/

john-donnes-articulations-feminine/docview/217911606/se-2.

At the top of every article is a article is a cite option. Click on it to get your MLA style citation.


Change It Tips

  1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
  2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
  3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
  4. Remove the Accessed date from the end of the citation. 


It Should Look Like

Bozzone, Donna M., and Susan Whittemore. “Anatomy of the Circulatory System.” The Circulatory System,

Facts On File, 2009. Science Online, online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=95702&itemid=WE40&articleId=368481.