LibGuides: Graphic Design: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

100 Ideas that Changed Graphic Design This book demonstrates how ideas influenced and defined graphic design, and how those ideas have manifested themselves in objects of design. The 100 entries, arranged broadly in chronological order, range from technical (overprinting, rub-on designs, split fountain); to stylistic (swashes on caps, loud typography, and white space); to objects (dust jackets, design handbooks); and methods (paper cut-outs, pixelation).
100 Ideas that Changed the Web This innovative title looks at the history of the Web from its early roots in the research projects of the US government to the interactive online world we know and use today.
Adobe Creative Cloud All-In-One for Dummies Fly higher in your Creative Cloud Adobe Creative Cloud makes the most popular tools used by designers, photographers, and other creative professionals accessible in a single place. Adobe Creative Cloud All-in-One For Dummies is the ultimate one-stop reference guide for how to use them all. Whatever gets your creative juices flowing, you'll find the in-depth guidance required to deliver the results you want, from polishing-up photos and images to creating illustrations and designs. And once your assets are just how you want them, you can pick up best practices for managing and publishing via the amazing Adobe Bridge. Written by pro designers for those getting started with this powerful set of tools, this book gives you an overview of Creative Cloud and step-by-step coverage of the major applications--InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop, Acrobat Pro, and Adobe XD, and Adobe Bridge--in seven mini-books that take you from the basics to more advanced topics. You'll also discover how to get your work noticed by building personal galleries and displaying your creative wares. Find the essentials on the top tools in Adobe Creative Cloud Build and enhance your design skills Protect your documents with Acrobat Pro Get the most out of each program with insider tips Whatever your skill level and project needs, you'll find the essentials you need to demystify these complex programs and the knowledge to make your work shine even more brightly through the Cloud!
Adobe Illustrator CC for Dummies Get to know your digital drawing board Adobe Illustrator CC offers a vibrant tool for creating drawings and illustrations in a digital environment. It takes some practice to get a feel for the digital pens, pencils, paintbrushes, and erasers, though. Adobe Illustrator CC For Dummies offers the guidance you need to turn your ideas into real drawings. Written by an Illustrator trainer and expert, this book walks those new to the tool through the basics of drawing, editing, and applying the unique tools found in this popular program.  Create illustrations using simple shapes Touch up images using pen, pencil, and brush tools Import your illustrations into other graphic apps Apply special effects and add type This book is essential reading for new and beginning illustrators who are either adopting a digital tool for the first time, switching from an existing tool to Illustrator, or adding Illustrator know-how to existing Adobe knowledge.
Adobe Photoshop CC for Dummies Get picture perfect with Photoshop CC Photoshop is a stunning program that puts the power of a professional photography studio into your hands, but it can also be a jungle to navigate--with a dense proliferation of menus, panels, shortcuts, plug-ins, and add-ons to get thoroughly lost in. Written by a literal Photoshop Hall of Famer, the new edition of Photoshop CC For Dummies is your experienced guide to the technical terrain, slashing away the foliage for a clear picture of how to produce the perfectly framed and beautifully curated images you want. Beginning with an overview of the basic kit bag you need for your journey toward visual mastery, Peter Bauer--Photoshop instructor and an award-winning fine art photographer in his own right--shows you how to build your skills and enrich your creative palette with enhanced colors and tone, filters and layering, and even how undertake a foray into digital painting. Add in instructions on combining text with images and the how-tos of video and animation editing, and you have all the tools you need to carve out a one-person multimedia empire. Master everything from the basics to professional insider tips Combine, layer, tone, and paint your images Explore the colorfully creative world of Photoshop filters Fix common problems You'll find everything on the latest version of the software that you could dream of--and an improved shot at artistic success!
The Art of Type and Typography The Art of Type and Typography is an introduction to the art and rules of typography. Incorporating the industry standard--InDesign--for typesetting from the outset, this book serves as a guide for beginning students to learn to set type properly through tutorials, activities, and examples of student work. Encompassing the history of typography from ancient times to widespread modern use, The Art of Type and Typography provides context and fosters creativity while developing key concepts, including: The history of type; Terminology; Classification; Measurement; Spacing; Alignment; Legibility; Hierarchy; Layout and Grids; Page Elements; InDesign tools and style sheets. Writing clearly and to the point, Mary Jo Krysinski brings over 30 years of design experience to this essential guide. With a glossary, sample class activities, additional online resources and a beautiful clean design, this book is the perfect introduction for a beginning typography student, and a handy reference for those needing a refresher.
Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer Begin your graphic design career now, with the guidance of industry experts Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer is a single source guide to the myriad of options available to those pursuing a graphic design career. With an emphasis on portfolio requirements and job opportunities, this guide helps both students and individuals interested in entering the design field prepare for successful careers. Coverage includes design inspiration, design genres, and design education, with discussion of the specific career options available in print, interactive, and motion design. Interviews with leading designers like Michael Bierut, Stefan Sagmeister, and Mirko Ilic give readers an insider's perspective on career trajectory and a glimpse into everyday operations and inspirations at a variety of companies and firms. Design has become a multi-platform activity that involves aesthetic, creative, and technical expertise. Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer shows readers that the field once known as "graphic design" is now richer and more inviting than ever before. Learn how to think like a designer and approach projects systematically Discover the varied career options available within graphic design Gain insight from some of the leading designers in their fields Compile a portfolio optimized to your speciality of choice Graphic designers' work appears in magazines, advertisements, video games, movies, exhibits, computer programs, packaging, corporate materials, and more. Aspiring designers are sure to find their place in the industry, regardless of specific interests. Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer provides a roadmap and compass for the journey, which begins today.
Communications Writing and Design Communications Writing and Design is an integrated, project-based introduction to effective writing and design across the persuasive domains of communication. Build a strong foundation of core writing and design skills using professionally-designed examples that illustrate and reinforce key principles Readers learn and analyze techniques by creating 15 projects in marketing, advertising, PR, and social media with the help of strategy suggestions, practical tips, and professional production techniques Written by an experienced professional and teacher, with a focus on the cross-disciplinary nature of contemporary communication work Learning is reinforced through a variety of pedagogical features: learning objectives, helpful mnemonics, real-life projects and applications, chapter references for further study, and end-of-chapter summaries and exercises A companion website with multimedia slides, exam questions, learning videos, and design guides provides additional learning tools for students and instructors
Design: Logo It's inevitable. At some point in your career as a designer, you're bound to work on a logo. Design: Logo, the exciting new book in our Design: series, is an inspirational resource created for everyone who works or wants to work on logo design.  Design: Logo showcases over 300 eye-catching logo designs chosen by two leading identity designers. In addition to being an inspirational guide, this book also includes helpful information such as "Close Ups," in which the authors dissect 20 projects and point out the details that make each so successful, and five insightful essays by prominent logo designers.   This must-have resource puts inspiration right in your hands, allowing you to peruse your ideas and see what other designers are doing in the field. With over 300 exemplary logo designs, you'll be primed and ready to create outstanding designs of your own.
Design Matters : An Essential Primer-Brochures, Logos, Packaging, Portfolio The design bar is at an all-time high for those brave enough to participate in the industry. Today's designers must be clear on all the steps necessary to create work that stands out in an increasingly competitive marketplace. Unfortunately, most design books only focus on type, color, and layout issues. The Design Matters series takes a more in-depth approach, allowing designers to learn not only how to create work that is aesthetically appealing, but also strategy-driven and smart. This compilation features the best of the Design Matters series, indispensable guides to design, in one handy volume. Design Matters focuses on developing, creating and implementing brochure designs, logo designs, packaging, and portfolios. The compendium includes all the essential information needed to execute strong designs in concert with beautiful and well-crafted examples, so that designers can successfully hit the mark every time.
Design School: Layout : A Practical Guide for Students and Designers Design School: Layout is an instructive guide for students, recent graduates, and self-taught designers. It provides a comprehensive introduction to creating and changing layouts: a crucially important skill that underpins practically every aspect of graphic design.  You'll get in-depth analysis of all the major areas of theory and practice used by experienced professional designers. Each section provides explanation and visual examples of grid systems and in-depth discussion of compositional principles and strategies. The text is interspersed with tests designed to help you retain key points you've covered in the preceding spreads, and includes illustrations sections with real world scenarios. This in-depth guide avoids the temptation to stray into other areas of design technique, preferring to cover the essential, detailed skills of the professional graphic designer to arm you with the knowledge needed for a successful start to your chosen career.
The Fundamentals of Typography Demonstrating the power and variety of typography from hand-drawn to kinetic, this fully updated new edition of The Fundamentals of Typography covers the principles of using type across a range of media. Starting with a comprehensive introduction to the history of typography, the authors provide detailed explanations and inspirational examples of type usage from leading practitioners from around the world. With expanded practice exercises and four new case studies, this book gives students everything they need to know to use type effectively and creatively.
Graphic Design Graphic Design: Learn It, Do Itis introduction to the fundamentals of graphic design and the Adobe Creative Cloud applications used to put these concepts into practice. This book is intended for production-oriented audiences, those interested in the what, why and how of graphic design. The "what" is effective graphic design, a visual solution created using the design principles that stands out in a crowded marketplace. This discussion includes color theory, typography and page layout. Focus on the "why" of design begins with the reasons why we communicate. Attention is paid to the purpose of the visual solution and to its audiences. The conversation highlights output options (print vs. onscreen) and their related file properties. The "how" of design addresses the stages of production and use of Adobe Photoshop CC, Illustrator CC and InDesign CC to translate an idea into a visual solution. Following an overview of each application and its uses, step-by-step exercises are provided to foster familiarity with each application's workspace and its tools. These exercises provide opportunities to implement the design principles and to produce examples of work for a design portfolio. Key Features: Content based on over a decade's worth of experience teaching graphic design Contemporary examples and online references Guided exercises for working in the Adobe Creative Cloud applications, Photoshop CC, Illustrator CC and InDesign CC Accompanying exercise files and supporting materials available for download from the book's companion website Discussion questions and activities included at the end of chapters to expand the presented topics e provided to foster familiarity with each application's workspace and its tools. These exercises provide opportunities to implement the design principles and to produce examples of work for a design portfolio. Key Features: Content based on over a decade's worth of experience teaching graphic design Contemporary examples and online references Guided exercises for working in the Adobe Creative Cloud applications, Photoshop CC, Illustrator CC and InDesign CC Accompanying exercise files and supporting materials available for download from the book's companion website Discussion questions and activities included at the end of chapters to expand the presented topics
Graphic Design School Revised and updated edition of the leading graphic design textbook, with new examples, the latest tools, and many new illustrations. From understanding graphic design fundamentals, to developing original concepts, to creating finished designs--Graphic Design School develops design students' core competencies and provides practical advice and tips for how these fundamentals translate into new and evolving media. This Eighth Edition is updated with many new images and examples including apps, social media, magazines, websites, and books, presenting a comprehensive overview of the visual communications profession. Other updates in this edition include refreshed reading lists with more diverse practitioners, updated guidance, and media examples using the latest in graphic design software. Graphic Design School, 8th Edition, covers the fundamentals of design including: Color, typographic rules and typefaces, web design and layout, and app or social media design Information architecture, file organization, and content management The importance of coding requirements and SEO Case studies, designer biographies, and student assignments for testing skills and concepts Revisits traditional printing techniques such as risograph and screen printing Graphic Design School, 8th Edition includes full-color illustrations throughout, with pedagogical tools that focus on the growth of interdisciplinary learning and collaborations between design specialists, as well as highlights on key players in the past and present of graphic design.
An Introduction to Information Design Information design is the visualization of information through graphic design. This invaluable guide provides a creative, informative, and practical introduction to the general principles of information design. With chapters on understanding the audience, structure, legibility and readability, selection of media, experimentation and multi-platform delivery,An Introduction to Information Design gives a complete overview of this fundamental aspect of visual communication. Fully illustrated case studies from leading designers provide professional insight into the challenges involved in creating information design for print, interactive and environmental media. Practical exercises and tips enable the reader to put this learning into practice. This makes it the perfect book for graphic design students as well as design enthusiasts.
The Language of Graphic Design Provides graphic design students and practitioners with an in-depth understanding of the fundamental elements and principles of their language - graphic design.
Making and Breaking the Grid, Third Edition Take your design work to the next level with Making and Breaking the Grid: A Graphic Design Layout Workshop (Third Edition), the essential easy-to-use guide for designers working in every medium. With over 150,000 copies in print, this new edition makes a classic text relevant to a new generation of designers. Updates include:   A cross-cultural inclusive re-envisioning of design history related to the grid, including alternative approaches to layout Expanded discussion of grid use in interactive, UX/UI scenarios Greater equity in the representation of design work by women and BIPOC designers Grids are the most basic and essential forms in graphic design--and they can be the most rigid. This book shows you how to understand the rules of the grid to use them effectively, and then how to break them, resulting in phenomenal cohesive layouts. Timothy Samara explains the history of the grid and shows examples of grid basics, such as column, compound, and modular grids. He shows methods for building and using grids, and offers numerous examples of stunning design projects using a variety of imagery and typography. Pages are filled with hundreds of large, full-color layout concepts and diagrams that educate and inspire. After mastering the grid, discover how to break it using conceptual designs that deconstruct and flip the grid successfully. Split, splice, and shift; create spontaneous compositions; make narrative constructs; work on an axis; use intuitive design; and more to create unique layouts or other projects. See ideas in action with eye-catching layout examples. With this book you will:   learn how grids work. be inspired to explore new concepts for using--or not using--grids. discover achievable alternatives for boring layouts. get the results you want using fresh design elements. learn designers' processes via fascinating case studies. see numerous examples of successful layouts created with and without grids. communicate ideas effectively using visual language. This new, expanded edition presents the most comprehensive, accessible, in-depth exposition of layout concepts ever published.
Meggs' History of Graphic Design The bestselling graphic design reference, updated for the digital age Meggs' History of Graphic Design is the industry's unparalleled, award-winning reference. With over 1,400 high-quality images throughout, this visually stunning text guides you through a saga of artistic innovators, breakthrough technologies, and groundbreaking developments that define the graphic design field. The initial publication of this book was heralded as a publishing landmark, and author Philip B. Meggs is credited with significantly shaping the academic field of graphic design. Meggs presents compelling, comprehensive information enclosed in an exquisite visual format. The text includes classic topics such as the invention of writing and alphabets, the origins of printing and typography, and the advent of postmodern design. This new sixth edition has also been updated to provide: The latest key developments in web, multimedia, and interactive design Expanded coverage of design in Asia and the Middle East Emerging design trends and technologies Timelines framed in a broader historical context to help you better understand the evolution of contemporary graphic design Extensive ancillary materials including an instructor's manual, expanded image identification banks, flashcards, and quizzes You can't master a field without knowing the history. Meggs' History of Graphic Design presents an all-inclusive, visually spectacular arrangement of graphic design knowledge for students and professionals. Learn the milestones, developments, and pioneers of the trade so that you can shape the future. 
Principles of Digital Arts & Multimedia Digital artwork and multimedia projects are key to a wide range of industries, from entertainment and education to product design, advertising, and medicine. The entries in this work will provide a solid background in digital arts and multimedia and help readers to develop a deeper and meaningful understanding of this ever-changing field.
Also available in print: N7433.8 P75 2023
Principles of Logo Design From noted graphic designer and logo expert George Bokhua, Principles of Logo Design presents essential techniques and examples for developing and refining logos and other visual marks, including the use of grids and other geometric shapes to achieve classic proportions.
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers A comprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design. From pre-industrial printing presses and medieval typography to computer graphics and avant-garde stylistic advances, a wealth of entries elucidate technical terms and detail movements, media, advertising, corporate identity, posters, packaging, and magazine and book design, placing graphic design in the wider context of the history of fine art and illustration.
Typographic Design : Form and Communication The bestselling introduction to designing the written word Typographic Design: Form & Communication is the definitive reference for graphic designers, providing a comprehensive introduction to the visual word. Done well, typopgraphy can communicate so much more than the words themselves. Typographic design determines how you feel about a message, the associations you make, and ultimately, the overall success of the communication. Typographic design extends from the page to the screen, and is a critical element of almost any graphic design project. This book provides essential guidance on everything related to type: from letterforms and negative space, to messaging, processes, and history, aspiring designers will find great utility in mastering these critical concepts. This new seventh edition has been fully updated with new coverage of contemporary typography processes, updated case studies, and new examples from branding, print, web, motion, and more. On-screen typographic design concepts are discussed in greater detail, and the online supplemental materials include new flashcards, terminology and quizzes. Understand design factors as they relate to type Explore communication and typographic messaging Learn how typography has evolved, and where it is headed Adopt established approaches to designing with type The irony of typographic design is that, when done well, it often goes unnoticed--but its impact on a project's overall success is undeniable. Typography can make or break a page, can enhance or overpower an image, and can obscure a message or bring it into sharp focus. It is one of the most powerful tools in the graphic designer's arsenal, and Typographic Design is the complete, practical introduction.
Typography Essentials This completely revised and updated version of Typography Essentials: 100 Design Principles for Working with Type is a hands-on resource, organizing the many complex choices surrounding the effective use of typography.
Web Style Guide A classic reference book on user interface design and graphic design for web sites, updated to reflect a rapidly changing market Consistently praised as the best volume on classic elements of web site design, Web Style Guide has sold many thousands of copies and has been published around the world. This new revised edition confirms Web Style Guide as the go-to authority in a rapidly changing market. As web designers move from building sites from scratch to using content management and aggregation tools, the book's focus shifts away from code samples and toward best practices, especially those involving mobile experience, social media, and accessibility. An ideal reference for web site designers in corporations, government, nonprofit organizations, and academic institutions, the book explains established design principles and covers all aspects of web design--from planning to production to maintenance. The guide also shows how these principles apply in web design projects whose primary concerns are information design, interface design, and efficient search and navigation.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

100 Ideas That Changed Advertising A chronicle of the key ideas that have shaped the adverts we see everyday, 100 Ideas That Changed Advertising offers a fascinating insight into an ever-changing and fast moving industry. Arranged broadly chronologically, the book looks at the overnight revolutions, the flashes of inspiration, and the long-term evolutions that advertisers have wrought upon their industry. Author Simon Veksner guides us through the key ideas behind these changes, from the development of the first advertising formats and the history of branding, to the creative revolutions of the 1960s and the digital age. Looking forward, the book considers the most recent thinking in reaching new audiences, including the rise of neuromarketing and the latest behavioural economics. Illustrated with hundreds of examples of adverts and explaining their power to inspire, delight, and annoy, but above all, to make us buy, the book is an absorbing guide to a turbulent industry.
Adland : A Global History of Advertising Adland is a ground-breaking examination of modern advertising, from its origins and evolution to the current advertising landscape. Bestselling author and journalist Mark Tungate examines key developments in advertising, from copy adverts, radio and television, to the opportunities afforded by the explosion of digital media and then interviews leading names in advertising today, including Jean-Marie Dru, Sir Alan Parker, Sir John Hegarty and Sir Martin Sorrell, as well as 20th century industry luminaries such as Phil Dusenberry and George Lois.Exploring the roots of the advertising industry in New York and London, from Hopkins and Lasker to the Mad Men of the 50s, Tungate then covers today's big communication groups and the emerging markets of Eastern Europe, Asia and Latin America. Adland offers a comprehensive examination of a global industry and suggests ways in which it is likely to develop in the future.
Articulating Design Decisions: Communicate with Stakeholders, Keep Your Sanity, and Deliver the Best User Experience Talking to people about your designs might seem like a basic skill, but it can be difficult to do well. In many cases, how you communicate with stakeholders, clients, and other nondesigners may be more important than the designs themselves. Because if you canâ??t get their support, your work will never see the light of dayâ??no matter how good it is. This practical guide focuses on principles, tactics, and actionable methods for presenting your designs. Whether you design apps, websites, or products, youâ??ll learn how to get support from people who have influence over the project with the goal of creating the best user experience. Walk through the process of preparing and presenting your designs Understand stakeholder perspectives and learn how to empathize with them Cultivate both implicit and explicit listening skills Learn tactics and strategies for expressing the most effective response to feedback Create the right documentation for your decisions to avoid repeated conversations Learn why following through is just as important as the meeting itself
Art of the Printed Book, Fourteen Fifty-Five to Nineteen Fifty-Five
Creating a Successful Graphic Design Portfolio Being able to present yourself and your work in the best way possible is a necessary skill that all new designers must master before embarking on a career--be it freelance or working within a design firm. The author provides practical advice combined with insights and personal stories from leading design professionals. The book focuses on the practical aspects of creating a great portfolio such as what potential employers or clients look for in a portfolio, how to present yourself, dealing with criticism, replying to tough interview questions and more. A unique chapter called 'Portfolio Workshop (or Portfolio Clinic)' includes sample spreads from portfolios (good and bad) with critiques and helpful commentary from leading designers. The author also includes templates for cover letters, CVs, etc. Finally, a 'Toolbox' section will include sample prompts for frequently asked interview questions and a short section on running your own freelancing practice. All in all, everything to encourage and advise the new designer.
The Elements of Graphic Design : Space, Unity, Page Architecture, and Type Now in full color in a larger size! 40% more content and over 750 images to enhance and better clarify the concepts in this thought-provoking resource for graphic designers, professors, and students. This very popular design book has been wholly revised and expanded to feature a new dimension of inspiring and counterintuitive ideas to thinking about graphic design relationships. The second edition includes a new section on web design and new discussions of modularity, framing, motion and time, rules of randomness, and numerous quotes supported by images and biographies. This pioneering work provides designers, art directors, and students--regardless of experience--with a unique approach to successful design. Veteran designer and educator Alex. W. White has assembled a wealth of information and examples in his exploration of what makes visual design stunning and easy to read. Readers will discover White's four elements of graphic design, including how to: define and reveal dominant images, words, and concepts; use scale, color, and position to guide the viewer through levels of importance; employ white space as a significant component of design and not merely as background; and use display and text type for maximum comprehension and value to the reader. Offering a new way to think about and use the four design elements, this book is certain to inspire better design. Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
The Fundamentals of Graphic Design Introducing students to the field of graphic design through inspirational examples and clear, practical advice, The Fundamentals of Graphic Design has been fully updated to reflect the changes in today's technologies and graphic design practice. With a new section expanding the coverage of digital design tools and new material on social media, apps plus more on design for the Web, the book gives students a unique overview of what graphic designers do and how they work, historical influences on the field, and coverage of design thinking and the production process.
The History of Graphic Design. Vol. 1. 1890-1959 History is a complex business. Fortunes boom and bust, empires wax and wane, and change--whether social, political, or technological--has its winners, its losers, its advocates, and its enemies. Through all the turbulent passage of time, graphic design--with its vivid, neat synthesis of image and idea--has distilled the spirit of each age. This book is an in-depth history of graphic design from the end of the 19th century to the '50s. It traces the evolution of this creative field from its beginning as poster design to its further development into advertising, corporate identity, packaging, and editorial design. Organized chronologically, the volume features over 2,500 seminal designs from all over the world, 71 of which are profiled in detail besides 61 leaders in the field, including Alphonse Mucha (chocolate advertisements), Edward Johnston (London Underground logo and typeface), El Lissitzky (constructivist graphics), Herbert Matter (photomontage travel posters from Switzerland), Saul Bass (animated opening titles), and A. M. Cassandre (art deco posters). With his sweeping knowledge of the field, author Jens Müller curates the standout designs for each year alongside a running sequence of design milestones. Meanwhile, in his introductory essay, David Jury situates graphic design from its point of origin in early printing, engraving, and lithography to striking creative developments in the 19th century. Each consecutive decade is then prefaced by a succinct overview as well as a stunning visual timeline, offering a vivid display of the variety of graphic production in each decade as well as the global landscape which it at once described and defined. As we move on from and reflect upon the 20th century, this first volume examines the foundations of what would influence some of the fastest-changing creative fields. Combined with Volume Two--which spans from the 1960s until today--the tomes offer the most comprehensive exploration of graphic design to date and a long-overdue recognition of its enormous contribution to economics, politics, social causes, the arts, media, and the way we see the world.
The History of Graphic Design. Vol. 2. 1960-Today Through the turbulent passage of time, graphic design--with its vivid, neat synthesis of image and idea--has distilled the spirit of each age. Surrounding us every minute of every day, from minimalist packaging to colorful adverts, smart environmental graphics to sleek interfaces: graphic design is as much about transmitting information as it is about reflecting society's cultural aspirations and values. This second volume rounds off our in-depth exploration of graphic design, spanning from the 1960s until today. About 3,500 seminal designs from across the globe guide us in this visual map through contemporary history, from the establishment of the International Style to the rise of the groundbreaking digital age. Around 80 key pieces go under the microscope in detailed analyses besides 118 biographies of the era's most important designers, including Massimo Vignelli (New York subway wayfinding system), Otl Aicher (Lufthansa identity), Paula Scher (Citibank brand identity), Neville Brody (The Face magazine), Kashiwa Sato (Uniqlo brand identity), and Stefan Sagmeister (handwriting posters). With his sweeping knowledge of the field, author Jens Müller curates the standout designs for each year alongside a running sequence of design milestones. Organized chronologically, each decade is prefaced by a succinct overview as well as a stunning visual timeline, offering a vivid display of the variety of graphic production in each decade as well as the global landscape which it at once described and defined. This collection of important graphic works represents a long-overdue reflection on the development of a creative field constantly changing and challenging itself. These key pieces act as coordinates through contemporary history, helping us trace the sheer influence of graphic design on our daily lives. Combined with Volume One--which spans from the field's very beginnings until 1959--the tomes offer the most comprehensive exploration of graphic design to date.
Logo "A logo should be distinctive, memorable and clear. To be great, it should do those things better than the rest." - Michael Evamy This bestselling branding bible has provided graphic designers with an indispensable reference source for over a decade. Logo is now getting a revamp with the addition of over 300 new logos in this fully revised and updated edition. The book contains a vast visual collection of over 1,600 symbols and logotypes, including 300 brand new logos. All the logos are grouped into visual categories such as crosses, stars, crowns, animals and people, and are shown in black and white to further emphasise the visual form. The logos are from a diverse range of companies and includes design masters such as Paul Rand and Saul Bass alongside some of the most exciting work from contemporary designers. This compelling compendium takes the reader on a journey showing how each form has evolved through history. All logos are active and include household names like Disney, Apple, and Starbucks next to lesser known designs giving a comprehensive snapshot of the full scope of logo design. This is a complete, taxonomical guide to the history, development, and style of identity design. The must-have book for any graphic designer, student or type fanatic in a fully revised, updated edition. "The next time you are tempted to design a logo, take a look at this book. Chances are, it has already been done. By raising the bar, this wonderful resource will make better designers of all of us." - Michael Bierut, Pentagram
The Look of the Book: Jackets, Covers, and Art at the Edges of Literature Why do some book covers instantly grab your attention, while others never get a second glance? Fusing word and image, as well as design thinking and literary criticism, this captivating investigation goes behind the scenes of the cover design process to answer this question and more. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW As the outward face of the text, the book cover makes an all-important first impression. The Look of the Book examines art at the edges of literature through notable covers and the stories behind them, galleries of the many different jackets of bestselling books, an overview of book cover trends throughout history, and insights from dozens of literary and design luminaries. Co-authored by celebrated designer and creative director Peter Mendelsund and scholar David Alworth, this fascinating collaboration, featuring hundreds of covers, challenges our notions of what a book cover can and should be.
Reading Graphic Design History : Image, Text, and Context Reading Graphic Design History uses a series of key artifacts from the history of print culture in light of their specific historical contexts. It encourages the reader to look carefully and critically at print advertising, illustration, posters, magazine art direction and typography, often addressing issues of class, race and gender.David Raizman's innovative approach intentionally challenges the canon of graphic design history and various traditional understandings of graphic design. He re-examines 'icons' of graphic design in light of their local contexts, avoiding generalisation to explore underlying attitudes about various social issues. He encourages new ways of reading graphic design that take into account a broader context for graphic design activity, rather than broad views that discourage the understanding of difference and the means by which graphic design communicates cultural values. With a foreword by Steven Heller.
Type on Screen : A Guide for Designers, Developers, Writers, and Students The long awaited follow-up to our all-time bestseller Thinking with Type is here. Type on Screen is the definitive guide to using classic typographic concepts of form and structure to make dynamic compositions for screen-based applications. Covering a broad range of technologies--from electronic publications and websites to videos and mobile devices--this hands-on primer presents the latest information available to help designers make critical creative decisions, including how to choose typefaces for the screen, how to style beautiful, functional text and navigation, how to apply principles of animation to text, and how to generate new forms and experiences with code-based operations. Type on Screen is an essential design tool for anyone seeking clear and focused guidance about typography for the digital age.
Type Rules : The Designer's Guide to Professional Typography From principle to practice, get it all in the revised edition of the comprehensive introduction to typography. Type Rules: The Designer's Guide to Professional Typography, 3rd Edition is an up-to-date, thorough introduction to the principles and practices of typography. From the fundamentals to cutting-edge applications, this edition has everything today's serious designer needs to use type effectively. Dozens of exercises reinforce authoritative coverage on such topics as how to select the appropriate type for the job, how to set type like a pro, how to avoid common mistakes, and how to design a typeface, as well as how to fully harness the power of major design packages such as InDesign? and QuarkXPress? -- with new coverage of their latest versions. This edition includes: New information on OpenType, font management utilities, font web sites, and interactive typography. An expanded?history of type and an updated glossary of key terms. Exercises throughout to help reinforce the concepts presented in the book. A wealth of tried-and-true as well as recently developed type tips. More in-depth type issues, including scaling logos. "I've purchased and read just about every book on typography written over the last twenty-five years. Ilene Strizver's Type Rules is one of the best. It's a book that will prove its value time and again." -- Allan Haley, Director of Words and Letters, Monotype Imaging "Type Rules is a must-have book for students and professionals alike. I highly recommend it." -- Prof. Ed Benguiat, world-renowned type designer and educator, School of Visual Arts
Type Specimens: A Visual History of Typesetting and PrintingType Specimens: A Visual History of Typesetting and Printing Type Specimens introduces readers to the history of typography and printing through a chronological visual tour of the books, posters, and ephemera designed to sell fonts to printers, publishers, and eventually graphic designers. This richly illustrated book guides design educators, advanced design students, design practitioners, and type aficionados through four centuries of visual and trade history, equipping them to contextualize the aesthetics and production of type in a way that is practical, engaging, and relevant to their practice. Fully illustrated throughout with 200 color images of type specimens and related ephemera, the book illuminates the broader history of typography and printing, showing how letterforms and their technologies have evolved over time, inspiring and guiding designers of today.