Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Current Awareness for Faculty

How to use EBSCO, Gale, ProQuest and Google tools to receive journal, author and/or news alerts on topics of your choice.

ProQuest Databases

How to create search alerts for your favorite journals, navigate a journal page and see title lists for our ProQuest databases.

ProQuest Title List

Most ProQuest databases are a subset of the collections below. 

Create a Search Alert

To create a search alert in ProQuest:

  1. Perform your search
  2. Select Save search/alert below the search box and choose:
    • Save search to save the search to your ProQuest account to re-run when you choose.
    • Create alert to create and schedule alerts to deliver new documents matching your search as they become available in ProQuest.
    • Create RSS feed to create an RSS feed to be viewed in an aggregated reader like Feedly. It should be noted that the ProQuest RSS feed doe snot list each item separately like most feeds but merely gives you the option of clicking on a link to see results.

Create a Journal Alert

  1. Locate the desired publication using Publication search.
  1. From the Publication page, click Set up Alert.
  1. Select when to send the alert. Your options are:
  • When either Citation/Abstract or Full-Text is available
    Select this option to receive alerts of either new citations and abstracts, or full-text content.
  • Only when Full-Text is available
    Select this option to receive alerts only when new full-text content is available.
  1. Select when to stop sending the alerts.
    Alerts can be renewed, if desired.
  2. Enter the email address to which you'd like to send the alerts.
    Alerts cannot be sent to multiple addresses.
  3. The remaining fields are optional and include: a subject header for the email, and any comments you'd like to include in the body of your email.
  4. Select the email format either HTML (will include images if the article has them) or Text Only (no images or text formatting).
  5. Click Save.
  6. You will see a confirmation page, summarizing your information. If the information is correct, click Close. Otherwise, click Delete this Alert.

Navigate the Journal Page

  • Browse different issues of the journal by date.
  • Search within publication (all issues of the journal).
  • Share the journal with a durable link via the Copy URL tool.
  • Create a journal alert to email new articles from the journal.

Journal Page