LibGuides: Business: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Business 101 -The Art of War Project strategic superiority. Often a required read for business in college or required by an employer, The Art of War by Sun Tzu remains one of the most influential books of all time. Becky Sheetz, author and corporate trainer specializing in Sun Tzu's strategies covers core principles offering the original text plus a breakdown of the business application of that principle. Organized graphically for easy access and retention in 6 laminated pages, this guide can be used throughout your career. Suggested uses: * Students/Teachers - inexpensive reference for any business student for principles everyone should know (since your competition will be using them against you) * Personal - knowing these principles is a must and can be a strategy in itself that shows a deeper knowledge of business as it relates to people and organizations
Business Forecasting A comprehensive collection of the field's most provocative, influential new work Business Forecasting compiles some of the field's important and influential literature into a single, comprehensive reference for forecast modeling and process improvement. It is packed with provocative ideas from forecasting researchers and practitioners, on topics including accuracy metrics, benchmarking, modeling of problem data, and overcoming dysfunctional behaviors. Its coverage includes often-overlooked issues at the forefront of research, such as uncertainty, randomness, and forecastability, as well as emerging areas like data mining for forecasting. The articles present critical analysis of current practices and consideration of new ideas. With a mix of formal, rigorous pieces and brief introductory chapters, the book provides practitioners with a comprehensive examination of the current state of the business forecasting field. Forecasting performance is ultimately limited by the 'forecastability' of the data. Yet failing to recognize this, many organizations continue to squander resources pursuing unachievable levels of accuracy. This book provides a wealth of ideas for improving all aspects of the process, including the avoidance of wasted efforts that fail to improve (or even harm) forecast accuracy. Analyzes the most prominent issues in business forecasting Investigates emerging approaches and new methods of analysis Combines forecasts to improve accuracy Utilizes Forecast Value Added to identify process inefficiency The business environment is evolving, and forecasting methods must evolve alongside it. This compilation delivers an array of new tools and research that can enable more efficient processes and more accurate results. Business Forecasting provides an expert's-eye view of the field's latest developments to help you achieve your desired business outcomes.
Business Skills for Dummies Three e-Book Bundle: Body Language for Dummies, Persuasion and Influence for Dummies and Confidence for Dummies Business Skills For Dummies eBook bundle is a collection of three full length books rolled into one convenient bundle giving you the skills to be a confident and assured player in the business world and beyond! Actions really do speak louder than words. If you are puzzled by other people or want to improve the impression you give, having an insight into body language is key. Body Language For Dummies body reveals what people really mean, and how you can use your body and your expressions to make a positive impact. Many people want to gain trust or support in business and throughout life, but the true skill is doing so in a charming fashion! Whether you're convincing the boss about your much-deserved promotion or a busy restaurateur to offer a better table, Persuasion and Influence For Dummies can help improve and increase your successes. Confidence For Dummies shows you how to understand confidence, and offers practical tips and techniques to build on your skills and improve your confidence in all areas of life.
Creating a Business Plan for Dummies Everything you need to know to design a profitable business plan Whether you're starting a new business or you've been trading for a while, Creating a Business Plan For Dummies covers everything you need to know. Figure out whether your business idea is likely to work, how to identify your strategic advantage, and what you can do to gain an edge on the competition. Discover why a business plan doesn't have to be a thrity-page document that takes days to write, but can be a simple process that you do in stages as you work through your business concept. Learn how to prepare an elevator pitch, create a start-up budget, and create realistic sales projections. Discover how to predict and manage expenses, and assemble a financial forecast that enables you to calculate your break-even. Look at the risk involved in this business and experiment with different scenarios to see if you're on the right track. Explains how to create a one-page business plan in just a few hours Takes a simple step-by-step approach, focusing on budgets, financials, and everyday practicalities Offers focused guidance on managing cashflow, designing marketing plans, and establishing a long-term vision for your business Includes access to downloadable templates and worksheets, as well as helpful online audio and video components Written by Veechi Curtis, bestselling author and business consultant A good business plan is the first step to success for any new business, and getting it right can mean the difference between big profits and big trouble. Creating a Business Plan For Dummies gives you the detailed advice you need to design a great business plan that will guide your business from concept to reality.
Developing Successful Business Strategies Developing Successful Business Strategies presents effective planning of business strategies and related budgeting concepts, and those activities necessary for the successful growth of the organization. The planning process is shown to be an integral function of developing management strategies for future growth and the gaining of competitive advantage in these fast moving times. Budgeting is presented as a logical outgrowth and an essential part of the planning process, rather than an independent internal activity. This book emphasizes the principal factors that should be considered in planning and budgeting for the company, what management and operations personnel must know to better understand effective planning for the business, and what can be done to enhance the overall strategic and financial planning for the organization. Inside, you'll learn of the relationship between effective planning methods (long-term and short-term) and the budgeting and control processes. We will also explore the interaction and interdependence of strategic planning (long and short term), detail planning, budgeting, and monitoring processes, and will demonstrate how planning is an essential first step in the preparation of an effective budget for the organization.
Doing Business in Emerging Markets Like Advanced Economies and Emerging Markets, the 'flagship' book of the series, from which this book is derived Doing Business in Emerging Markets recognizes that there is intense competition among emerging markets to capture their share of the global economy. The series addresses questions that are germane to accomplishing this goal. Most important to this end is the study and practice of international business and foreign trade. Undertaking such a study raises many questions which the series will attempt to answer: Why are emerging markets and the firms doing business in them internationalizing so aggressively; and why in the past decade has the pace of internationalization accelerated so rapidly? What competitive advantages do these emerging economies enjoy in comparison to advanced economies, such as the G20, and what are the origins of those advantages? This volume is devoted to presenting the practical aspects and challenges of doing business in global emerging markets.
FinTech for Dummies Examine the depth and breadth of financial technology This comprehensive, hands-on guide is the go-to source for everything you need to confidently navigate the ever-changing scene of this booming industry. FinTech For Dummies will shed light on this rapidly changing landscape making it an invaluable source of information for anybody working in or interested in this space. This book provides insights, knowledge and guidance from industry experts Steve O'Hanlon and Susanne Chishti on the following: Gaining insight fastest growing market segment of the financial markets Learning the core decision making to effect a growth plan Securing knowledge of the fastest growing fintech companies in the world Navigating the fintech world The ingredients into building a FinTech company
Principles of Business: Accounting Accounting is an integral part of any business's day to day operations, and accurate financial information is critical for decision-making in the business world and government alike. With engaging, comprehensive entries written by experts in the field, this volume is an invaluable resource for readers seeking a clear introduction to accounting principles and applications.
Principles of Business: Economics The study of economics involves understanding and predicting the behavior of economies, markets, and economic variables. With engaging, comprehensive entries written by experts in the field, Principles of Business: Economics is an invaluable resource for those seeking an introduction to economics with a focus on its relevance to business.
Principles of Business: Finance The study of business touches virtually all aspects of modern society. Students and researchers who have a solid understanding of the fundamentals of business have an increased advantage when applying for a job, furthering their education, or looking to start a business on their own. Principles of Business: Finance offers over 100 easy-to-understand entries covering the broad field of finance.
Principles of Business: Leadership What defines a good leader? What skills are necessary? Principles of Business: Leadership provides readers with the tools to recognize effective, and ineffective, leadership, and build their skill set top develop solid leadership skills of their own. This volume gives valuable insights into teambuilding, time management, delegation, and the ever-elusive innovation. This volume includes 100 easy-to-understand entries on the subject of leadership.
Principles of Business: Management Principles of Business: Management provides students and researchers with a solid understanding of the most important aspects of management, from leadership and operations to project management and entrepreneurship. An understanding of the fundamentals of management will serve job-seekers in all industries, alongside those who want to start their own business. Principles of Business: Management offers over 100 easy-to-understand entries covering the diverse field of business management.
Principles of Business: Marketing Marketing is used by all industries--business, retail, software, manufacturing, the media--any company with a product or service to sell needs marketing support. Principles of Business: Marketing provides easy-access to the essentials of marketing--advertising, copy writing, social media, branding--are all covered here. These 100 easy-to-understand entries walk students and researchers through the process that is marketing, to give readers a better understanding of what is involved in marketing a product or service.
Starting an Online Business All-In-One for Dummies Start a successful online business'and be your own boss! Being an online entrepreneur means more than just building a website'and this book breaks down everything you need to know to be successful. Inside, you'll get plain-English explanations and easy-to-follow instruction on online business basics, legal and accounting issues, website design, Internet security, boosting sales, e-commerce, and so much more. While the ideas and concepts behind starting an online business are tried and true, the tools available to entrepreneurs change and evolve quickly'and often. Starting an Online Business All-in-One For Dummies gets you up to speed on the best new tools, resources, and communities, and shows you how to best leverage them to up your chances of success. Discover your niche and create a business plan Design your website and storefront Increase your reach and market with social media Choose the best web host for your needs If you're a budding entrepreneur with dreams of running your own online business, this book has everything you need to get started and grow your company to extraordinary heights!

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

Business : A Changing World Business: A Changing World is the fastest growing introductory business textbook on the market, and for a simple reason. Unlike most brief textbooks on the market, which are trimmed and spliced from much longer works into an approximation of an essentials edition, Ferrell/Hirt/Ferrell is written from the ground up to be brief, lean, and flexible enough to enable you to cover just the topics you want at the level of depth you want, plus it doesn't inherit out-dated examples from a hardback derivative. With market-leading teaching support and the most up to date content available, Business: A Changing World represents the best value available in the brief Introductory Business market. What sets Ferrell apart? This is an unrivaled mixture of topical depth, current content and the best teaching support around.
Carrots and Sticks Don't Work: Build a Culture of Employee Engagement with Principles of Respect Advance praise for Carrots and Sticks Don't Work: "Paul Marciano provides a wealth of prescriptive advice that absolutely makes sense. You can actually open the book to any chapter and gain ideas for immediate implementation." -- Beverly Kaye, coauthor of Love 'Em or Lose 'Em "This book should be in the hands of anyone who has to get work done through other people! It's an invaluable tool for any manager at any level." -- John L. Rice, Vice President Human Resources, Tyco International "Carrots and Sticks Don't Work provides a commonsense approach to employee engagement. Dr. Marciano provides great real-world insights, data, and practicalexamples to truly bring the RESPECT model to life." -- Renee Selman, President, Catalina Health Resources "The RESPECT model is one of the most dynamic, engaging, and thought-provoking employee engagement tools that I have seen. Dr. Marciano's work will help you providemeaningful long-term benefits for your employees, for your organization, and for yourself." -- Andy Brantley, President and CEO, College and University Professional Association for Human Resources "This book provides clear advice and instruction on how to engage your team members and inspire them to a higher level of productivity, work satisfaction, and enjoyment. I am already utilizing its techniques and finding immediate positive changes." -- Robert Roth, Director, Accounting and Reporting, Colgate Palmolive Company The title says it all: Carrots and Sticks Don't Work. Reward and recognition programs can be costly and inefficient, and they primarily reward employees who are already highly engaged and productive performers. Worse still, these programs actually decrease employee motivation because they can make individual recognition, rather than the overall success of the team, the goal. Yet many businesses turn to these measures first--unawareof a better alternative. So, when it comes to changingyour organizational culture, carrots and sticks don't work! What does work is Dr. Paul Marciano's acclaimed RESPECT model, which gives you specific, low-cost, turnkey solutions and action plans-- based on seven key drivers of employee engagement that are proven and supported by decades of research and practice--that will empower youto assess, troubleshoot, and resolve engagement issuesin the workplace: Recognition and acknowledgment of employees' contributions Empowerment via tools, resources, and information that set employees up to succeed Supportive feedback through ongoing performance coaching and mentoring Partnering to encourage and foster collaborative working relationships Expectations that set clear, challenging, and attainable performance goals Consideration that lets employees know that they are cared about Trust in your employees' abilities, skills, and judgment Carrots and Sticks Don't Work delivers the sameproven resources and techniques that have enabledtrainers, executives, managers, and owners at operations ranging from branches of the United States government to Fortune 500 corporations to twenty-person outfits to realize demonstrable gains in employee productivity andjob satisfaction. When you give a little RESPECT you get a more effective organization, with reduced turnover and absenteeism and employees at all levels who areengaged, focused, and committed to succeed as a team. In short, you get maximum ROI from your organization's most powerful resource: its people!
Fast Company's Greatest Hits : Ten Years of the Most Innovative Ideas in Business Since 1995, Fast Company has been the place to turn to for cutting-edge business ideas and profiles of amazing companies and their leaders. This hardcover collection gathers the magazine's best and most enduring articles. The perfect book for Fast Forward's hundreds of thousands of devoted fans as well as those who missed these great articles first time around.
The Four : The Hidden DNA of Amazon, Apple, Facebook, and Google NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER USA TODAY BESTSELLER Amazon, Apple, Facebook, and Google are the four most influential companies on the planet. Just about everyone thinks they know how they got there. Just about everyone is wrong.  For all that's been written about the Four over the last two decades, no one has captured their power and staggering success as insightfully as Scott Galloway. Instead of buying the myths these compa#65533;nies broadcast, Galloway asks fundamental questions. How did the Four infiltrate our lives so completely that they're almost impossible to avoid (or boycott)? Why does the stock market forgive them for sins that would destroy other firms? And as they race to become the world's first trillion-dollar company, can anyone chal#65533;lenge them? In the same irreverent style that has made him one of the world's most celebrated business professors, Galloway deconstructs the strategies of the Four that lurk beneath their shiny veneers. He shows how they manipulate the fundamental emotional needs that have driven us since our ancestors lived in caves, at a speed and scope others can't match. And he reveals how you can apply the lessons of their ascent to your own business or career. Whether you want to compete with them, do business with them, or simply live in the world they dominate, you need to understand the Four.
HBR Guide to Better Business Writing DON'T LET YOUR WRITING HOLD YOU BACK. When you're fumbling for words and pressed for time, you might be tempted to dismiss good business writing as a luxury. But it's a skill you must cultivate to succeed: You'll lose time, money, and influence if your e-mails, proposals, and other important documents fail to win people over. The HBR Guide to Better Business Writing, by writing expert Bryan A. Garner, gives you the tools you need to express your ideas clearly and persuasively so clients, colleagues, stakeholders, and partners will get behind them. This book will help you: * Push past writer's block * Grab--and keep--readers' attention * Earn credibility with tough audiences * Trim the fat from your writing * Strike the right tone * Brush up on grammar, punctuation, and usage
How to Write a Business Plan Author, teacher and financial manager Mike McKeever shows readers how to write the business plan and loan package necessary to finance a new or expanding business and make it work. He helps readers make realistic financial projections, develop effective marketing strategies and refine overall business goals.With How to Write a Business Plan, entrepreneurs learn how to: -- evaluate the profitability of a business idea -- estimate operating expenses -- prepare cash flow, profit and loss forecasts -- determine assets, liabilities and net worth -- find potential sources of financing -- think first before borrowing from friends and relatives -- present your plan to lenders and investors
The Network Imperative: How to Survive and Grow in the Age of Digital Business Models Digital networks are changing all the rules of business. New, scalable, digitally networked business models, like those of Amazon, Google, Uber, and Airbnb, are affecting growth, scale, and profit potential for companies in every industry. But this seismic shift isn't unique to digital start-ups and tech superstars. Digital transformation is affecting every business sector, and as investor capital, top talent, and customers shift toward network-centric organizations, the performance gap between early and late adopters is widening. So the question isn't whether your organization needs to change, but when and how much. The Network Imperative is a call to action for managers and executives to embrace network-based business models. The benefits are indisputable: companies that leverage digital platforms to co-create and share value with networks of employees, customers, and suppliers are fast outpacing the market. These companies, or network orchestrators, grow faster, scale with lower marginal cost, and generate the highest revenue multipliers. Supported by research that covers fifteen hundred companies, authors Barry Libert, Megan Beck, and Jerry Wind guide leaders and investors through the ten principles that all organizations can use to grow and profit regardless of their industry. They also share a five-step process for pivoting an organization toward a more scalable and profitable business model. The Network Imperative, brimming with compelling case studies and actionable advice, provides managers with what they really need: new tools and frameworks to generate unprecedented value in a rapidly changing age.
Principles of Business - Economics The study of economics involves understanding and predicting the behavior of economies, markets, and economic variables. With engaging, comprehensive entries written by experts in the field, Principles of Business: Economics is an invaluable resource for those seeking an introduction to economics with a focus on its relevance to business.
Principles of Business - Marketing Marketing is used by all industries--business, retail, software, manufacturing, the media--any company with a product or service to sell needs marketing support. Principles of Business: Marketing provides easy-access to the essentials of marketing--advertising, copy writing, social media, branding--are all covered here. These 100 easy-to-understand entries walk students and researchers through the process that is marketing, to give readers a better understanding of what is involved in marketing a product or service.
Principles of Business: Accounting Accounting is an integral part of any business's day to day operations, and accurate financial information is critical for decision-making in the business world and government alike. With engaging, comprehensive entries written by experts in the field, this volume is an invaluable resource for readers seeking a clear introduction to accounting principles and applications.
Principles of Business: Entrepreneurship Entrepreneurship is a career path that more and more students and job seekers are considering. Like Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, and Mark Zuckerburg, anyone with a great idea can change the world. Principles of Business: Entrepreneurship fills the need for helpful information on the founding principles of entrepreneurship--how to start a business, how to pitch your product, how to raise capital, how to market your product and so much more. This is information anyone looking to start a business needs to know.
Principles of Business: Finance The study of business touches virtually all aspects of modern society. Students and researchers who have a solid understanding of the fundamentals of business have an increased advantage when applying for a job, furthering their education, or looking to start a business on their own. Principles of Business: Finance offers over 100 easy-to-understand entries covering the broad field of finance.
Principles of Business: Leadership What defines a good leader? What skills are necessary? Principles of Business: Leadership provides readers with the tools to recognize effective, and ineffective, leadership, and build their skill set top develop solid leadership skills of their own. This volume gives valuable insights into teambuilding, time management, delegation, and the ever-elusive innovation. This volume includes 100 easy-to-understand entries on the subject of leadership.
Principles of Business: Management Principles of Business: Management provides students and researchers with a solid understanding of the most important aspects of management, from leadership and operations to project management and entrepreneurship. An understanding of the fundamentals of management will serve job-seekers in all industries, alongside those who want to start their own business. Principles of Business: Management offers over 100 easy-to-understand entries covering the diverse field of business management.
The Ultimate Secrets of Advertising #65533; Does advertising work? #65533; How does advertising work? #65533; How much advertising works? #65533; How can advertising be measured and made accountable? The last question effectively sums up the principal topic of this work. This accountability can only be answered by finding a way of calculating the financial return from advertising during a finite period (factoring out all other influences on the sales of a brand), and comparing this return to the cost of the investment. Based on state-of-the-art research, this work is a thorough study of advertising accountability and the comparison of investment and return. John Phillip Jones analyzes and clarifies the latest research into terms that professionals and students can use. He provides answers to the principal questions facing advertising professionals today, setting out a methodology that covers the creative process, budgets and media with the ultimate goal of the measurement of effect. This volume makes an excellent research aid that will enhance skills and assist in the study of advertising and marketing.