Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Careers in Psychology & Behavioral Health
The field of psychology encompasses research, clinical practice, and education. One of psychology's most unique and important characteristics is its coupling of science and practice. Job opportunities within the broad field of psychology are many, depending on one's level of education, with a variety of options at all levels in clinical and private settings. Job seekers will find real-world information in this volume covering: -Clinical Psychology -Cognitive Psychology -Sport Psychology -Developmental Psychology -Evolutionary Psychology -Forensic Psychology -Environmental Psychology Neuropsychology In addition to need-to-know data on the specifics of these careers, each chapter includes charts, tables, and valuable sections like "A Day in the Life of..." and Conversations with Real Professionals.
Also available in print: BF76 .C37 2019
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
This two-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; 40 landmark case studies and experiments; over 30 primary source materials; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information. More than 800 articles -- 150 of those are entirely new and 650 are updated since the last edition. Each article ranges from 25 to 1, 500 words, covering the topics researchers want to know about, including: Advertising psychology, Alzheimers disease, Autism, Deep brain stimulation, Sigmund Freud, Meditation, Posttraumatic stress disorder (PSTD), Benjamin Spock, Sports psychology, Stanford Prison experiment, Test anxiety, Unconscious motivation, and Workplace violence. In addition to that there are more than 200 photographs, charts and graphs, students will also find Key Terms and Further reading sections, as well as an expanded glossary, an updated organizations appendix and an in-depth two-level index.
Handbook of Advances in Culture and Psychology, Volume 5
With applications throughout the social sciences, culture and psychology is a rapidly growing field that has experienced a surge in publications over the last decade. From this proliferation of books, chapters, and journal articles, exciting developments have emerged in the relationship ofculture to cognitive processes, human development, psychopathology, social behavior, organizational behavior, neuroscience, language, marketing, and other topics. In recognition of this exponential growth, Advances in Culture and Psychology is the first annual series to offer state-of-the-artreviews of scholarly research in the growing field of culture and psychology.The Advances in Culture and Psychology series is:* Developing an intellectual home for culture and psychology research programs* Fostering bridges and connections among cultural scholars from across the discipline* Creating a premier outlet for culture and psychology research* Publishing articles that reflect the theoretical, methodological, and epistemological diversity in the study of culture and psychology* Enhancing the collective identity of the culture and psychology fieldComprising chapters from internationally renowned culture scholars and representing diversity in the theory and study of culture within psychology, Advances in Culture and Psychology is an ideal resource for research programs and academics throughout the psychology community.
Key Thinkers in Psychology
`For anyone that has spent years rowing off into convoluted estuaries, and would like an entertaining and useful chart to remind them of River Psychology as a whole, I thoroughly recommend this book′ - The Psychologist `This is a highly enjoyable, erudite and beautifully written manuscript. It conveys a rare depth of understanding and ability to strike at the core debates. The lively style, concentration on the biopic, use of text features such as links between names, and formal division of each sub-section will all appeal.... I have taught History of Psychology for nearly 6 years. This text will prove for more palatable to students than any of the competitors′ - Dr Steve Brown, Loughborough University `This book is well-written. It is clever, flowing and engaging. The balance between biography and contribution is excellent and makes it almost un-put-downable′ - Professor Adrian Furnham, University College London The 20th Century was rich in attempts to characterize and explain psychological phenomena and so to understand the human mind. These projects were undertaken by a huge and diverse list of characters from B F Skinner to James Gibson, from Gordon Allport to Hans Eysenck. It is important for every student of psychology, wherever they might be in the world, to understand the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is `psychology′. This book achieves this in the most accessible and engaging manner possible. Rom Harré presents a unique textbook orientation, combining the biopic with the significance of the major protagonists of the last century, organized by `schools of thought′, yet with cross-references throughout the text.
Principles of Behavioral Science
This volume discusses human action and how human behavior relates to society. Coverage will discuss two broad categories: how we process information to make decisions that help us function and survive in our social environment, and how our relationships, interactions, communication networks, and relational dynamics play out in our social system. In more than 100 essays, coverage includes: Psychology Cognitive science Behavior analysis Psychobiology Neural networks Social cognition Each entry includes an Abstract that provides a brief, concrete summary of the topic and its significance; a detailed Essay that provides extensive background on the topic and explores its significance to the field of marine science; and a list of Further Reading. This resource will be a helpful tool for students and researchers who are just beginning their study of geology and need a solid background of the key terms and elements in the field.
Also available in print: BF121 .P756 2021
Psychology & Behavioral Health
This five-volume encyclopedia covers the history of psychology as an experimental and social science, as an applied health discipline, as a profession, and as a locus for the panoply of preeminent contributors in the field. This volume discusses behaviorism, cognition, perception, cognitive behavioral psychology, psychodynamic psychology, object relations theory, family systems therapy, Gestalt therapy, the biological bases of human behavior, sexuality, personality theory, and comparative therapies of treatment. Also included are mental and behavioral health diagnoses, disorders, and syndromes, and how they are assessed. Essays also address how culture, ethnicity, and gender affect psychological theory and beliefs, treatment outcomes, and acquiring self-identity. There are chapters focused on individual assessment and evaluation instruments including their strengths and limitations.
Also available in print: BF636 .P86 2023
Psychology For Dummies®
This guide introduces the reader to the basics of human behavior and mental processes. This author explains what psychology is all about and what it tells us about why we do the things we do.
Written by well-known sociologists John D. DeLamater, Daniel J. Myers, and Jessica L. Collett, this fully revised and updated edition ofSocial Psychology is a highly accessible and engaging exploration of the question "what is it that makes us who we are?" Grounded in the latest contemporary research, the book also explains the methods in which social psychologists investigate human behavior in a social context and the theoretical perspectives that ground the discipline. With hundreds of real-world examples, figures, tables, and photographs, the text explores such topics as self, attitudes, social influence, emotions, interpersonal attraction and relationships, collective behavior, and personality. Each chapter is designed to be a self-contained unit for ease of use in any classroom, beginning with focal questions that establish the issues being discussed and ending with a summary of key points, a list of key terms and concepts, and critical thinking questions.