Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Use Literary Reference Center

Get the basics, advanced features, most studied authors, works, full text classics and how to cite.

Get Started

To get started you can do a search or select browse options such as Most Studied Authors or Full Text Classics.

Click teh image to see full size

What's In It?

QuestionLiterary Reference Center provides access to journals, reference works and work overviews, plot summaries, author interviews and thousands of full text poems and short stories. In addition, Literary Reference Center includes:

  • Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature Continuum
  • Encyclopedia of American Literature Continuum
  • Encyclopedia of British Literature Continuum
  • Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
  • The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
  • Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes)
  • The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature
  • The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story
  • Salem Critical Insights
  • All of MagillOnLiterature Plus and much more.

See the complete list of What's in LRC.

Special Features

  • Full Text Classics
  • Literary criticism
  • Work Overviews
  • Biographies
  • Collect articles in folder
  • Citation Help
  • Create RSS feeds of searches
  • Share on social networks
  • Limit to articles with references
  • Limit to articles that are peer reviewed
  • Read articles in other langauges
  • Text to speech in HTML Full Text--choose and accent and reading speed
  • Mobile site
  • Add notes to articles (must be signed into free EBSCOhost account)
  • Save searches (must be signed into free EBSCOhost account)
  • Save folders (must be signed into free EBSCOhost account)