LibGuides: Food & Nutrition: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

The A-Z Guide to Food As Medicine Reprising The 2017 American Library Association Outstanding Academic Title award-winning A-Z Guide to Food As Medicine, this new edition explores the physiological effects of more than 250 foods, food groups, nutrients, and phytochemicals in entries that include: Definition and background information such as traditional medicinal use, culinary facts, and dietary intake and deficiency information Scientific findings on the physiological effects of foods, food groups, and food constituents Bioactive dose when known, such as nutrient Dietary Reference Intakes focusing on 19-to-50-year-old individuals Safety highlights, such as nutrient Tolerable Upper Intake Levels A health professional's comprehensive nutrition handbook that includes all nutrients, nutrient functions, "good" and "excellent" sources of nutrients, nutrient assessment, and deficiency symptoms, as well as summaries of foods, food groups, and phytochemicals. New to the Second Edition: Disease- and condition-focused Index that leads readers to foods used to manage specific conditions and diseases Focus on practical recommendations for health maintenance and disease prevention, including tables, insets, and updated scientific findings on more than a dozen new foods Accompanying teaching aids and lesson plans available online at http://www.crcpress.com Features: Dictionary-style summaries of the physiological effects of foods, food groups, nutrients, and phytochemicals alphabetically listed for quick access Approximately 60 B & W images of foods; informational tables and insets that define or illustrate concepts such as drug terminologies, classes of phytochemicals, and medicinal aspects of foods and of a plant-based diet Over 1,000 scientific references from peer-reviewed sources, including The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Evidence Analysis Library, and position statements of major health organizations
Appetite and Nutritional Assessment Appetite is the desire to eat food and it exists in all higher lifeforms, and serves to regulate adequate energy intake to maintain metabolic needs. A person's nutritional assessment is an in-depth evaluation of both objective and subjective data related to the individual's food and nutrient intake, lifestyle, and medical history. The association of appetite, diet and nutrition with chronic disease such as diabetes has been well documented. This book presents a variety of topics on appetite and health. It highlights the complexity of accurately assessing dietary patterns and dietary needs. Also included is new research on the role of peptides in appetite control as well as a new approach in the thinking on why eating disorders occur.
Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology Provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology. Also includes nutrient composition data for foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.
Chemical Biology of Human Vitamins As humans evolved from primordial organisms they lost the capacity to make certain essential molecules. By their very absence in specific pathologies and diseases, the thirteen human vitamins were discovered and their crucial role in metabolism revealed. This textbook provides a thorough chemocentric view on the key small molecules of life, the human vitamins and their active coenzyme forms. Detailing how their unique chemistries control the interconversion and the flux of hundreds of central human metabolites, The Chemical Biology of Human Vitamins examines the parallel and convergent tracks of the vitamins and their coenzyme forms. Analysing the mode of action of each of the vitamins, the book will illuminate the challenges that face each cell; metabolism could not proceed without the chemical functional groups vitamins provide. Authored by leading educators, this text will serve as an ideal guide and reference point for chemists in both academia and industry, graduates and advanced undergraduate students in biochemistry, chemical biology, metabolism and metabolomics.
Clinical Nutrition for Dummies Get up to date on clinical nutrition for school, work, or your own health From the proper function of the major organs and the role that proper nutrition plays in their functioning, to a breakdown of carbs, proteins, fats, vitamins, and minerals, Clinical Nutrition For Dummies provides you with the easy-to-read guide you need to immerse yourself in the subject! Written in the fun style that the For Dummies series has become known for, the book is perfect for students in the wide variety of fields that require an in-depth understanding of clinical nutrition, or for those who want to improve their own lives through better nutrition. Dive right into the book for an exploration of the chemical and functional components of food, how to properly assess your nutritional intake, the changing face of nutrition throughout the human lifespan, and so much more! This handy resource offers a wealth of information, and specifically addresses the growing obesity and diabetes epidemics that promise to make the study of clinical nutrition more important than ever. Includes a complete breakdown of the relationship between nutrition and chronic diseases. Explores the nutritional requirements at various life stages, from pediatric through geriatric Features information on the importance of proper nutrition during pregnancy Shares tips for modifying dietary intake and health behavior theory, along with properly communicating health information Clinical Nutrition For Dummies is your complete, fun guide to the topic of nutrition--dive in today to get started on the pathway to mastering this increasingly important subject.
Dietary Fiber, Fruit and Vegetable Consumption and Health Fruits are an excellent source of essential vitamins, minerals, and dietary fiber in the human diet. They are also a rich source of secondary metabolites that are proving to play an important role in the protection against numerous chronic diseases. These substances are almost ubiquitous in plant-derived foods and inherently have more subtle effects than nutrients.
Dietary Reference Intakes : The Essential Guide to Nutrient Requirements Widely regarded as the classic reference work for the nutrition, dietetic, and allied health professions since its introduction in 1943, Recommended Dietary Allowances has been the accepted source in nutrient allowances for healthy people. Responding to the expansion of scientific knowledge about the roles of nutrients in human health, the Food and Nutrition Board of the Institute of Medicine, in partnership with Health Canada, has updated what used to be known as Recommended Dietary Allowances (RDAs) and renamed their new approach to these guidelines Dietary Reference Intakes (DRIs). Since 1998, the Institute of Medicine has issued eight exhaustive volumes of DRIs that offer
The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health, Third Edition provides clear, concise nutritional guidance about smart eating and lifestyle choices. Updated with the latest data and statistics, this A-to-Z resource is essential for learning the basics about how food choices can help maintain optimum health and beat diseases.
Gale Encyclopedia of Diet The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets 2-vol. set presents authoritative, comprehensive information on special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and effects of dietary choices on health. All entries are presented in a standardized and balanced format. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet. Articles provide information across all age groups, from infants to the elderly, without the intention of endorsement of any one diet. Such subjects as the South Beach Diet, The Zone, nutrition literacy, diabetes, and obesity are covered.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels This guide provides a unique source of information on food, nutrition, food labels, and associated legislation, organizations, and diseases and conditions. Coverage includes various topics related to nutrition and food labels.
Handbook of Clinical Nutrition and Aging This is the new and fully revised third edition of the well-received text that is the benchmark book in the field of nutrition and aging. The editors (specialists in geriatric nutrition, medical sociology, and clinical nutrition, respectively) and contributors (a panel of recognized academic nutritionists, geriatricians, clinicians, and other scientists) have added a number of new chapters and have thoroughly updated the widely acclaimed second edition. This third edition provides fresh perspectives and the latest scientific and clinical developments on the interaction of nutrition with age-associated disease and provides practical, evidence-based options to enhance this at-risk population's potential for optimal health and disease prevention. Chapters on a wide range of topics, such as the role of nutrition in physical and cognitive function, and coverage of an array of clinical conditions (obesity, diabetes, heart failure, cancer, kidney disease, osteoporosis), compliment chapters on food insecurity, anti-aging and nutritional supplements, making this third edition uniquely different from previous editions. Handbook of Clinical Nutrition and Aging, Third Edition, is a practical and comprehensive resource and an invaluable guide to nutritionists, physicians, nurses, social workers and others who provide health care for the ever-increasing aging population.
The Handy Nutrition Answer Book Your fitness, health, and well-being depend on food and proper nutrition. Yet, knowing what is in the foods we eat, understanding the differences between good and bad fat, learning which foods are good sources of vitamins, keeping up on the latest scientific discoveries, or discerning the effectiveness of different diets can be challenging. To help answer these questions there's The Handy Nutrition Answer Book. Additionally, the book scrutinises the pros, cons and effectiveness of the biggest, most popular and trendiest diets on the market today.
Healthy Ageing: The Role of Nutrition and Lifestyle Year on year, countries across the world continue to see an increase in life expectancy, largely attributed to the impact of modern medicine and disease eradication. There is now increasing evidence that environmental factors such as diet and lifestyle also have a significant role to play. However with this increase in years there often comes an unfortunate rise in chronic morbidity, with the quality of later life severely compromised by ill health. With age being the single greatest risk factor for a large proportion of common medical conditions, this latest report from the British Nutrition Foundation looks in detail at the role nutrition and physical activity can play in ensuring that the older adults of tomorrow can lead not only longer, but healthier lives. Written by a team of well known and respected experts Describes the role of diet and lifestyle in the ageing process of the major body organs and tissues including the brain, heart, gastrointestinal tract, musculoskeletal tissues, eyes, teeth and skin, as well as immune and endocrine systems Provides essential information for anyone involved in promoting health and quality of life for older people Each chapter includes a summary of the key points, as well as important recommendations to help identify long-term strategies for healthy ageing An overview of the main messages of the report are provided in a practical question and answer format suitable for lay readers Full of invaluable information on a subject which is set to increase in importance as the average age of populations rise worldwide, this book is crucial reading for students of nutrition, dietetics and food science, clinical nutritionists, public health nutritionists and policy makers. It will also provide an excellent reference for those working in the food industry and for nutritional supplement manufacturers and pharmaceutical companies.
The Human Body Digestion and Nutrition Digestion is the process of taking food and nutrients into the body and making them available for use in all of the body's processes. The digestive system breaks down food and extracts the important nutrients, eliminating the excess substances that cannot be used. These nutrients provide energy for the body to grow, function, and make repairs to itself. ""Digestion and Nutrition"" describes the path that food takes through the system, the organs involved, and how the body uses different types of nutrients, while highlighting the importance of healthy eating and the problems and diseases that can affect the digestive tract.
Nutrition: an Approach to Good Health and Disease Management This book summarizes key information required for planning and implementing a healthy diet for patients based on sound nutritional concepts. Readers will find information on the background of nutrition in disease management and nutritional regulations in the USA. The book also describes macro- and micronutrients (including minerals and vitamins) and the applications of relevant nutritional concepts to real-life situations, using well-designed simulated clinical scenarios. Additionally, factors contributing to disease as well as the link between socio-economic status, culture and nutrition are discussed. This book should serve as a useful handbook for nutritionists and health care providers and medical or pharmacology students taking courses in nutritional sciences.
Nutrition and Development : Short and Long Term Consequences for Health This Task Force report reviews the evidence that the seeds of many adult diseases are sown in utero and in infancy. The report, written by experts in the field, summarises current knowledge in this area. It illustrates how early life nutrition can bring about changes in organ development and function, thus programming risk of disease in adult life. It also considers what might be done in early life to reduce the burden of future ill health. Nutrition and Development: Short- and Long-Term Consequences for Health includes chapters on the history of this topic area, normal growth and development, and current recommendations and practice in relation to nutrition and diet in early life. Chapters exploring the possible mechanisms and pathways of critical windows for development cover the effects of diet and nutrition in early life on organ and skeletal development, the role of sex hormones in programming disease susceptibility, the establishment of gastrointestinal microbiota, and the impact of early life nutrition on cognitive and neurological development. This new report: * describes how development occurs and explores how changes in the fetal and postnatal environment, such as over- or under-nutrition, can result in permanent alterations in function; * explains how diet and nutrition in early life can affect risk of adult disease, with specific chapters on allergic disease and asthma, bone health, cancer, cardiovascular disease, cognitive function, diabetes and obesity; * includes a summary of the key points, as well as recommendations in each chapter to help fill the gaps in our knowled≥ * provides an overview of the main messages in a practical question and answer format suitable for lay readers. Nutrition and Development is an important information resource for those involved in research and teaching in the health sciences sector and is also of value to those involved in making decisions about health policy. It will be of interest to a broad range of health professionals, the food industry and those who write and broadcast about the effects of food on health.
Nutrition at a Glance Nutrition at a Glance introduces key nutrition facts, such as the role of key nutrients in maintaining health, and addresses the concepts of nutrient metabolism, nutritional intake and what makes an adequate diet. It covers food safety, allergy and intolerance, GM foods, diet-related diseases and nutrigenomics. Nutrition at a Glance: * Is superbly illustrated, with full colour illustrations throughout * Includes nutrition 'hot topics' such as gene-nutrient interactions and dietary supplements * Has strong international appeal, with different dietary requirements provided for many countries * Is a reference text suitable for post-docs and junior scientists, including those working in public health and dietetics * Includes a companion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/nutrition featuring interactive multiple choice questions, abbreviations, a glossary, references and further reading, and Appendix B 1: Global dietary guidelines and Dietary Reference Intakes
Nutrition for Sport and Exercise Food and drink choices before, during and after training and competition have a direct impact on health, body mass and composition, nutrient availability and recovery time, and an optimal diet can significantly improve exercise performance. Nutrition for Sport and Exercise outlines the fundamental principles of nutrition in relation to sport and exercise and then applies these principles through practical tools such as food and nutrient lists, recipes and menu options.
Saturated Fats: Metabolism, Disease Risks and Public Awareness This new book presents current research in the study of the metabolism, disease risks and public awareness of saturated fats. Topics discussed include the epidemiological evidence and dietary intervention studies regarding the relationship of fats, carbohydrates and risk of coronary heart disease; the modulation of dietary conjugated linoleic acid (CLA) effects by saturated fats; effects of short and long-term saturated fat-enriched diet on the ceramide and neutral lipids accumulation in the insulin responsive tissues of rats and fatty acids and immune system functions.
The Science of Nutrition From a young age we have been told to take our vitamins, eat our fruits and vegetables, and limit sugar and fat. Readers examine what makes certain foods better nutritionally than others and how various foods affect the human body, including the role they can play in disease and illness. Tables in the appendix provide quick reference on vitamins and common food-related illnesses.
The Vitamins The fourth edition of this bestselling text will again provide the latest coverage of the biochemistry and physiology of vitamins and vitamin-like substances. Extensively revised and expanded on the basis of recent research findings with enlarged coverage of health effects of vitamin-like factors, it is ideally suited for students and an important reference for anyone interested in nutrition, food science, animal science or endocrinology. It contains a cohesive and well-organized presentation of each of the vitamins, as well as the history of their discoveries and current information about their roles in nutrition and health.- Selected for inclusion in Doody's Core Titles 2013, an essential collection development tool for health sciences libraries- Includes approximately 30% new material- Substantial updates have been made to chapters on vitamins A, C, E, K, folate, and the quasi-vitamins- Provides checklists of systems affected by vitamin deficiencies and food sources of vitamins- Key concepts, learning objectives, vocabulary,case studies, study questions and additional reading lists are included making this ideally suited for students- Thoroughly updated with important recent research results, including citations to key reports, many added tables and several new figures- Addition of Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (HANES III) data- Updated Dietary Reference Values

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

An Apple a Day : The Myths, Misconceptions, and Truths About the Foods We Eat Eat salmon. It's full of good omega-3 fats. Don't eat salmon. It's full of PCBs and mercury. Eat more veggies. They're full of good antioxidants. Don't eat more veggies. The pesticides will give you cancer. Forget your dinner jacket and put on your lab coat: you have to be a nutritional scientist these days before you sit down to eat--which is why we need Dr. Joe Schwarcz, the expert in connecting chemistry to everyday life. In An Apple a Day, he's taken his thorough knowledge of food chemistry, applied it to today's top food fears, trends, and questions, and leavened it with his trademark lighthearted approach. The result is both an entertaining revelation of the miracles of science happening in our bodies every time we bite into a morsel of food, and a telling exploration of the myths, claims, and misconceptions surrounding our obsession with diets, nutrition, and weight.
Can Diets Be Harmful? These books provide a range of opinions on a social issue; each volume focuses on a specific issue and offers a variety of perspectives, e.g., eyewitness accounts, governmental views, scientific analysis, newspaper accounts, to illuminate the issue. Enhancing critical thinking skills, each At Issue volume is an excellent research tool to help readers understand current social issues and prepare reports.
Foundations and Clinical Applications of Nutrition : A Nursing Approach Foundations and Clinical Applications of Nutrition: A Nursing Approach emphasizes the role of nutrition in health promotion, primary prevention, and clinical disease states, with an in-depth analysis of the USDA's Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2005 and My Pyramid Food Guidance System. The dynamic author team utilizes a conversational writing style and a variety of learning features to apply information to the clinical setting. The Nursing Approach case studies in each chapter reinforce the nursing process as it relates to the content area. Applying Content Knowledge and Critical Thinking/Clinical Applications case studies reinforce and apply nutrition principles to real-world situations. Cultural Considerations boxes discuss various eating patterns related to ethnicity and religion to provide a global approach to nutrition. Health Debate and Social Issue boxes introduce timely topics and help separate popular media claims from academic research. Teaching Tool boxes provide tips and guidance to apply when educating patients.
Gastro Obscura: a food adventurer's guide We've been stuck at home for long enough! It's time to get out and taste the world again. From those ever-curious, ever-quirky minds behind the #1 New York Times bestselling Atlas Obscura,with over 800,00 copies in print, comes an unputdownable guide that marries our endless appetite for travel with our insatiable interest in food. Continent by continent, country by country, Gastro Obscura takes up the mantle of Atlas Obscurato radically expand our sense of wonder about the world - in this case, what humans eat and drink, which turns out to be far more marvellous than we could ever imagine. Created by the founders of AtlasObscura.com, GastroObscura.com delivers fresh food stories daily to the millions of Atlas Obscura readers and Facebook fans, along with its own burgeoning dedicated email newsletter that is currently reaching over 192,000. And it is now serving up the best of it in a lavishly illustrated food-lover's gift of nearly 500 dishes, ingredients, traditions, and experiences. Discover English bog butter. 'Threads of God' pasta (only three women know how to make it). The best black bean fritter restaurant in Brazil. The world's largest floating restaurant. A croissant museum in Poland. Focusing as much on food's place in our lives as well as our bellies, the book covers history - the network of ancient Roman fish sauce factories. Culture - picture four million women gathering to make rice pudding. Travel - scale China's Mount Hua to reach a sacred tea house. Festivals - chase a wheel of double Gloucester at Britain's annual Cooper's Hill cheese rolling competition. And such truly surprising delicacies as sturgeon spinal cord, blood tofu, stinkbug tacos, and more.    
Nutrition and Diet Therapy This introductory normal and clinical nutrition text is perfect for those seeking a broad, introduction to nutrition concepts presents nutrition at a basic, applied level, with little detailed physiology or biochemistry. NEW TO THE EDITION: In The News segments connect current events and headlines with nutrition & diet therapy concepts. Fully updated to the most recent dietary standards. Significant revisions to the management of diabetes to reflect new standards and treatments.
Rapid Reference for Nurses - Nutrition Fits into the palm of your hand! Portable and concise, this quick reference equips nursing students and health professionals with the facts and figures they need for clinical experiences. Rapid Reference for Nurses: Nutrition allows students and professionals to answer the patient's questions concerning their specific nutritional needs and make good decisions about foods a patient may or may not consume.
Superfoods : The Healthiest Foods on The Planet A consumer guide to the top 200 super-healthy foods and their high nutritional value. Superfoods is a comprehensive reference to the world's healthiest foods. It cuts through the marketing hype and contradictory reporting in the mainstream media to expose the truth. Registered dietician Tonia Reinhard gives expert advice on the very best high-powered, super-healthy foods and how to get the most out of them. Superfoods is organized by food type and covers: Fruits and berries Vegetables Legumes, nuts and oils Grains Cereals Herbs and spices Meat and dairy products Beverages Confections Each entry details a food's nutritional content and value, seasonal variances and varietal information. Reinhard provides essential tips on how to maximize each food's beneficial effects as well as culinary tips. She also suggests food combinations that enhance the benefits. Is soy really a miracle food? What is the best source of omega-3? Is the pomegranate craze supported by fact or is it just savvy marketing? This book answers these and hundreds of other important questions about the foods we eat, providing expert guidance on the best choices. With Superfoods, readers will get the most nutritional bang for their buck.