LibGuides: Microbiology: Books & eBooks

eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

A Concise Manual of Pathogenic Microbiology A quick, concise reference to pathogenic microorganisms and the diseases they cause, this book is divided into specific groups of pathogenic microorganisms including bacteria, protozoa, fungi, viruses, and prions. It lists important pathogenic taxa in each group, covering their natural habitats, the diseases they cause, microbiological highlights, laboratory diagnosis, and measures of prevention and control, including availability of vaccines and effective therapeutic agents. All healthcare professionals and public health workers will benefit from having this reliable source of information at their fingertips.
Dictionary of Microbiology & Molecular Biology Covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology.
Essential Microbiology Essential Microbiology 2nd Edition is a fully revised comprehensive introductory text aimed at students taking a first course in the subject. It provides an ideal entry into the world of microorganisms, considering all aspects of their biology (structure, metabolism, genetics), and illustrates the remarkable diversity of microbial life by devoting a chapter to each of the main taxonomic groupings. The second part of the book introduces the reader to aspects of applied microbiology, exploring the involvement of microorganisms in areas as diverse as food and drink production, genetic engineering, global recycling systems and infectious disease.
Human Microbiota : How Microbial Communities Affect Health and Disease The Human Microbiota offers a comprehensive review of all human-associated microbial niches in a single volume, focusing on what modern tools in molecular microbiology are revealing about human microbiota, and how specific microbial communities can be associated with either beneficial effects or diseases. An excellent resource for microbiologists, physicians, infectious disease specialists, and others in the field, the book describes the latest research findings and evaluates the most innovative research approaches and technologies. Perspectives from pioneers in human microbial ecology are provided throughout.
Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology A comprehensive and authoritative text that discusses the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness, with important correlations in moleulcar mechanisms, chemotherapy, and prevention.
Medical Microbiology Instant Notes in Medical Microbiology covers medical microbiology from the molecular biology of infectious agents right through to the clinical management of the infected patient, including disease pathogenesis, diagnosis, and the use of antimicrobial therapy.The first section covers how micro-organisms spread and cause disease in humans, and how the human body responds to infection in general.
Microbes : Concepts and Applications An accessible introduction to the world of microbes—from basic microbe biology through industrial applications Microbes affect our lives in a variety of ways—playing an important role in our health, food, agriculture, and environment. While some microbes are beneficial, others are pathogenic or opportunistic. Microbes: Concepts and Applications describes basic microbe biology and identification and shows not only how they operate in the subfields of medicine, biotechnology, environmental science, bioengineering, agriculture, and food science, but how they can be harnessed as a resource. It provides readers with a solid grasp of etiologic agents, pathogenic processes, epidemiology, and the role of microbes as therapeutic agents. Placing a major emphasis on omics technology, the book covers recent developments in the arena of microbes and discusses their role in industry and agriculture, as well as in related fields such as immunology, cell biology, and molecular biology. I
Microbiology The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve exam scores. This series helps you to learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. Case Files: Microbiology: Second Edition presents 50+ clinical cases with open-ended questions which weave basic science concepts into the clinical scenario. Each case includes an extended discussion (including definitions and a pathophysiology discussion), key points, and 3-5 USMLE-style comprehension questions. The authors are experienced teachers from the University of Texas-Houston Medical School in Houston, Texas and Loma Linda University School of Medicine in Loma Linda, California.
Molecular Microbial Technology Microoganisms are distributed across every ecosystem, and microbial transformations are fundamental to the operation of the biosphere. Microbial ecology is the study of this interaction between microorganisms and their environment, and arguably represents one of the most important areas of biological research. Yet for many years our study of microbial flora was severely limited: the primary method of culturing microorganisms on media allowed us to study only between 0.1 and 10% of the total microbial flora in any given environment.

Featured Print Books

Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.

Allies and Enemies : How the World Depends on Bacteria Bacteria are invisible, mysterious, deadly, self-sufficient and absolutely essential for all life, including "yours." No other living things combine their elegant simplicity with their incredibly complex role: Bacteria keep us alive, supply our food, and regulate our biosphere. We can t live a day without them, and no chemical, antibiotic, or irradiation has ever successfully eradicated them. They re our partners, like it or not--even though some of them will happily kill us. "Allies and Enemies" tells the story of this amazing, intimate partnership. Authored by Anne Maczulak, a microbiologist who s hunted and worked with an extraordinary array of bacteria, this book offers a powerful new perspective on Earth s oldest creatures. You ll discover how bacteria work, how they evolve, their surprising contributions and uses, the roles they ve played in human history, and why you can't survive without them. No form of life is more important, and in Maczulak s hands, none is more fascinating. Outlasted, outnumbered, outsmarted "They ve been here four billion years"--"and they even outnumber you "in your own body How bacteria keep you alive " and how to keep them from killing you" Humans Defeat Germs "But not for long " The Invisible Universe "The stunning hidden relationships between bacteria and the rest of nature" "
A Field Guide to Bacteria Bacteria are an integral aspect of every habitat in which they occur and affect the lives of humans, other animals, and plants in many ways. Too often, we equate bacterium with pathogen and think of bacteria as things to avoid. In a guide for naturalists, students, teachers and tourists alike, Betsey Dexter Dyer lets the reader know that it is possible to observe bacteria with all the senses. Many groups of bacteria can be easily identified in the field (or in the refrigerator) without a microscope.
The Human Genome : A User's Guide Significant advances in our knowledge of genetics were made during the twentieth century but in the most recent decades, genetic research has dramatically increased its impact throughout society. Genetic issues are now playing a large role in health and public policy, and new knowledge in this field will continue to have significant implications for individuals and society. Written for the non-majors human genetics course, Human Genetics, 3E will increase the genetics knowledge of students who are learning about human genetics for the first time. This thorough revision of the best-selling Human Genome,2E includes entirely new chapters on forensics, stem cell biology, bioinformatics, and societal/ethical issues associated with the field. New special features boxes make connections between human genetics and human health and disease. Carefully crafted pedagogy includes chapter-opening case studies that set the stage for each chapter; concept statements interspersed throughout the chapter that keep first-time students focused on key concepts; and end-of-chapter questions and critical thinking activities. This new edition will contribute to creating a genetically literate student population that understands basic biological research, understands elements of the personal and health implications of genetics, and participates effectively in public policy issues involving genetic information . Includes topical material on forensics, disease studies, and the human genome project to engage non-specialist students Full, 4-color illustration program enhances and reinforces key concepts and themes Uniform organization of chapters includes interest boxes that focus on human health and disease, chapter-opening case studies, and concept statements to engage non-specialist readers
The Machinery of Life Imagine that we had some way to look directly at the molecules in a living organism. An x-ray microscope would do the trick, or since we're dreaming, perhaps an Asimov-style nanosubmarine (unfortunately, neither is currently feasible). Think of the wonders we could witness firsthand: antibodies attacking a virus, electrical signals racing down nerve fibers, proteins building new strands of DNA. But the nanoscale world of molecules is separated from our everyday world of experience by a daunting million-fold difference in size, so the world of molecules is completely invisible. I created the illustrations in this book to help bridge this gulf and allow us to see the molecular structure of cells, if not directly, then in an artistic rendition. I have included two types of illustrations with this goal in mind: watercolor paintings which magnify a small portion of a living cell by one million times, showing the arrangement of molecules inside, and comput- generated pictures, which show the atomic details of individual molecules.
Microbiology Now in full color, Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Microbiology, Second Edition enables rapid review and assimilation of large amounts of complex information about medical microbiology. The book has the hallmark features for which Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews volumes are so popular: an outline format, 450 full-color illustrations, end-of-chapter summaries, review questions, plus an entire section of clinical case studies with full-color illustrations. This edition's medical/clinical focus has been sharpened to provide a high-yield review. Five additional case studies have been included, bringing the total to nineteen. Review questions have been reformatted to comply with USMLE Step 1 style, with clinical vignettes.
Microbiology for the Health Sciences Microbiology for the Health Sciences is the market's leading textbook for microbiology for allied health students. It is the ideal source for health professions and nursing students who need to learn the basic microbiological concepts involved in the care of patients and protection against infectious diseases. The Seventh Edition is fully updated with the latest research, techniques, and philosophies of microbiology in the health sciences today. There are free online instructor and student resources on the book’s companion Website. For more information, visit http://connection.LWW.com/go/burton7e.
A Planet of Viruses Viruses are the smallest living things known to science, yet they hold the entire planet in their sway. We are most familiar with the viruses that give us colds or the flu, but viruses also cause a vast range of other diseases, including one disorder that makes people sprout branch-like growths as if they were trees. Viruses have been a part of our lives for so long, in fact, that we are actually part virus: the human genome contains more DNA from viruses than our own genes. Meanwhile, scientists are discovering viruses everywhere they look: in the soil, in the ocean, even in caves miles underground. This fascinating book explores the hidden world of viruses--a world that we all inhabit. Here Carl Zimmer, popular science writer and author of Discover magazine's award-winning blog The Loom, presents the latest research on how viruses hold sway over our lives and our biosphere, how viruses helped give rise to the first life-forms, how viruses are producing new diseases, how we can harness viruses for our own ends, and how viruses will continue to control our fate for years to come.
Principles of Microbiology Microbiology is the study of the invisible world of microorganisms, organisms so small that microscopes and other special equipment are needed to directly observe them. They play a crucial role in maintaining the Earth's atmosphere and help decompose organic matter. Microbiology plays a role in a great variety of areas, including optimizing soil for agriculture, developing preservatives and pharmaceuticals, genetic engineering, and developing climate change models. The discovery of microbes was instrumental in controlling infectious disease outbreaks that had, for centuries, wiped out entire populations.
The Secret Life of Germs : Observations and Lessons From a Microbe Hunter They're on everything we touch, eat, and breathe in -- on every inch of skin. And despite the advances of science, germs are challenging medicine in ways that were unimaginable ten years ago. No wonder the world is up in arms -- and using antibacterial soaps. From the common cold, E. coli, and Lyme disease to encephalitis, mad cow disease, and flesh-eating bacteria, Tierno takes readers on a historical survey of the microscopic world. Rebuffing scare tactics behind recent "germ events" Tierno explains how the recycling of matter is the key to life. Yes, he'll tell you why it's a good idea to clean children's toys, why those fluffy towels may not be so clean, and why you never want to buy a second-hand mattress, but he also reveals that there is a lot we can do to prevent germ-induced suffering. You'll never look at anything the same way again.