LibGuides: Stephen King: Books & eBooks About King

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Children and Childhood in the Works of Stephen King This unique and timely collection examines childhood and the child character throughout Stephen King's works, from his early novels and short stories, through film adaptations, to his most recent publications. King's use of child characters within the framework of horror (or of horrific childhood) raises questions about adult expectations of children, childhood, the American family, child agency, and the nature of fear and terror for (or by) children. The ways in which King presents, complicates, challenges, or terrorizes children and notions of childhood provide a unique lens through which to examine American culture, including both adult and social anxieties about children and childhood across the decades of King's works.
Critical Insights: King, Stephen Stephen King has been terrorizing America ever since Carrie was published in 1974. For nearly forty years, he has fed our imaginations with a panoply of spooks and monsters, from telekinetic teenagers, vampires, and malevolent clowns to space aliens, crazed fans, haunted hotels, and our own psyches. Moreover, he is one of the country's most commercially successful writers.
Dissecting Stephen King : From the Gothic to Literary Naturalism In a thoughtful, well-informed study exploring fiction from throughout Stephen King's immense oeuvre, Heidi Strengell shows how this popular writer enriches his unique brand of horror by building on the traditions of his literary heritage. Tapping into the wellsprings of the gothic to reveal contemporary phobias, King invokes the abnormal and repressed sexuality of the vampire, the hubris of Frankenstein, the split identity of the werewolf, the domestic melodrama of the ghost tale. Drawing on myths and fairy tales, he creates characters who, like the heroic Roland the Gunslinger and the villainous Randall Flagg, may either reinforce or subvert the reader's childlike faith in society. And in the manner of the naturalist tradition, he reinforces a tension between the free will of the individual and the daunting hand of fate. Ultimately, Strengell shows how King shatters our illusions of safety and control: "King places his decent and basically good characters at the mercy of indifferent forces, survival depending on their moral strength and the responsibility they may take for their fellow men."
How to Analyze the Works of Stephen King This title explores the creative works of famous novelist Stephen King. Books analyzed include Carrie, The Green Mile, The Stand, and the Dark Tower series. Clear, comprehensive text gives background biographical information of King. "You Critique It" feature invites readers to analyze other creative works on their own. A table of contents, timeline, list of works, resources, source notes, glossary, and an index are also included. Essential Critiques is a series in Essential Library, an imprint of ABDO Publishing Company.
Literary Wonderlands : A Journey Through the Greatest Fictional Worlds Ever Created
See 5 THE COMPUTER AGE: STEPHEN KING: The Dark Tower series, 1982–2012
Revisiting Stephen King : A Critical Companion Having endured an initially frigid critcal reception, personal struggles with addiction, and a mid-life accident that nearly killed him, Stephen King continues to reign as perhaps the most popular and prolific writer in America. This new edition of the critical companion to his works includes an expanded biographical chapter, featuring King's return to writing after his accident and his groundbreaking experiments in e-publishing. A full chapter is devoted to each of his eight most recently published works of fiction, offering thorough critical treatments of * Desperation (1996) * The Green Mile (1997) * The Regulators (1996) * Dark Tower IV: Wizard and Glass (1997) * Bag of Bones (1998) * The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon (1999) * Hearts in Atlantis (1999 * Dreamcatcher (2001) Discussions of character development, thematic concerns, and issues of style and symbolism follow concise plot synopses. An alternate critical perspective is offered for each work. King achievements and placement in the horror genre are reconsidered, especially in light of his more recent forays into suspense fiction, science fiction, fantasy, and other areas of writing. The volume includes a selective list of further suggested readings includes biographical sources, general criticism, and reviews.
Stephen King in the New Millennium : Gothic Mediations on New Writing Materialities
Supernatural Literature
Covers Salem's Lot, The Shining; Pet Sematary.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

The Complete Stephen King Universe : A Guide to the Worlds of Stephen King The myriad worlds and universes King has created are, in reality, one world, one universe. Here istheguide to that universe. The Complete Stephen King Universeis the only definitive reference work that examines all of Stephen King's novels, short stories, motion pictures, miniseries, and teleplays, and deciphers the threads that exist in all of his work. This ultimate resource includes in-depth story analyses, character breakdowns, little-known facts, and startling revelations on how the plots, themes, characters, and conflicts intertwine. After discoveringThe Complete Stephen King Universe, you will never read Stephen King the same way again.
Critical insights : Stephen King Stephen King has been terrorizing America ever since Carrie was published in 1974. For nearly forty years, he has fed our imaginations with a panoply of spooks and monsters, from telekinetic teenagers, vampires, and malevolent clowns to space aliens, crazed fans, haunted hotels, and our own psyches. Moreover, he is one of the country's most commercially successful writers.
The Dark Descent : Essays Defining Stephen King's Horrorscape Surely one of America's most popular novelists, Stephen King has only recently begun to receive serious attention from scholars and literary critics. The Dark Descent assembles fifteen illuminating original essays that consider King from a variety of intellectual orientations, addressing the major novels and central thematic concerns that represent King's contributions to American letters and elevating King scholarship to a new level of critical discourse.
Hollywood's Stephen King In the first overview of Hollywood's major cinematic interpretations of Stephen King, Tony Magistrale examines the various thematic, narrative, and character interconnections that highlight the relationships among his films. Opening with a revealing interview with Stephen King, the book takes us through chapters that explore such popular films as Stand By Me,Misery,The Shining,The Green Mile, and The Shawshank Redemption among others.
Imagining the Worst : Stephen King and the Representation of Women The essays progress through various discussions of female power versus male authority, the association of female with evil, and King's monster imagery associated with the mother-figure characters. Written by various scholars and professors, these essays offer rare insight into the treatment of the female characters of Stephen King's imagination. The works of Stephen King are as popular as they are contested.
Landscape of Fear : Stephen King's American Gothic One of the very first books to take Stephen King seriously, Landscape of Fear (originally published in 1988) reveals the source of King's horror in the sociopolitical anxieties of the post-Vietnam, post-Watergate era. In this groundbreaking study, Tony Magistrale shows how King's fiction transcends the escapism typical of its genre to tap into our deepest cultural fears: "that the government we have installed through the democratic process is not only corrupt but actively pursuing our destruction, that our technologies have progressed to the point at which the individual has now become expendable, and that our fundamental social institutions-school, marriage, workplace, and the church-have, beneath their veneers of respectability, evolved into perverse manifestations of narcissism, greed, and violence."
Readings on Stephen King This anthology collects representative critical essays, reviews, and commentary from the author himself about his body of work. King's life, his development as a writer, his literary influences, and important themes and motifs in his fiction are considered from a variety of perspectives, including feminist theory, sociological criticism, and the traditions of Gothic horror.
Reading Stephen King : Issues of Censorship, Student Choice, and Popular Literature This collection of essays grew out of the "Reading Stephen King Conference" held at the University of Maine in 1996. Stephen King's books have become a lightning rod for the tensions around issues of including "mass market" popular literature in middle and high school English classes and of who chooses what students read. King's fiction is among the most popular of "pop" literature, and among the most controversial. These essays spotlight the ways in which King's work intersects with the themes of the literary canon and its construction and maintenance, censorship in public schools, and the need for adolescent readers to be able to choose books in school reading programs.
Revisiting Stephen King : A Critical Companion Having endured an initially frigid critcal reception, personal struggles with addiction, and a mid-life accident that nearly killed him, Stephen King continues to reign as perhaps the most popular and prolific writer in America. This new edition of the critical companion to his works includes an expanded biographical chapter, featuring King's return to writing after his accident and his groundbreaking experiments in e-publishing. A full chapter is devoted to each of his eight most recently published works of fiction, offering thorough critical treatments of - Desperation (1996) - The Green Mile (1997) - The Regulators (1996) - Dark Tower IV: Wizard and Glass (1997) - Bag of Bones (1998) - The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon (1999) - Hearts in Atlantis (1999 - Dreamcatcher (2001) Discussions of character development, thematic concerns, and issues of style and symbolism follow concise plot synopses. An alternate critical perspective is offered for each work. King achievements and placement in the horror genre are reconsidered, especially in light of his more recent forays into suspense fiction, science fiction, fantasy, and other areas of writing. The volume includes a selective list of further suggested readings includes biographical sources, general criticism, and reviews.
The Science of Stephen King : From Carrie to Cell, the Terrifying Truth Behind the Horror Master's Fiction The Science of Stephen King appeals to both the scientist and the longtime reader of Stephen King in me. Gresh and Weinberg use concepts from King's fiction as launching pads for in-depth explorations of concepts as diverse as ESP, pyrokinesis, time travel, artificial intelligence, quantum chemistry, alternate realities, string theory, and the possibility that we'll be visited by aliens or that we'll face a global pandemic.
Stephen King's Gothic This book explores the works of the world's best-selling horror writer through the lenses offered by contemporary literary and cultural theory. King's writing, it argues, explores many of the issues analysed by critics and philosophers, and offers ways of encountering and understanding some of our deepest fears about life and death, the past and the future.
Stephen King : America's Best-Boved Boogeyman A companion guide to the life and work of the horror writer, Steven King.
The Stephen King Companion : Forty Years of Fear From the Master of Horror The Stephen King Companion is an authoritative look at King's personal life and professional career, from Carrie toThe Bazaar of Bad Dreams. King expert George Beahm, who has published extensively about Maine's main writer, is your seasoned guide to the imaginative world of Stephen King, covering his varied and prodigious output: juvenalia, short fiction, limited edition books, bestselling novels, and film adaptations.
Stephen King Country : The Illustrated Guide to the Sites and Sights that Inspired the Modern Master of Horror What lurks inside the head of Stephen King? Discover the real-life sites and sights behind his horror classics, including the Stanley Hotel of Estes Park, Colorado (site of The Shining's eerie Overlook Hotel), King's home town of Durham, Maine (the inspiration for Salem's Lot), and more. This pictorial souvenir features more than 30 previously unseen black-and-white photographs and authoritative text by the foremost King aficionado.