Primary sources are records created at the time of an event or experience, or as told by people who were present at the event, works literature or influential works such as those listed below. Get Tips for Finding Primary Sources.
COM Library has some great collections of primary sources. Primary sources are records created at the time of an event or experience, or as told by people who were present at the event. Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding primary sources? Try Tips for Finding Primary Sources or Tips for Finding Primary Sources Open Access.
COM Library has full image periodical archives from some great sources. The top archives that have coverage for this era are linked below.
The JSTOR Understanding series is a research tool that connects primary texts with scholarly journal articles and book chapters on JSTOR that cite those texts. Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access. Want More? Try How to Use JSTOR Understanding Series.
Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
American Decades Primary Sources 1900-1999
"American Decades Primary Sources is designed as a stand-alone set and also as a companion to Thomson Gale's 10-volume "American Decades Series. Each "Primary Sources volume covers a decade in American history corresponding to an original "American Decades volume, amplifying and illuminating the decade with first-hand accounts and other primary source documentation. Each volume includes approximately 165 full-text or excerpted historical documents from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from the decade. These documents include advertisements, commercials, diaries, literary works, newspaper articles, memoirs, periodical articles, speeches and other types of primary source materials.
An American Rabbi in Korea : A Chaplain's Journey in the Forgotten War
A firsthand account of the American Jewish experience on the frontlines During the height of the Korean conflict, 1950-51, Orthodox Jewish chaplain Milton J. Rosen wrote 19 feature-length articles for Der Morgen Zhornal, a Yiddish daily in New York, documenting his wartime experiences as well as those of the servicemen under his care. Rosen was among those nearly caught in the Chinese entrapment of American and Allied forces in North Korea in late 1950, and some of his most poignant writing details the trying circumstances that faced both soldiers and civilians during that time. As chaplain, Rosen was able to offer a unique account of the American Jewish experience on the frontlines and in the United States military while also describing the impact of the American presence on Korean citizens and their culture. His interest in Korean attitudes toward Jews is also a significant theme within these articles. Stanley R. Rosen has translated his father's articles into English and provides background on Milton Rosen's military service before and after the Korean conflict. He presents an introductory overview of the war and includes helpful maps and photographs. The sum is a readable account of war and its turmoil from an astute and compassionate observer.
Defining Documents in American History: Court Cases (1803-2017)
This title covers important historical documents from the U.S. Supreme Court as well as other courts in American history. Readers will find in-depth analysis of a broad range of court cases covering critical topics. The set provides detailed, thought-provoking analysis of: Marbury v. Madison Roe v. Wade Plessy v. Ferguson Bush vs. Gore Muller v. Orgeon Each in-depth chapter guides readers with historical insight and comprehension. Written by historians and teachers, several elements explain the document's historical impact and provide thoughtful critical analysis, including a Summary Overview, Defining Moment, Author Biography, Document Analysis, and Essential Themes. Plus, an historical timeline and bibliography of important supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events covered. From the earliest decisions of the Supreme Court to the battles over civil rights to divisive events in contemporary America, this set provides thoughtful analysis of court cases allowing readers to gain a better understanding of this crucial topic in American history. An important resource for the history collections of high schools, undergraduate libraries and public libraries.
Defining Documents in American History: Dissent & Protest (1635-2017)
Dissent & Protest studies crucial documents from various protests, dissents, revolts, riots, and revolutions throughout American history, from the American Revolution to the Black Lives Matter Movement of today. This text closely studies more than eighty primary source documents to deliver a thorough examination of issues so important to Americans that they took action, exercised their rights and stood up to protest. Defining Documents in American History: Dissent & Protest provides detailed thought-provoking analysis of speeches and documents surrounding: American Revolution Native American Dissent Women's Rights Worker's Rights Abolitionism Slave Rebellions State Rights Political & War Protests Whiskey Rebellion Racism Poverty Civil Rights . Each in-depth chapter guides readers with historical insight and comprehension. Written by historians and teachers, several elements explain the document's historical impact and provide thoughtful critical analysis, including a Summary Overview, Defining Moment, Author Biography, Document Analysis, and Essential Themes. Plus, an historical timeline and bibliography of important supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events covered. The documents include highlight American's commitment to stand up and fight for the issues they believe in. This volume will be a welcome addition to the history collections of high schools, undergraduate libraries, and public libraries.
Defining Documents in American History : Environment & Conservation (1791 - 2015)
Defining Documents in American History: Environment & Conservation offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events that shaped environmental and conservation issues throughout the American history. This text closely studies more than forty primary source documents to deliver a thorough examination of environmentally related events in the U.S. from 1872 to 2015. Defining Documents in American History: Enivronment & Conservation provides detailed, thought-provoking analysis of: The Demise of the Bison on the Plains The Founding of the First National Parks The Emergence of the Modern Conservation Movement Ecological Consciousness, Earth Day, and Gaia Contemporary Environmental Battles and many, many more! An historical timeline and bibliography of important supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events and subjects in the period. An introduction for each of the major subjects covered in the title considers the significance of document analysis for students and educators. Each in-depth chapter guides readers with historical insight and comprehension. The documents included represent the diversity of ideas and contexts that defined social, political, and cultural subjects throughout this period in American history. Defining Documents consists of a collection of essays on important historical documents by a diverse range of writers on a broad range of subjects in American history. The series offers a broad range of historical documents on important authors and subjects in American history, with primary source documents, in-depth analysis, and comprehensive lesson plans that represent the diversity of ideas and contexts that define social, political and cultural subjects throughout American history. The Defining Documents series is perfect for students, those researching a particular era, or anyone interested in American History since 1492.
Defining Documents in American History: Immigration & Immigrant Communities (1650-2016)
This text explores the full history of immigration issues in America, from those early immigrants making their way through Ellis Island, to immigration issues in modern society. With in-depth analysis of a broad range of documents, researchers come away with fresh understanding and insight to study this hot button topic.
Defining Documents in American History: LGBTQ+ (1923–2017)
This history of LGBTQ+ in the United States begins in the early 1920s with the founding of the Mattachine Society, one of the first homophile organizations in the country. As gay, lesbian, and transgender individuals have continued their fight for basic rights and equal treatment under the law, various court cases and challenges to those cases have continued to refine the debate, starting with Executive order 10450, requiring security clearance for federal employees and barring those guilty of any “criminal, infamous, dishonest, immoral, or notoriously disgraceful conduct…or sexual perversion. In the twenty-first century the struggle for equality continues as cases such as Obergefell v. Hodges, which overruled the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) and legalized same sex marriage as well as blocking enforcement of President Trump’s memorandum prohibiting transgender individuals from serving in the military.
Defining Documents in American History: Native Americans (1451-2017)
This title covers important historical documents from influential figures in Native American history. Readers will find in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents, including speeches, letters, legislation, court cases, and other sources about Native Americans. The set provides detailed, thought-provoking analysis of: Iroquois Thanksgiving Address Tecumseh: Speech to Governor Willian Henry Harrison Indians of All Tribes Occupation of Alcatraz: Proclamation Andrew Jackson on Indian Removal Zitkala-Sa: Old Indian Legends Each in-depth chapter guides readers with historical insight and comprehension. Written by historians and teachers, several elements explain the document's historical impact and provide thoughtful critical analysis, including a Summary Overview, Defining Moment, Author Biography, Document Analysis, and Essential Themes. Plus, an historical timeline and bibliography of important supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events covered. From the first meetings between Native Americans and European settlers to twentieth-century events, this set provides thoughtful analysis of documents and speeches allowing readers to gain a better understanding of this crucial topic in American history. An important resource for the history collections of high schools, undergraduate libraries and public libraries.
Defining Documents in American History: Political Campaigns, Candidates, and Debates (1787-2017)
Documents and commentary that showcase the American political process. The 80 documents are organized into major categories that include: Politics and War; Politics and Social Issues; Politics and the Economy; Politics and Education; and Political Debate.
Defining Documents in American History: Postwar 1940s (1945–1950)
Defining Documents in American History: Post War 1940s This collection will introduce students and educators to a diverse range of genres, including journals, letters, speeches, government legislation, and court opinions. Documents represent the diversity of ideas and contexts that define social, political and cultural subjects throughout American history. This important resource provides students and researchers with many new ways to explore the 1940s, as the country was affected by World War II. The text provides in-depth analysis of more than forty primary documents that help shed light on this historical time. Defining Documents in American History: Post War 1940s offers in-depth critical analysis of more than 40 primary source documents important to this significant decade in American History. Articles begin by introducing readers to the historical context, followed by a description of the author's life and circumstances in which the document was written. A document analysis, written by professional writers and historians, guides readers in understanding key elements of language, rhetoric, and social and political meaning that define the significance of the author and document in American history. Defining Documents in American History: Post War 1940s provides detailed analysis of a wide array of topics, including: Occupation of Japan Foreign Policy Technology Red Scare Communism Integration Atomic Energy The Government This collection will introduce students and educators to a diverse range of genres, including journals, letters, speeches, government legislation, and court opinions. Documents represent the diversity of ideas and contexts that define social, political and cultural subjects throughout American history.
Defining Documents in American History: The 1950s (1950-1959)
This important resource provides students and researchers new insights into the 1950s in the U.S., through an in-depth analysis of forty important primary source documents and their lasting effect on American history. An historical timeline and bibliography of supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events and subjects in the period. An introduction for each of the major subjects covered in this title considers the significant of document analysis for students and educators.
Defining Documents in American History: The 1960s (1960–1969)
This important resource provides students and researchers new insights into the 1960s in the U.S., through an in-depth analysis of forty important primary source documents and their lasting effect on American history. An historical timeline and bibliography of supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events and subjects in the period. An introduction for each of the major subjects covered in this title considers the significant of document analysis for students and educators.
Defining Documents in American History: The Cold War (1945-1991)
Defining Documents in American History: The Cold War offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events related to the Cold War era, starting with Potsdam Accords in 1945 at the end of World War II and Chuchill's famous Iron Curtain speech in 1946. This two volume set closely studies more than eighty primary source documents and delivers a thorough examination of the Cold War and its effect on the U.S. from 1945 to 1991.
Defining Documents in American History: The Vietnam War (1956–1975)
Provides readers with a new, interesting way to study the impact of the Vietnam War on American history. Through in-depth analysis of important primary documents from 1956-1975, readers will gain new insight into the causes, issues and lasting effects of this pivotal time in American history.
Defining Documents in American History: Watergate
The term "Watergate" has become synonymous with political corruption, intrigue and scandal, but what were the details of the events from 1972-1974 that led to the scandal becoming so well-known and climactic that it led to the resignation of President Richard Nixon, and has reverberated throughout the years ever since? From the events leading up to the wiretapping of the Democratic Party's headquarters in 1972, to the investigative reporting of Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein and others that exposed the scandal to the general public, to Nixon's eventual resignation after the "smoking gun" audiotape revealed the depth of his involvement, the Watergate scandal dominated the American consciousness and added to a growing sense of public mistrust during the 1970s. Details of the scandal were further entrenched with the release of Woodward and Bernstein's non-fiction book All the President's Men (1974) and subsequent movie adaptation in 1976, as well as Nixon's own infamous interview with British journalist David Frost in 1977. It set the benchmark for scandals to come, with the "-gate" suffix becoming part of popular culture in relation to naming other corrupt, generally political, events. This volume explores the development of the scandal, its exposure and aftermath, and lingering effect on American politics. Documents examined include articles, committee transcripts, legislative debates, speeches, historical accounts, court cases, and more.
Defining Moments: The Cuban Missile Crisis
Provides users with a detailed and authoritative overview of the Cuban Missile Crisis, the 13-day confrontation between the United States and the Soviet Union in October 1962 that brought the world to the brink of nuclear war. Includes biographies of principal figures involved in this pivotal episode in U.S. history, primary source documents, and more.
Defining Moments: The Stonewall Riots
"Comprehensive account of the 1969 raid on a gay bar by New York City police that sparked protests and inspired the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) rights movement. Explores the atmosphere leading up to the riots, the events, and their legacy. Includes a narrative, biographies, primary sources, chronology, glossary, bibliography, and index"--
Defining Moments in American History: Jackie Robinson and the Integration of Baseball
Defining Moments: Jackie Robinson and the Integration of Baseball provides a comprehensive account of Robinsons life and career, with a detailed and authoritative overview of the events surrounding the shattering of Major League Baseballs longstanding color barrier.
Defining Moments in American History: McCarthyism and the Communist Threat
Provides a detailed account of Senator Joseph McCarthy and his anti-Communist "witch hunts" of the 1950s. Also explores the how the McCarthy era shaped the trajectory of American politics and culture for decades to come.
Defining Moments in American History: The Voting Rights Act of 1965
Provides a detailed account of the events that led to the Voting Rights Act of 1965. Explores both the racial discrimination and violence that pervaded the South and the civil rights protests that changed American voting rights. Includes a narrative overview, biographical profiles, primary source documents, and other helpful features.
Defining Moments in American History: Woodstock
Defining Moments: Woodstock provides a comprehensive account of the 1969 Woodstock Music and Art Fair, one of the seminal cultural events of the last half-century in America. The volume puts Woodstock within the larger context of the 1960's, a turbulent decade that changed American politics, culture, and music; it focuses in on the festival itself, both the preparation for the concert and the experiences of those who attended; it examines the various ways in which Woodstock has changed American popular music, both as a business and as art form; and it explores the festival's enduring symbolic significance.
Eyewitness History: The 1950s
This work describes each year of the decade with a narrative account of the most significant social, cultural and political developments; a chronology of events; and eyewitness testimonies drawn from newspapers, memoirs of private and public figures, literature and other sources.
Eyewitness History: The 1960s
This is an examination of the 1960s, one of America's most tumultous historical periods. The people of the time speak for themselvews, describing events as they saw them, they include: Richard M. Nixon, Sargent Shriver, Robert McNamara; Bill Bosby and John Lennon.
Eyewitness History: The 1970s
From the rippling aftereffects of the Vietnam War to the civil unrest between the Arabs and the Israelis in the Middle East, this volume explores a period of great uncertainty for the United States and the world. It includes critical documents, as well as capsule biographies of key figures, a bibliography, an index, and more.
MASH: An Army Surgeon in Korea
When North Korean forces invaded South Korea on June 25, 1950, Otto Apel was a surgical resident living in Cleveland, Ohio, with his wife and three young children. A year later he was chief surgeon of the 8076th Mobile Army Surgical Hospital constantly near the front lines in Korea. Immediately upon arriving in camp, Apel performed 80 hours of surgery. His feet swelled so badly that he had to cut his boots off, and he saw more surgical cases in those three and a half days than he would have in a year back in Cleveland. There were also the lighter moments. When a Korean came to stay at the 8076th, word of her beauty spread so rapidly that they needed MPs just to direct traffic. Apel also recalls a North Korean aviator, nicknamed'Bedcheck Charlie,'who would drop a phony grenade from an open-cockpit biplane, a story later filmed for the television series. He also tells of the day the tent surrounding the women's shower was'accidentally'blown off by a passing helicopter. In addition to his own story, Apel details the operating conditions, workload, and patient care at the MASH units while revealing the remarkable advances made in emergency medical care. MASH units were the first hospitals designed for operations close to the front lines, and from this particularly difficult vantage, their medical staffs were responsible for innovations in the use of antibiotics and blood plasma and in arterial repair. On film and television, MASH doctors and nurses have been portrayed as irreverent and having little patience with standard military procedures. In this powerful memoir, Apel reveals just how realistic these portrayals were.
Milestone Documents in American History: Exploring the Primary Sources That Shaped America
Contains thirty-two full-text primary source documents that helped to shape American society from 1763 to 1823 including the Proclamation of 1763, Treaty of Fort Pitt, the Bill of Rights, the Missouri Compromise, and the Monroe Doctrine.
Vietnam War: A Topical Exploration and Primary Source Collection
This detailed two-volume set considers the Vietnam War, one of America's longest and bloodiest wars, from a topical perspective, addressing the main characters and key events of the war and supplying many relevant primary source documents. * Comprehensively explains how the Vietnam War became one of the United States' longest and bloodiest wars and why it served as a society- and culture-changing event, even for the millions of Americans who were not directly involved in the conflict * Examines 14 key topics within and surrounding the Vietnam War, ranging from the First Indochina War to the aftermath of the war for both Vietnam and the United States * Includes key primary source documents, illustrations and maps, an extensive bibliography, and a detailed chronology
Where Have All the Flower Children Gone?
What happened to the Vietnam protesters and civil rights activists? Where did their idealism lead them? And what do they feel they have contributed to the nation's political debate? Answers to these and many other questions can be found in the first-hand narratives, history, and photographs of Where Have All the Flower Children Gone? Chapters examine such aspects as the origins of the student protest movement and the conservative backlash as well as the fates of draft evaders, expatriates, and conscientious objectors. Respondents explore the conflict between the various generations over Vietnam, Iraq, and other issues. What happened to the children of the 1960s, and how do they reconcile their pasts with the present? Gurvis examines little-known aspects of the 1960s such as an uprising at Colorado State and coffeehouses that helped soldiers form opinions about Vietnam. Where Have All the Flower Children Gone? puts a contemporary face on the Age of Aquarius. Gurvis interviews such officials as Senator Chuck Hagel (R-Nebraska) and such high-profile former radicals as Bernadine Dohrn. The book also provides one of the last interviews with the late Ossie Davis. The major and minor players of Kent State and Jackson State, where students and others perished at the hands of soldiers, weigh in as well as do the generations preceding and succeeding the Baby Boomers. Sandra Gurvis is a freelance writer living in Columbus, Ohio. She has written for numerous magazines and is the author of ten books, including the novel The Pipe Dreamers.
World War II Propaganda : Analyzing the Art of Persuasion During World War II
Shows in illuminating detail how the Allied and Axis forces used visual images and other propaganda material to sway public opinion during World War II. Gives the reader primary source examples of World War II propaganda, answering the need for the study of images that is necessary in today's history study. Includes a comprehensive bibliography.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
American Datelines : Major News Stories from Colonial Times to the Present
An eyewitness account of the events-war, politics, the arts, sports, human interest-that have most influenced American political and popular culture.
The American Nation : Primary Sources
The American Nation: Primary Sources resumes the narrative begun in its companion volume, The American Republic which covered the first eight decades of U.S. history, ending at the onset of the Civil War. The American Nation continues the story through America’s entrance into World War II. The American Nation makes available, in one volume, many of the most crucial documents necessary for understanding the variety of policies and viewpoints driving American public life during an important, substantive part of American history. The primary sources in The American Nation are relevant to the Civil War, Reconstruction, the rise of a national capitalist system and culture, the waves of reform-minded thought and policy that moved the nation toward formation of the national administrative and welfare states, and America’s emergence as a major power on the world stage. This period was a watershed in the history of the nation--the time of establishing and consolidating national power and laying the foundations of a national government committed to promoting the material well-being of Americans. It was an era that witnessed the development of the nation-state and the establishment of the New Deal regime, which set the stage for the radical social movements of the 1960s and beyond. For decades debates have raged concerning the nature and impact of post-Civil War Reconstruction, as well as the major popular legal and ideological movements shaping the United States during the period up to World War II. This critical era encompassed the rise of mass-market corporatism and America’s entry into world politics. Recent social history has uncovered a great deal of information regarding the daily lives of Americans during this era. Of equal importance is an in-depth study of the public documents critical for an understanding of the effects of public acts and pronouncements on Americans. This volume will allow students and readers to readily engage, without interpretation, the original historical documents that have shaped the history of American public life. Some of the primary documents include the Emancipation Proclamation, the Freedmen’s Bureau Bill, the Sherman Antitrust Act, and the Monroe Doctrine. Some of the authors featured include Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Jefferson Davis, Robert LaFollette, Eugene Debs, Jane Addams, William Graham Sumner, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and Booker T. Washington, among many others. Bruce P. Frohnen is Associate Professor of Law at Ohio Northern University College of Law. He holds a J.D. from the Emory University School of Law and a Ph.D. in Government from Cornell University.
The Autobiography of Martin Luther King, Jr
Celebrated Stanford University historian Clayborne Carson is the director and editor of the Martin Luther King Papers Project; with thousands of King's essays, notes, letters, speeches, and sermons at his disposal, Carson has organized King's writings into a posthumous autobiography.
Colder Than Hell : A Marine Rifle Company at Chosin Reservoir
Joe Owen tells it like it was in this evocative, page-turning story of a Marine rifle company in the early days of the Korean War. His powerful descriptions of close combat in the blizzard-blown mountains of the Chosin Reservoir and of the survival spirit of his Marines provide a gritty real-life view of frontline warfare.
The Eyes on the Prize : Civil Rights Reader: Documents, Speeches, and Firsthand Accounts from the Black Freedom Struggle, 1954-1990
The most comprehensive anthology of primary sources available, spanning the entire history of the American civil rights movement. A record of one of the greatest and most turbulent movements of this century, The Eyes on the Prize Civil Rights Reader is essential for anyone interested in learning how far the American civil rights movements has come and how far it has to go. Included are the Supreme Court's Brown vs Board of Education decision in its entirety; speeches by Martin Luther King, Jr., and his famous "Letter from Birmingham City Jail"; an interview with Rosa Parks; selections from Malcolm X Speaks; Black Panther Bobby Seale's Seize the Time; Ralph Abernathy's controversial And the Walls Came Tumbling Down; a piece by Herman Badillo on the infamous Attica prison uprising; addresses by Harold Washington, Jesse Jackson, Nelson Mandel, and much more. "An important volume for students and professionals who wish to grasp the basic nature of the civil rights movement and how it changed America in fundamental ways." --Aldon Morris, Northwestern University
Failure Is Not an Option : Mission Control from Mercury to Apollo 13 and Beyond
Gene Kranz was present at the creation of America's manned space program and was a key player in it for three decades. As a flight director in NASA's Mission Control, Kranz witnessed firsthand the making of history. He participated in the space program from the early days of the Mercury program to the last Apollo mission, and beyond. He endured the disastrous first years when rockets blew up and the United States seemed to fall further behind the Soviet Union in the space race. He helped to launch Alan Shepard and John Glenn, then assumed the flight director's role in the Gemini program, which he guided to fruition. With his teammates, he accepted the challenge to carry out President John F. Kennedy's commitment to land a man on the Moon before the end of the 1960s.Kranz was flight director for both Apollo 11, the mission in which Neil Armstrong fulfilled President Kennedy's pledge, and Apollo 13. He headed the Tiger Team that had to figure out how to bring the three Apollo 13 astronauts safely back to Earth. (In the filmApollo 13,Kranz was played by the actor Ed Harris, who earned an Academy Award nomination for his performance.)InFailure Is Not an Option,Gene Kranz recounts these thrilling historic events and offers new information about the famous flights. What appeared as nearly flawless missions to the Moon were, in fact, a series of hair-raising near misses. When the space technology failed, as it sometimes did, the controllers' only recourse was to rely on their skills and those of their teammates. Kranz takes us inside Mission Control and introduces us to some of the whiz kids -- still in their twenties, only a few years out of college -- who had to figure it all out as they went along, creating a great and daring enterprise. He reveals behind-the-scenes details to demonstrate the leadership, discipline, trust, and teamwork that made the space program a success.Finally, Kranz reflects on what has happened to the space program and offers his own bold suggestions about what we ought to be doing in space now.This is a fascinating firsthand account written by a veteran mission controller of one of America's greatest achievements.
On the Front Lines of the Cold War : An American Correspondent's Journal from the Chinese Civil War to the Cuban Missile Crisis and Vietnam
In the years following World War II, the United States suffered its most severe military and diplomatic reverses in Asia while Mao Zedong laid the foundation for the emergence of China as a major economic and military world power. As a correspondent for the International News Service, the Associated Press, and later for the New York Times, Seymour Topping documented on the ground the tumultuous events during the Chinese Civil War, the French Indochina War, and the American retreat from Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos. In this riveting narrative, Topping chronicles his extraordinary experiences covering the East-West struggle in Asia and Eastern Europe from 1946 into the 1980s, taking us beyond conventional historical accounts to provide a fresh, first-hand perspective on American triumphs and defeats during the Cold War era. At the close of World War II, Topping -- who had served as an infantry officer in the Pacific -- reported for the International News Service from Beijing and Mao's Yenan stronghold before joining the Associated Press in Nanking, Chiang Kai-shek's capital. He covered the Chinese Civil War for the next three years, often interviewing Nationalist and Communist commanders in combat zones. Crossing Nationalist lines, Topping was captured by Communist guerrillas and tramped for days over battlefields to reach the People's Liberation Army as it advanced on Nanking. The sole correspondent on the battlefield during the decisive Battle of the Huai-Hai, which sealed Mao's victory, Topping later scored a world-wide exclusive as the first journalist to report the fall of the capital. In 1950, Topping opened the Associated Press bureau in Saigon, becoming the first American correspondent in Vietnam. In 1951, John F. Kennedy, then a young congressman on a fact-finding visit to Saigon, sought out Topping for a briefing. Assignments in London and West Berlin followed, then Moscow and Hong Kong for the New York Times. During those years Topping reported on the Chinese intervention in the Korean conflict, Mao's Cultural Revolution and its preceding internal power struggle, the Chinese leader's monumental ideological split with Nikita Khrushchev, the French Indochina War, America's Vietnam War, and the genocides in Cambodia and Indonesia. He stood in the Kremlin with a vodka-tilting Khrushchev on the night the Cuban missile crisis ended and interviewed Fidel Castro in Havana on its aftermath. Throughout this captivating chronicle, Topping also relates the story of his marriage to Audrey Ronning, a world-renowned photojournalist and writer and daughter of the Canadian ambassador to China. As the couple traveled from post to post reporting on some of the biggest stories of the century in Asia and Eastern Europe, they raised five daughters. In an epilogue, Topping cites lessons to be learned from the Asia wars which could serve as useful guides for American policymakers in dealing with present-day conflicts in Afghanistan and Iraq. From China to Indochina, Burma to Korea and beyond, Topping did more than report the news; he became involved in international diplomacy, enabling him to gain extraordinary insights. In On the Front Lines of the Cold War, Topping shares these insights, providing an invaluable eyewitness account of some of the pivotal moments in modern history.
The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr.
More than two decades since his death, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s ideas--his call for racial equality, his faith in the ultimate triumph of justice, and his insistence on the power of nonviolent struggle to bring about a major transformation of American society--are as vital and timely as ever.
Red Diapers: Growing up in the Communist Left
Red Diapers is the first anthology of autobiographical writings by the children of American communists. These memoirs, short stories, and poems reflect the joys and perils of growing up in a subculture defined by its opposition to society's most deeply held values. 15 photos.
Red Scare: Memories of the American Inquisition : An Oral History
Spanning the years 1945-1965, the memories of those who were accused of un-American activities.
Remembering Jim Crow : African Americans Tell About Life in the Segregated South
Remembering Jim Crow, the groundbreaking sequel to Remembering Slavery, is an extraordinary opportunity to read and hear the voices of black southerners who were firsthand witnesses to one of the most heartbreaking and troubling chapters in America's history. 50 photos.
We Will Be Heard : Voices in the Struggle for Constitutional Rights Past and Present
Freedom of expression, a fundamental right in any democracy, has often been denied to Americans whose beliefs challenge the status quo. 'We Will Be Heard' features over 90 stirring portraits and first-person accounts of Americans targeted for speaking out against government policies and actions.
A White House Diary
Originally published in 1970, A White House Diary is Lady Bird Johnson's intimate, behind-the-scenes account of Lyndon Johnson's presidency from November 22, 1963, to January 20, 1969. Beginning with the tragic assassination of John F. Kennedy, Mrs. Johnson records the momentous events of her times, including the Great Society's War on Poverty, the national civil rights and social protest movements, her own activism on behalf of the environment, and the Vietnam War.
Here are more primary sources. Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Check Open Access for primary sources that anyone can access.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
