LibGuides: Healthcare Statistics: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Fast Facts: Medical Statistics Using real examples from oncology trials, but keeping it simple, this concise resource explains the basic principles of medical statistics so that you can better appraise clinical trial results. Key concepts covered in this book include: * hypothesis testing * Kaplan-Meier curves and other graphic representations of data * calculating the power of a study * the stopping rules for efficacy and futility. 'Fast Facts: Medical Statistics' is aimed at all clinicians, clinical scientists, medical writers and regulatory personnel who need a better understanding of the statistical terms and methods used in the planning of studies and the analysis of clinical trial data. If you have ever wanted to know what a type I error is, how an odds ratio is calculated or what a forest plot is really all about, then this is the book for you. Contents: * Statistical inference * Analysis of time-to-event endpoints * Power and sample size * Multiplicity * Interim analysis * Modeling * Graphical methods
Medical Statistics Medical Statistics provides the necessary statistical tools to enable researchers to undertake and understand evidence-based clinical research. It is a practical guide to conducting statistical research and interpreting statistics in the context of how the participants were recruited, how the study was designed, what types of variables were used, what effect size was found, and what the P values mean. It guides researchers through the process of selecting the correct statistics and show how to best report results for presentation and publication. Clear and concise explanations, combined with plenty of examples and tabulated explanations are based on the authors? popular medical statistics courses. The table of contents is divided into sections according to whether data are continuous or categorical in nature as this distinction is fundamental to selecting the correct statistics. Each chapter provides a clear step-by-step guide to each statistical test with practical instructions on how to generate and interpret the numbers, and present the results as scientific tables or graphs. The chapters conclude with critical appraisal guidelines to help researchers review the reporting of results from each type of statistical test. This new edition includes a new chapter on repeated measures and mixed models and a helpful glossary of terms provides an easy reference that applies to all chapters.
Medical Statistics from Scratch : An Introduction for Health Professionals Correctly understanding and using medical statistics is a key skill for all medical students and health professionals. In an informal and friendly style, Medical Statistics from Scratch provides a practical foundation for everyone whose first interest is probably not medical statistics. Keeping the level of mathematics to a minimum, it clearly illustrates statistical concepts and practice with numerous real-world examples and cases drawn from current medical literature. Medical Statistics from Scratch is an ideal learning partner for all medical students and health professionals needing an accessible introduction, or a friendly refresher, to the fundamentals of medical statistics.
Statistical Applications for Health Information Management Published in conjunction with the American Health Information Management Association#65533; (AHIMA), this title covers the basic biostatistics, descriptive statistics, and inferential statistics that are unique to health information management (HIM). Computer applications used in the real world are emphasized throughout the book, with only a minimal focus on manual applications.
Statistics Essentials for Dummies Statistics Essentials For Dummies (9781119590309) was previously published as Statistics Essentials For Dummies (9780470618394). While this version features a new Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product. Statistics Essentials For Dummies not only provides students enrolled in Statistics I with an excellent high-level overview of key concepts, but it also serves as a reference or refresher for students in upper-level statistics courses. Free of review and ramp-up material, Statistics Essentials For Dummies sticks to the point, with content focused on key course topics only. It provides discrete explanations of essential concepts taught in a typical first semester college-level statistics course, from odds and error margins to confidence intervals and conclusions. This guide is also a perfect reference for parents who need to review critical statistics concepts as they help high school students with homework assignments, as well as for adult learners headed back into the classroom who just need a refresher of the core concepts. The Essentials For Dummies Series Dummies is proud to present our new series, The Essentials For Dummies. Now students who are prepping for exams, preparing to study new material, or who just need a refresher can have a concise, easy-to-understand review guide that covers an entire course by concentrating solely on the most important concepts. From algebra and chemistry to grammar and Spanish, our expert authors focus on the skills students most need to succeed in a subject.
Statistics in Medicine Statistics in Medicine, Third Edition makes medical statistics easy to understand by students, practicing physicians, and researchers. The book begins with databases from clinical medicine and uses such data to give multiple worked-out illustrations of every method. The text opens with how to plan studies from conception to publication and what to do with your data, and follows with step-by-step instructions for biostatistical methods from the simplest levels (averages, bar charts) progressively to the more sophisticated methods now being seen in medical articles (multiple regression, noninferiority testing). Examples are given from almost every medical specialty and from dentistry, nursing, pharmacy, and health care management. A preliminary guide is given to tailor sections of the text to various lengths of biostatistical courses.
Using Predictive Analytics to Improve Healthcare Outcomes Using Predictive Analytics to Improve Healthcare Outcomes Winner of the American Journal of Nursing (AJN) Informatics Book of the Year Award 2021! Discover a comprehensive overview, from established leaders in the field, of how to use predictive analytics and other analytic methods for healthcare quality improvement. Using Predictive Analytics to Improve Healthcare Outcomes delivers a 16-step process to use predictive analytics to improve operations in the complex industry of healthcare. The book includes numerous case studies that make use of predictive analytics and other mathematical methodologies to save money and improve patient outcomes. The book is organized as a "how-to" manual, showing how to use existing theory and tools to achieve desired positive outcomes. You will learn how your organization can use predictive analytics to identify the most impactful operational interventions before changing operations. This includes: A thorough introduction to data, caring theory, Relationship-Based Care®, the Caring Behaviors Assurance System©, and healthcare operations, including how to build a measurement model and improve organizational outcomes. An exploration of analytics in action, including comprehensive case studies on patient falls, palliative care, infection reduction, reducing rates of readmission for heart failure, and more--all resulting in action plans allowing clinicians to make changes that have been proven in advance to result in positive outcomes. Discussions of how to refine quality improvement initiatives, including the use of "comfort" as a construct to illustrate the importance of solid theory and good measurement in adequate pain management. An examination of international organizations using analytics to improve operations within cultural context. Using Predictive Analytics to Improve Healthcare Outcomes is perfect for executives, researchers, and quality improvement staff at healthcare organizations, as well as educators teaching mathematics, data science, or quality improvement. Employ this valuable resource that walks you through the steps of managing and optimizing outcomes in your clinical care operations.
Visualizing Health and Healthcare Data The only data visualization book written by and for health and healthcare professionals. In health and healthcare, data and information are coming at organizations faster than they can consume and interpret it. Health providers, payers, public health departments, researchers, and health information technology groups know the ability to analyze and communicate this vast array of data in a clear and compelling manner is paramount to success.  However, they simply cannot find experienced people with the necessary qualifications. The quickest (and often the only) route to meeting this challenge is to hire smart people and train them. Visualizing Health and Healthcare Data: Creating Clear and Compelling Visualizations to "See how You're Doing" is a one-of-a-kind book for health and healthcare professionals to learn the best practices of data visualization specific to their field. It provides a high-level summary of health and healthcare data, an overview of relevant visual intelligence research, strategies and techniques to gather requirements, and how to build strong teams with the expertise required to create dashboards and reports that people love to use. Clear and detailed explanations of data visualization best practices will help you understand the how and the why. Learn how to build beautiful and useful  data products that deliver powerful insights for the end user Follow along with examples of data visualization best practices, including table and graph design for health and healthcare data Learn the difference between dashboards, reports, multidimensional exploratory displays and infographics (and why it matters) Avoid common mistakes in data visualization by learning why they do not work and better ways to display the data Written by a top leader in the field of health and healthcare data visualization, this book is an excellent resource for top management in healthcare, as well as entry-level to experienced data analysts in any health-related organization.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

Complete Idiot's Guide to Statistics Like other science/math Complete Idiot's Guides, this book is aimed at high school and college students who need to take statistics to fulfill a degree requirement and follows a standard statistics curriculum. But because statistics is a mathematical topic taught to many non-mathematical people in a manner that often overwhelms them, the presentation of the material focuses on the concepts rather than the computations. Students learn the required math involved, but the focus is on interpreting final results as opposed to the details of the technique.
Statistics DeMystified Trying to understand statistics but feeling a bit uncertain? Here's your solution. Statistics Demystifed, Second Edition helps you master this fundamental topic with ease. Written in a step-by-step format, this practical guide begins by reviewing background mathematics, probability basics, and descriptive measures. The book goes on to demonstrate statistics in action with coverage of sampling, estimation, hypotheses, prediction, regression, correlation, causation, order, and chaos. Detailed examples, concise explanations, and worked-out problems make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapter quizzes and a final exam help reinforce learning. It's a no-brainer! You'll learn about: The probability fallacy; Random sampling; Estimation; Assumptions and testing; Chaos, bounds, and randomness; Variance and standard deviation; Correlation and cause/effect relations; The use of statistics in medicine, law, math, and engineering. Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advanced student, Statistics Demystified, Second Edition helps you master this essential subject.
Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics Written for people who want to learn or brush-up on the basics of statistics but question their abilities, this book offers a step-by-step introduction to the topic. The book begins with an introduction to the language of statistics and then covers descriptive statistics and inferential statistics. Throughout, the author offers readers: - Difficulty Rating Index for each chapter′s material - Tips for doing and thinking about a statistical technique - Top tens for everything from the best ways to create a graph to the most effective techniques for data collection - Steps that break techniques down into a clear sequence of procedures - SPSS tips for executing each major statistical technique - Practice exercises at the end of each chapter, followed by worked out solutions. The book concludes with a statistical software sampler and a description of the best Internet sites for statistical information and data resources. Readers also have access to a website for downloading data that they can use to practice additional exercises from the book. Students and researchers will appreciate the book′s unhurried pace and thorough, friendly presentation.