LibGuides: Principles of Microeconomics: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Microeconomics: A Critical Companion Microeconomics: A Critical Companion offers students a clear and concise exposition of mainstream microeconomics from a heterodox perspective. Covering topics from consumer and producer theory to general equilibrium to perfect competition, it sets the emergence and evolution of microeconomics in both its historical and interdisciplinary context. From the culmination of 40 years of teaching, research and policy advice on political economy, Ben Fine critically exposes the methodological and conceptual content of dominant microeconomic models without sacrificing the technical detail required for those completing a first degree in economics or entering postgraduate study. The result is a book which is sure to establish a strong presence on undergraduate reading lists and in comparative literature on the subject.
Microeconomics for Dummies Your no-nonsense guide to microeconomics The study of microeconomics isn't for the faint of heart. Fortunately, Microeconomics For Dummies is here to help make this tough topic accessible to the masses. If you're a business or finance major looking to supplement your college-level microeconomics coursework--or a professional who wants to expand your general economics knowledge into the microeconomics area--this friendly and authoritative guide will take your comprehension of the subject from micro to macro in no time! Cutting through confusing jargon and complemented with tons of step-by-step instructions and explanations, it helps you discover how real individuals and businesses use microeconomics to analyze trends from the bottom up in order to make smart decisions. Snagging a job as an economist is fiercely competitive--and highly lucrative. Having microeconomics under your belt as you work toward completing your degree will put you head and shoulders above the competition and set you on the course for career advancement once you land a job. So what are you waiting for? Analyze small-scale market mechanisms; Determine the elasticity of products within the market systems; Decide upon an efficient way to allocate goods and services and score higher in your microeconomics class. Everything you need to make microeconomics your minion is a page away!
Models in Microeconomic Theory Models in Microeconomic Theory covers basic models in current microeconomic theory. Part I (Chapters 1-7) presents models of an economic agent, discussing abstract models of preferences, choice, and decision making under uncertainty, before turning to models of the consumer, the producer, and monopoly. Part II (Chapters 8-14) introduces the concept of equilibrium, beginning, unconventionally, with the models of the jungle and an economy with indivisible goods, and continuing with models of an exchange economy, equilibrium with rational expectations, and an economy with asymmetric information. Part III (Chapters 15-16) provides an introduction to game theory, covering strategic and extensive games and the concepts of Nash equilibrium and subgame perfect equilibrium. Part IV (Chapters 17-20) gives a taste of the topics of mechanism design, matching, the axiomatic analysis of economic systems, and social choice. The book focuses on the concepts of model and equilibrium. It states models and results precisely, and provides proofs for all results. It uses only elementary mathematics (with almost no calculus), although many of the proofs involve sustained logical arguments. It includes about 150 exercises. With its formal but accessible style, this textbook is designed for undergraduate students of microeconomics at intermediate and advanced levels. Throughout this book, the pronouns he/his are used.
A Primer on Microeconomics, Volume II Economics, far from being the dismal science, offers us valuable lessons that can be applied to our everyday experiences. At its heart, economics is the scientific study of choice and a study of economic principles allows us to achieve a more informed understanding of how we make our choices; whether these choices occur in our everyday life or in our work environment. This two-volume text represents a common sense approach to basic microeconomics. Volume two, Competition and Constraints, focuses on understanding how markets may operate; profit maximization; how real-world concerns may reduce efficiency; what corrective actions may be taken to prevent market failure and the implications of those actions. The goal is to provide a concise readable primer that extends the fundamentals of microeconomic theory to consider practical economic issues.
The Principles of Macroeconomics & Microeconomics This series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various business topics. This volume offers an overview of the primary principles of microeconomics and microeconomic theory and highlights the main strategies involved in macroeconomic policymaking.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

Economics 101: From Consumer Behavior to Competitive Markets - Everything You Need to Know About Economics So much of the world revolves around economics, so why do most texts make it so dull and difficult to learn? But learning economics doesn't have to be boring. In Economics 101, you'll see how learning economics can be engaging. Too often, textbooks turn the noteworthy details of economics into tedious discourse that would put even Joseph Stiglitz to sleep. Economics 101 cuts out the boring explanations and instead provides a hands-on lesson that keeps you engaged as you explore how societies allocate their resources for maximum benefit. From quantitative easing to marginal utility, this primer is packed with hundreds of entertaining tidbits and concepts that you won't be able to get anywhere else. You'll learn the basics on terms such as, monopolies and oligopolies, game theory, inflation, price ceilings, and so much more. Have you ever wondered about the origin of banking or how banks create money? You'll find those answers here. Whether you're looking to master the major principles of finance, or just want to learn more about why money matters, Economics 101 has all the answers--even the ones you didn't know you were looking for.
Economics for Dummies Understand the science of wealth and prosperity. Find FREE quizzes for every chapter online. Learn about good markets, bad monopolies, and inflation. Decode budget deficits and trade gains. This book gives you everything you need to understand our rapidly evolving economy--as well as the economic fundamentals that never change. What's the best way to fight poverty? How can governments spur employment and wage growth? What can be done to protect endangered species and the environment? This book explains the answers to those questions--and many more--in plain English. Get the fascinating scoop on behavioral economics. Understand the model of supply and demand. See how governments use monetary and fiscal policy to fight recessions. Discover game theory and the secrets of cooperation.
The Inner Lives of Markets: How People Shape Them--and They Shape Us America's economic revolution isn't just driven by technology. It's about markets. The past twenty-five years have witnessed a remarkable shift in how we get the stuff we want. If you've ever owned a business, rented an apartment, or shopped online, you've had a front-row seat for this revolution-in-progress. Breakthrough companies like Amazon and Uber have disrupted the old ways and made the economy work better -- all thanks to technology. At least that's how the story of the modern economy is usually told. But in this lucid, wry book, Ray Fisman and Tim Sullivan show that the revolution is bigger than tech: it is really a story about the transformation of markets. From the auction theories that power Google's ad sales algorithms to the models that online retailers use to prevent internet fraud, even the most high-tech modern businesses are empowered by theory first envisioned by economists. And we're all participants in this revolution. Every time you book a room on Airbnb, hire a car on Lyft, or click on an ad, you too are reshaping our social institutions and our lives. The Inner Lives of Markets is necessary reading for the modern world: it reveals the blueprint for how we work, live, and shop, and offers wisdom for how to do it better.
The Instant Economist: Everything You Need to Know About How the Economy Works The Only Economics Book You Will Ever Need. Economics isn't just about numbers- it's about politics, psychology, history, and so much more. We are all economists - when we work, save for the future, invest, pay taxes, and buy our groceries. Yet many of us feel lost when the subject arises. Award-winning professor Timothy Taylor tackles all the key questions and hot topics of both microeconomics and macroeconomics, including- * Why do budget deficits matter? * What exactly does the Federal Reserve do? * Does globalization take jobs away from American workers? * Why is health insurance so costly? The perfect read for fans of Freakonomics, The Undercover Economist and Naked Economics, The Instant Economist offers the knowledge and sophistication to understand the issues - so you can understand and discuss economics on a personal, national, and global level.
Microeconomics Confusing Textbooks? Missed Lectures? Tough Test Questions? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's Outlines. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you practice problems with full explanations that reinforce knowledge. Coverage of the most up-to-date developments in your course field. In-depth review of practices and applications Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time and get your best test scores!
Microeconomics: A Very Short Introduction Microeconomics - individuals' choices of where to live and work, how much to save, what to buy, and firms' decisions about location, hiring, firing, and investment - involves issues that concern us on a daily basis. But when people think about economics, they tend to place importance on the bigger picture - macroeconomics - including issues such as unemployment, inflation, and the competitiveness of nations. In this Very Short Introduction, Avinash Dixit argues that the microeconomy has a large impact on the economic world, arguably as much as the issues of macroeconomics. Dixit steers a clear path through the huge number of issues related to microeconomics, explaining what happens when things go well, as well as showing how they fail, why that happens, and what can be done about it. Using real-life examples from around the world, using the minimum of mathematics and including simple graphs, he provides insights into economics from psychology and sociology to explain economic behavior and rational choice. An ideal introduction for anyone interested in business and economics.
Microeconomics Demystified There's no easier, faster, or more practical way to learn the really tough subjects. Microeconomics Demystified features a clear and easy-to-understand presentation of the concepts and principles of microeconomics, with generous applications and examples. This self-teaching guide comes complete with key points, background information, quizzes at the end of each chapter, and even a final exam. Simple enough for beginners but challenging enough for advanced students, this is a lively and entertaining brush-up, introductory text, or classroom supplement.
Nudge: The Final Edition An updated and refreshed edition of the groundbreaking book that shows how people can be nudged toward decisions that will improve their lives. Since the original publication of Nudge more than a decade ago, the word "nudge" has entered the vocabulary of businesspeople, policymakers, engaged citizens, and consumers everywhere. The book has given rise to more than 200 "nudge units" in governments around the world and countless groups of behavioral scientists in every part of the economy. It has taught us how to use thoughtful "choice architecture"--a concept the authors invented--to help us make better decisions for ourselves, our families, and our society. Now, the authors have rewritten the book from cover to cover, making use of their experiences in and out of government over the past dozen years as well as the explosion of new research in numerous academic disciplines. It offers a wealth of new insights, for both its avowed fans and newcomers to the field, about a wide variety of issues that we face in our daily lives--COVID-19, health, personal finance, retirement savings, credit card debt, home mortgages, medical care, organ donation, climate change, and "sludge" (paperwork and other nuisances that we don't want and keep us from getting what we do want)--all while honoring one of the cardinal rules of nudging: make it fun!
Principles of Business: Economics Provides students and researchers with easy-to-understand entries on hundreds of important terms, principles and concepts allowing readers to develop a deeper understanding of the field. The study of economics involves understanding and predicting the behavior of economies, markets, and economic variables. With engaging, comprehensive entries written by experts in the field, Principles of Business: Economics is an invaluable resource for those seeking an introduction to economics with a focus on its relevance to business. This volume includes 100 accessible entries that provide readers with a solid understanding of the topic, including: The US Financial Crisis of 2007-2010; Managerial Economics; Business Cycle; Economic Growth; Principles of Macroeconomics; Evolution of Economic Thought; Globalization of Emerging Markets; Economics of Business Regulations; Market Failure; Money and Banking. Economy Principles of Business: Economics covers essential topics that will be of interest to anyone who wants to know more about what is involved in running a business, keeping accounts, or for those who are considering starting a business of their own.