Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must be on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
Core Concepts of Project Management
This book addresses project management in the context of general project management. An introductory chapter discusses project features in general. Part I of the book focuses attention on the important human element in project management. Part II discusses two processes involved in the initial project definition stage, as well as covering estimation. Part III involves planning. Part III deals with project risk and implementation. A feature of the book is an effort to tie content to that of the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK). Each chapter includes reference to how each chapter relates to the PMBOK structure, and relationship to the 2020 PMP Exam Outline.
The Culture Code : The Secrets of Highly Successful Groups
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The author of The Talent Code unlocks the secrets of highly successful groups and provides tomorrow's leaders with the tools to build a cohesive, motivated culture. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BLOOMBERG AND LIBRARY JOURNAL Where does great culture come from? How do you build and sustain it in your group, or strengthen a culture that needs fixing? In The Culture Code, Daniel Coyle goes inside some of the world's most successful organizations--including the U.S. Navy's SEAL Team Six, IDEO, and the San Antonio Spurs--and reveals what makes them tick. He demystifies the culture-building process by identifying three key skills that generate cohesion and cooperation, and explains how diverse groups learn to function with a single mind. Drawing on examples that range from Internet retailer Zappos to the comedy troupe Upright Citizens Brigade to a daring gang of jewel thieves, Coyle offers specific strategies that trigger learning, spark collaboration, build trust, and drive positive change. Coyle unearths helpful stories of failure that illustrate what not to do, troubleshoots common pitfalls, and shares advice about reforming a toxic culture. Combining leading-edge science, on-the-ground insights from world-class leaders, and practical ideas for action, The Culture Code offers a roadmap for creating an environment where innovation flourishes, problems get solved, and expectations are exceeded. Culture is not something you are--it's something you do. The Culture Code puts the power in your hands. No matter the size of your group or your goal, this book can teach you the principles of cultural chemistry that transform individuals into teams that can accomplish amazing things together. Praise for The Culture Code "I've been waiting years for someone to write this book--I've built it up in my mind into something extraordinary. But it is even better than I imagined. Daniel Coyle has produced a truly brilliant, mesmerizing read that demystifies the magic of great groups. It blows all other books on culture right out of the water."--Adam Grant, New York Times bestselling author of Option B, Originals, and Give and Take "If you want to understand how successful groups work--the signals they transmit, the language they speak, the cues that foster creativity--you won't find a more essential guide than The Culture Code."--Charles Duhigg, New York Times bestselling author of The Power of Habit and Smarter Faster Better
Dare to Lead Like a Girl : How to Survive and Thrive in the Corporate Jungle
For women AND men, this fresh look at leadership helps us all learn to connect to our more feminine leadership traits and lead like a girl! Dare to Lead Like a Girl is a holistic look at how to achieve purpose and joy at work. It is about turning the world of work into a place where empathy, intuition, passion, and resilience take their rightful place, where women can lead like women and men can tap into their more feminine leadership traits and dare to lead (more) like a girl! Dalia Feldheim was one of the marketing directors behind the 2014 global Always ad campaign "#LikeAGirl." This message touched a nerve for women and men alike becoming much more than a commercial - as it became an icon for women's empowerment. The ad was selected by Forbes as one of the 10 most influential campaigns of the decade. In the commercial, while a young girl understand the phrase 'run like a girl' to mean, run as fast as you can, somewhere along the way, doing things "like a girl" becomes an insult. The goal of the commercial was to change the meaning of words and reclaim the phrase to simply mean "be proud of who you are." With Dalia's new book it is time to reclaim that phrase once again and this time in the world of leadership. It's time to stop asking our women leaders to lead like men and instead start learning from what is working for our women leaders--and share that wisdom with everyone, men and women alike. Dare to Lead Like a Girl is a provocative call to action to all leaders to stop wearing an emotional mask at work and connect to their more feminine leadership traits - owning their passion, perseverance, people skills, and positivity. With her flare for relatable storytelling, Dalia shares her executive leadership journey of over two decades backed by theoretical underpinning from the world of psychology, business, and mindfulness to encourage leaders to connect to their more feminine super powers: be courageous, lead from their heart, and Dare to Lead (more) Like a Girl.
The Development of Managerial Skills
The series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various business topics. This volume offers intriguing insight on the development of managerial and leadership skills for business personnel. The essays are separated into several sections that describe basic mainstream leadership styles, highlight various strategies and forms of supervision, and discuss the role of management in globalized settings.
Jack Welch and the G. E. Way: Management Insights and Leadership Secrets of the Legendary CEO
Jack Welch is indisputably the most effective CEO in America today and has been for the past two decades. Robert Slater concentrates on Welch's present-day business strategies and his vision for the future in Jack Welch and the G.E. Way.
Leadership in Disruptive Times
Disruption is happening everywhere and in every aspect of our lives. It is happening at a scale and speed that is unprecedented in modern history, impacting diverse industries, from financial services to retail, media, logistics and supply chain, manufacturing, education, professional services, and life sciences. Leaders are finding it challenging to navigate the near-insurmountable challenges resulting from the impact of these disruptive events on their organizations. The right leadership is critical for organizations to thrive in a disruptive business environment. How should we define leadership in such an environment? Are the current leadership practices and competencies still relevant in the face of such disruption? What are the attributes of a "disruptive digital leader"? How can leaders set themselves up not only to survive but also to thrive in navigating the challenges of disruptive events and crises? This book provides insights into an understanding of disruptive leadership. It explores the key success factors for digital transformation of organizations in the highly disruptive, increasingly VUCA-driven era of the Fourth Industrial Revolution (also known as Industry 4.0). The book also examines the fundamental qualities of disruptive leadership that would distinguish successful leaders as they guide their organizations through the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and the digital transformation at the workplace.
Leadership Trust
This book helps leaders create a common language and understanding around issues of trust that show up in the organizational environment. It's important for leaders to be clear on how they are experiencing a situation that's causing a lack of trust before they initiate discussions on trust itself. Leaders need to be grounded in the observable actions or behaviors that are aff ecting their willingness to interact. To identify these behaviors, this book looks at interpersonal trust through factors of perceived trustworthiness, or dimensions of trust.
Management by Missions : Connecting People to Strategy Through Purpose
​A few decades ago, management thinking started to embrace the idea of purpose. The first edition of this book marked an important step in this trajectory; it drew attention to the need for managers to relate the concepts of 'purpose' and 'missions' to strategy, culture and leadership. In the years since, purpose and missions have become business imperatives - not only in terms of remaining competitive but as core in the attempts to have a sustainable impact on the world. The second edition of Management by Missions is an open access book based on substantially more research carried out over fifteen years, involving more than 200 organizations around the world. All of this research supports that the practical models and ideas offered in the book have been tried and tested and actually work in practice. With case studies, anecdote and new research findings, the authors present the main tools of the MBM method (shared missions, missions scorecards, interdependency matrix, missions-based objectives and integral assessment) and the type of leadership needed to implement it. The ideas presented in this book mark a path towards a new management methodology for the XXI century and a new way of understanding the work that managers do.
Managing Business Scenarios
This volume offers an interesting overview of managing business scenarios. It outlines the underlying themes of internal organizational management, shed light on a variety of managerial scenarios, and highlight management procedures in multinational organizations.
Managing Leadership Stress
Everyone experiences stress, and leaders face the additional stress brought about by the unique demands of leadership: having to make decisions with limited information, to manage conflict, to do more with less . . . and faster! The consequences of stress can include health problems and deteriorating relationships. Knowing what signs of stress to look for and having a strategy for increasing your resources will help you manage leadership stress and be more effective over a long career. Table of Contents The Stress of Leadership 7 Why Is Leadership Stressful? 8 Stress Assessment 13 When Stress Is Who, Not What 17 Handling Your Leadership Stress 20 Less Stress, Better Leadership 28 Suggested Readings 29 Background 29 Key Point Summary 31
Principles of Business: Leadership
What defines a good leader? What skills are necessary? Principles of Business: Leadership provides readers with the tools to recognize effective, and ineffective, leadership, and build their skill set top develop solid leadership skills of their own. This volume gives valuable insights into teambuilding, time management, delegation, and the ever-elusive innovation. This volume includes 100 easy-to-understand entries on the subject of leadership.
Principles of Business: Management
Principles of Business: Management provides students and researchers with a solid understanding of the most important aspects of management, from leadership and operations to project management and entrepreneurship. An understanding of the fundamentals of management will serve job-seekers in all industries, alongside those who want to start their own business. Principles of Business: Management offers over 100 easy-to-understand entries covering the diverse field of business management.
Strategies of Management
This volume offers an introduction to organizational and managerial strategies that can improve performance, productivity and consistency. The collection begins by looking at a number of approaches to organizational structure before reviewing the tools and strategies available to business managers seeking to streamline their operations.
Strategizing : New Thinking about Strategy, Planning, and Management
Strategy is an essential part of business, but strategizing often gets ignored or left behind. In this exciting new work, Eric J. Bolland introduces strategizing as a key component of strategy development and execution, showing strategizing as a way to aid organizations with their futures. To strategize successfully, businesses need a set of well-developed tools to help them perform specific actions continuously. Starting by tracing the origin and evolution of strategy and strategic planning, this exciting new guide puts forward advice on how to put strategy research into strategizing practice. In detailed chapters, Bolland addresses how strategizing works, with twenty real-world cases to show how theory can become reality, citing art, history, literature, science, psychology and philosophy to explore the human impulse to strategize. A valuable accompaniment for business students of strategy, as well as a practical handbook for staff and mid- and upper-level managers, this book is an essential read for anyone seeking guidance about planning the futures of their organizations.
Teach Yourself: The Ultimate Management Book
From managing and motivating people and teams to performance management and appraisals, The Ultimate Management Book is a dynamic collection of tools, techniques, and strategies for success.
Transformative Leadership in Action
In a time when the world is facing significant challenges, leaders who work for justice and equity for all people are necessary. Transformative Leadership in Action: Allyship, Advocacy, and Activism challenges the reader to do the essential self-work required of a 21st century leader, and provides the road map to developing the skills necessary to take on increasing public leadership roles to support causes related to justice and equity. Shining a light on unexplored, yet crucial, components of the discussion around the apex of leadership and social justice, Bruce and McKee first investigate the tie between social justice work and leadership competencies grounded in theory. Second, they put forward a pedagogical guide in teaching at this apex--engaging both the instructor and student(s) in unique learning journeys. Offering insight for educators, current leaders, and future leaders, this book is a crucial resource - providing go-to support for engaging in allyship, advocacy, and activism for justice and equity. If you want your learners to be leaders and not just think about leadership, this is the book you need.
Workplace Dynamics
This volume explores all aspects that contribute to a company’s workplace dynamics, including the methods used to encourage an effective and productive work environment.
Zero Distance : Management in the Quantum Age
This open access book offers a new management meta-theory to replace Taylorism. It presents a new paradigm in management thinking and a new, practical organizational model for implementing it in our personal and working lives, in our companies, in our communities and nations, and in a sustainable global order. It will offer an understanding of why and how "thinking-as-usual" is failing both business and political leaders in these new times, and it will advocate new thinking and new management practices that are so radically new that they turn everything we have taken for granted inside out and upside down. This new management model is called "Quantum Management Theory", because it is rooted in the new paradigm bequeathed to us by quantum physics and its younger sibling, complexity science.
The Student Leadership Challenge: Five Practices for Becoming an Exemplary Leader
A brand new edition of the bestselling book that helps students and young people to develop critical leadership skills The Student Leadership Challenge is based on four decades of research on what people are doing when at their personal-best as leaders. With an approach tailored specifically to young and emerging leaders, this guide introduces The Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership operating system, incorporating stories of leadership development from real students, as well as reflective and critical thinking activities at the end of each chapter. Readers will have opportunities to engage in each of The Five Practices, building leadership skills that translate to real world applications. This fourth edition has been updated with new stories about topics critical to today's youth, including climate change, social justice, mental health, and virtual learning. Included with the book is access to the online Student Leadership Practices Inventory, so readers can achieve insight into their current leadership skills. Learn The Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership, and how they help you succeed while in school and in life Get inspired by stories of students around the world who exhibit exemplary leadership Practice critical leadership behaviors and engage in thought-provoking reflections Assess your own potential with the Student Leadership Practices Inventory As a result of reading and interacting with The Student Leadership Challenge, readers will emerge with a concrete leadership framework and new skills that they can take with them, wherever the future leads.
Leadership Team Alignment: From Conflict to Collaboration
Debunking much of the received wisdom regarding the sources of leadership team dysfunctionality, Leadership Team Alignment presents a targeted strategy for building and managing a top executive team to gain competitive advantage. Frédéric Godart and Jacques Neatby bring a wealth of practical experience and in-depth knowledge, with over eight hundred hours of direct observation with more than fifty leadership teams across the globe and thousands of hours working with executives. With this book, they offer solutions to manage conflict and create environments that effectively address misalignments in organizations. Godart and Neatby take readers through the dual role of leadership team members, the challenges of power games, and the risks of siloed leaders. They give clear advice on how to improve aspects of any leadership team, based on its size and structure and the nature of the organization. While organizational challenges may be inevitable, this book provides leadership teams the tools to correctly diagnose leadership team misalignment, with evidence-based remedies and strategically oriented interventions to maximize organizational performance.
Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.
Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.
The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership : Follow Them and People Will Follow You
What would happen if a top expert with more than thirty years of leadership experience were willing to distill everything he had learned about leadership into a handful of life-changing principles just for you? It would change your life. John C. Maxwell has done exactly that in The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership. He has combined insights learned from his thirty-plus years of leadership successes and mistakes with observations from the worlds of business, politics, sports, religion, and military conflict. The result is a revealing study of leadership delivered as only a communicator like Maxwell can.
Build an A Team : Play to their Strengths and Lead Them Up the Learning Curve
What's the secret to having an engaged and productive team? It's having a plan for developing all employees--no matter where they are on their personal learning curves. Better morale and higher performance happen through learning, argues Whitney Johnson. In over twenty years of coaching, investing, and consulting, Johnson has seen that employees need continuous learning and fresh challenges to stay motivated. The best bosses know this, and they know how to make it happen by thoughtfully designing people's jobs around the skills they have today as well as the skills they'll need to be even more valuable tomorrow. That's how entire organizations stay competitive in an unpredictable, rapidly changing business environment. In this book, Johnson explains how to become one of those bosses and how to build your A-team by: Identifying what your employees already know and what they need to learn Designing their jobs to maximize engagement and learning Applying a seven-step process for leading each person up their learning curve We all want opportunities to learn, experiment, and grow in our jobs. When our bosses work with us to help us leap to new challenges, the result is a team that knows how to thrive, no matter what the future holds.
Competing in the Age of AI: strategy and leadership when algorithms and networks run the world
"a provocative new book" -- The New York Times AI-centric organizations exhibit a new operating architecture, redefining how they create, capture, share, and deliver value. Marco Iansiti and Karim R. Lakhani show how reinventing the firm around data, analytics, and AI removes traditional constraints on scale, scope, and learning that have restricted business growth for hundreds of years. From Airbnb to Ant Financial, Microsoft to Amazon, research shows how AI-driven processes are vastly more scalable than traditional processes, allow massive scope increase, enabling companies to straddle industry boundaries, and create powerful opportunities for learning--to drive ever more accurate, complex, and sophisticated predictions. When traditional operating constraints are removed, strategy becomes a whole new game, one whose rules and likely outcomes this book will make clear. Iansiti and Lakhani: Present a framework for rethinking business and operating models Explain how "collisions" between AI-driven/digital and traditional/analog firms are reshaping competition, altering the structure of our economy, and forcing traditional companies to rearchitect their operating models Explain the opportunities and risks created by digital firms Describe the new challenges and responsibilities for the leaders of both digital and traditional firms Packed with examples--including many from the most powerful and innovative global, AI-driven competitors--and based on research in hundreds of firms across many sectors, this is your essential guide for rethinking how your firm competes and operates in the era of AI.
First, Break All the Rules : What the World's Greatest Managers Do Differently
In First, Break All the Rules, Gallup presents the remarkable findings of its massive in-depth study of great managers—those who excelled at turning each employee’s talent into performance. The world’s greatest managers differ in sex, age, and race. They employ different styles and focus on different goals. Despite their differences, great managers share one trait: They break virtually every rule conventional wisdom holds sacred. They don’t believe that, with enough training, a person can achieve anything he sets his mind to. They don’t try to help people overcome their weaknesses. They disregard the golden rule. They even play favorites. Companies compete to find and keep the best employees using pay, benefits, promotions, and training. But these well-intentioned efforts often miss the mark. The front-line manager is the key to attracting and retaining talented employees. This amazing book explains how the best managers select employees for talent rather than for skills or experience, how they set expectations, how they motivate people, and how they develop people. Gallup’s research—based on 80,000 managers in 400 companies—produced twelve simple questions that distinguish the strongest departments of a company from the rest. First, Break All the Rules introduces this essential measuring stick and proves the link between employee opinions and productivity, profit, customer satisfaction, and rate of turnover.
The Five Dysfunctions of a Team : A Leadership Fable
This unusual, instructive and entertaining fable shines light on dysfunctional teams. Bestselling business author and screenwriter Lencioni weaves a fictional story of the highly capable Kathryn Petersen who has an amazing capacity for building teams. Kathryn becomes the CEO of a struggling, high-profile company with an exceptionally dysfunctional executive team.
How Toyota Became #1 : Leadership Lessons from the World's Greatest Car Company
What we can all learn from the strategies that have made Toyota the world's best car company Everyone who follows the auto industry knows that Toyota has had an amazing twenty-five-year run, rising from humble Japanese start-up to thriving global giant. But the big puzzle is how Toyota did it while so many other car companies have struggled or failed. Journalist David Magee dug deeply into Toyota's past and present, interviewing senior executives who rarely talk to the press, along with many other sources. And he found that the company's famous mastery of lean production is only part of the story. Magee explains the surprising power of Toyota's corporate culture, which includes- Focusing on the long term- While most companies worry about the next quarter, Toyota is thinking about the next quarter century Jumping beyond the current trend- When Ford was still ramping up its gas-guzzling SUVs, Toyota was very quietly taking a huge lead on hybrids Making quality everyone's responsibility- Toyota expects people at every level to think and act like quality-control inspectors Managing individual strengths- Toyota is revolutionizing the way people are managed, to maximize their strengths instead of criticizing their weaknesses The lessons that Magee explains here will be valuable for managers in all disciplines and industries.
I'd Rather Be in Charge : A Legendary Business Leader's Roadmap for Achieving Pride, Power and Joy at Work
Charlotte Beers is proof that women can achieve power, pride, and joy at work--despite the odds. In the highly competitive and often cutthroat world of advertising, Charlotte became the first female ever to head two giant, multinational advertising agencies. In serving her demanding clients, she helped build many of the most important brands around the world. Today, Charlotte rates her current title--teacher--her most satisfying, as she travels through the United States and Europe educating women on how to ignite their own strengths, in what she calls "the era of forging ahead for women." Her pioneering experiences have been captured inI'd Rather Be in Charge, creating a blueprint for women as they face their own challenges and strive to achieve the positions of leadership and influence they deserve. Told in an intimate and honest style,I'd Rather Be in Charge is part personal history, part pragmatic guide, as Charlotte describes her own experiences, lessons from her peers such as Martha Stewart and Suze Orman, as well as stories of her students' transformations. By chronicling both successes and mistakes, Charlotte proves that finding your own personal style of leadership is the only way to take charge, find satisfaction, and gain confidence in the ever-evolving workplace of today. I'd Rather Be in Charge is a breakthrough book. It is a master class for women who are ready to shatter their own glass ceilings.
The Infinite Game
From the New York Times bestselling author of Start With Why and Leaders Eat Last, a bold framework for leadership in today's ever-changing world. How do we win a game that has no end? Finite games, like football or chess, have known players, fixed rules and a clear endpoint. The winners and losers are easily identified. Infinite games, games with no finish line, like business or politics, or life itself, have players who come and go. The rules of an infinite game are changeable while infinite games have no defined endpoint. There are no winners or losers--only ahead and behind. The question is, how do we play to succeed in the game we're in? In this revelatory new book, Simon Sinek offers a framework for leading with an infinite mindset. On one hand, none of us can resist the fleeting thrills of a promotion earned or a tournament won, yet these rewards fade quickly. In pursuit of a Just Cause, we will commit to a vision of a future world so appealing that we will build it week after week, month after month, year after year. Although we do not know the exact form this world will take, working toward it gives our work and our life meaning. Leaders who embrace an infinite mindset build stronger, more innovative, more inspiring organizations. Ultimately, they are the ones who lead us into the future.
The Leader's Guide to Unconscious Bias: How To Reframe Bias, Cultivate Connection, and Create High-Performing Teams
A timely, must-have guide to understanding and overcoming bias in the workplace, from the experts at FranklinCovey. Unconscious bias affects everyone. It can look like the disappointment of an HR professional when a candidate for a new position asks about maternity leave. It can look like preferring the application of an Ivy League graduate over one from a state school. It can look like assuming a man is more entitled to speak in a meeting than his female junior colleague. Ideal for every manager who wants to understand and move past their own preconceived ideas, The Leader's Guide to Unconscious Bias explains that bias is the result of mental shortcuts, our likes and dislikes, and is a natural part of the human condition. And what we assume about each other and how we interact with one another has vast effects on our organizational success--especially in the workplace. Teaching you how to overcome unconscious bias, this book provides more than thirty unique tools, such as a prep worksheet and a list of ways to reframe your unconscious thoughts. According to the experts at FranklinCovey, your workplace can achieve its highest performance rate once you start to overcome your biases and allow your employees to be whole people. By recognizing bias, emphasizing empathy and curiosity, and making true understanding a priority in the workplace, we can unlock the potential of every person we encounter.
Leadership and the One Minute Manager: Increasing Effectiveness Through Situational Leadership
This updated edition of management guru Ken Blanchard's classic work Leadership and the One Minute Manager teaches leaders the world-renowned method of developing self-reliance in those they manage: SLII®. In Leadership and the One Minute Manager you'll learn why tailoring management styles to individual employees is so important; why knowing when to delegate, support, or direct is critical; and how to identify the leadership style suited to a particular person. By consistently using SLII®'s proven model and powerful techniques, leaders can develop and retain competent, committed employees. This remarkable, easy-to-follow book is a priceless guide to personalized leadership that elicits the best performance from your staff--and the best bottom line for any business.
The Leadership Challenge
The most trusted resource on becoming a leader is now updated and revised for a new generation. This leadership classic continues to be a bestseller after three editions and twenty years in print. It is the gold standard for research-based leadership, and the premier resource on becoming a leader. This new edition, with streamlined text, more international and business examples, and a graphic redesign, is more readable and accessible than ever before. The Leadership Challenge, Fourth Edition, has been extensively updated with the latest research and case studies, and offers inspiring new stories of real people achieving extraordinary results. The authors' central theme remains the same and is more relevant today than ever: "Leadership is Everyone?s Business." Their "five practices" and "ten commitments" have been proven by hundreds of thousands of dedicated, successful leaders. This edition, with almost one-third new material, emphasizes the global community and refocuses on business leaders.
Leadership Is Language
Wall Street Journal Bestseller From the acclaimed author of Turn the Ship Around!, former US Navy Captain David Marquet, comes a radical new playbook for empowering your team to make better decisions and take greater ownership. You might imagine that an effective leader is someone who makes quick, intelligent decisions, gives inspiring speeches, and issues clear orders to their team so they can execute a plan to achieve your organization's goals. Unfortunately, David Marquet argues, that's an outdated model of leadership that just doesn't work anymore. As a leader in today's networked, information-dense business climate, you don't have full visibility into your organization or the ground reality of your operating environment. In order to harness the eyes, ears, and minds of your people, you need to foster a climate of collaborative experimentation that encourages people to speak up when they notice problems and work together to identify and test solutions. Too many leaders fall in love with the sound of their own voice, and wind up dictating plans and digging in their heels when problems begin to emerge. Even when you want to be a more collaborative leader, you can undermine your own efforts by defaulting to command-and-control language we've inherited from the industrial era. It's time to ditch the industrial age playbook of leadership. In Leadership is Language, you'll learn how choosing your words can dramatically improve decision-making and execution on your team. Marquet outlines six plays for all leaders, anchored in how you use language: * Control the clock, don't obey the clock: Pre-plan decision points and give your people the tools they need to hit pause on a plan of action if they notice something wrong. * Collaborate, don't coerce: As the leader, you should be the last one to offer your opinion. Rather than locking your team into binary responses ("Is this a good plan?"), allow them to answer on a scale ("How confident are you about this plan?") * Commit, don't comply: Rather than expect your team to comply with specific directions, explain your overall goals, and get their commitment to achieving it one piece at a time. * Complete, not continue: If every day feels like a repetition of the last, you're doing something wrong. Articulate concrete plans with a start and end date to align your team. * Improve, don't prove: Ask your people to improve on plans and processes, rather than prove that they can meet fixed goals or deadlines. You'll face fewer cut corners and better long-term results. * Connect, don't conform: Flatten hierarchies in your organization and connect with your people to encourage them to contribute to decision-making. In his last book, Turn the Ship Around!, Marquet told the incredible story of abandoning command-and-control leadership on his submarine and empowering his crew to turn the worst performing submarine to the best performer in the fleet. Now, with Leadership is Language he gives businesspeople the tools they need to achieve such transformational leadership in their organizations.
Leadership Strategy and Tactics
#1New York Times Bestseller #1USA Todaybestseller The ultimate guide on leadership from the bestselling co-author ofExtreme Ownership. In the military, a field manual provides instructions in simple, clear, step-by-step language to help soldiers complete their mission. In the civilian sector, books offer information on everything from fixing a leaky faucet to developing an effective workout program to cooking a good steak. But what if you are promoted into a new position leading your former peers? What if you don't get selected for the leadership position you wanted? How do you overcome imposter syndrome, when you aren't sure you should be leading? As a leader, how do you judiciously dole out punishment? What about reward? How do you build trust with your both your superiors and your subordinates? How do you deliver truthful criticism up and down the chain of command in a tactful and positive way? These are all questions about leadership--the most complex of all human endeavors. And while there are books out there that provide solid leadership principles, books like Extreme Ownership and The Dichotomy of Leadership, there is no leadership field manual that provides a direct, situational, pragmatic how-to guide that anyone can instantly put to use. Until now.Leadership Strategy and Tactics explains how to take leadership theory, quickly translate that theory into applicable strategy, and then put leadership into action at a tactical level. This book is the solution that leaders at every level need--not just to understand the leadership game, but also how to play the leadership game, and win it.
Lead Yourself First : Inspiring Leadership Through Solitude
"Lead Yourself First makes a compelling argument for the integral relationship between solitude and leadership." --The Wall Street Journal Throughout history, leaders have used solitude as a matter of course. Martin Luther King found moral courage while sitting alone at his kitchen table one night during the Montgomery bus boycott. Jane Goodall used her intuition in the jungles of central Africa while learning how to approach chimps. Solitude is a state of mind, a space where you can focus on your own thoughts without distraction, with a power to bring mind and soul together in clear-eyed conviction. But these days, handheld devices and other media leave us awash with the thoughts of others. We are losing solitude without even realizing it.To find solitude today, a leader must make a conscious effort. This book explains why the effort is worthwhile and how to make it. Through gripping historical accounts and firsthand interviews with a wide range of contemporary leaders, Raymond Kethledge (a federal court of appeals judge) and Michael Erwin (a West Pointer and three-tour combat veteran) show how solitude can enhance clarity, spur creativity, sustain emotional balance, and generate the moral courage necessary to overcome adversity and criticism. Anyone who leads anyone--including oneself--can benefit from solitude. With a foreword by Jim Collins (author of the bestseller Good to Great), Lead Yourself First is a rallying cry to reclaim solitude--and all the benefits, both practical and sublime, that come with it.
Masters of Command: Alexander, Hannibal, Caesar and the Genius of Leadership
Alexander, Hannibal, Caesar. Each was a master of war. Each had to look beyond the battlefield to decide whom to fight and why; to know what victory was and when to end the war; to determine how to bring stability to the lands he conquered. Alexander, Hannibal, and Caesar had to be not only generals but statesmen. And yet each was a battlefield commander, a strategist, a leader of men-in short, a warrior. Tactics change, weapons change, but the ultimate purpose of war remains much the same through the centuries, and a great warrior must know how to measure success. Publishers Weeklysaid: "No one presents the military history of the ancient world with greater insight and panache than Barry Strauss," and in Masters of Commandhe shows what these three great commanders can teach us today about ambition, leadership, branding, and more.
Principle-Centered Leadership
Ineffective people try to manage their time around priorities, says Steven R. Covey, whereas effective people lead their lives and manage their relationships according to principles-natural laws and governing values that are universally valid. Leadership is the ability to apply these principles to problems, resulting in quality, productivity, profitability and win-win relationships.
Return on Experience: Learning Leadership at Work
Leadership is best learned from experience, but learning from experience is not always automatic. This guidebook introduces you to a return-on-experience framework. Using the ROE framework, you actively seek to learn from experience in order to build your mastery, broaden your versatility, and benefit your organization. When you understand and apply the framework in your work and organization, everyday experiences can be transformed into an engine for leader development and organizational impact.
The Ride of a Lifetime: Lessons Learned From 15 Years as CEO of the Walt Disney Company
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A memoir of leadership and success: The CEO of Disney, Time's 2019 businessperson of the year, shares the ideas and values he embraced to reinvent one of the most beloved companies in the world and inspire the people who bring the magic to life. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR Robert Iger became CEO of The Walt Disney Company in 2005, during a difficult time. Competition was more intense than ever and technology was changing faster than at any time in the company's history. His vision came down to three clear ideas: Recommit to the concept that quality matters, embrace technology instead of fighting it, and think bigger--think global--and turn Disney into a stronger brand in international markets. Fourteen years later, Disney is the largest, most respected media company in the world, counting Pixar, Marvel, Lucasfilm, and 21st Century Fox among its properties. Its value is nearly five times what it was when Iger took over, and he is recognized as one of the most innovative and successful CEOs of our era. In The Ride of a Lifetime, Robert Iger shares the lessons he's learned while running Disney and leading its 200,000 employees, and he explores the principles that are necessary for true leadership, including: * Optimism. Even in the face of difficulty, an optimistic leader will find the path toward the best possible outcome and focus on that, rather than give in to pessimism and blaming. * Courage. Leaders have to be willing to take risks and place big bets. Fear of failure destroys creativity. * Decisiveness. All decisions, no matter how difficult, can be made on a timely basis. Indecisiveness is both wasteful and destructive to morale. * Fairness. Treat people decently, with empathy, and be accessible to them. This book is about the relentless curiosity that has driven Iger for forty-five years, since the day he started as the lowliest studio grunt at ABC. It's also about thoughtfulness and respect, and a decency-over-dollars approach that has become the bedrock of every project and partnership Iger pursues, from a deep friendship with Steve Jobs in his final years to an abiding love of the Star Wars mythology. "The ideas in this book strike me as universal" Iger writes. "Not just to the aspiring CEOs of the world, but to anyone wanting to feel less fearful, more confidently themselves, as they navigate their professional and even personal lives."
Trust and Inspire: how truly great leaders unleash greatness in others
Wall Street Journal Bestseller From the bestselling author of The Speed of Trust, a revolutionary new way to lead, deemed "the defining leadership book in the 21st century" (Admiral William McRaven, author of Make Your Bed) that "every parent, teacher, and leader needs" (Esther Wojcicki, author of How to Raise Successful People). We have a leadership crisis today, where even though our world has changed drastically, our leadership style has not. Most organizations, teams, schools, and families today still operate from a model of "command and control," focusing on hierarchies and compliance from people. But because of the changing nature of the world, the workforce, work itself, and the choices we have for where and how to work and live, this way of leading is drastically outdated. Stephen M.R. Covey has made it his life's work to understand trust in leadership and organizations. In his newest and most transformative book, Trust and Inspire, he offers a simple yet bold solution: to shift from this "command and control" model to a leadership style of "trust and inspire." People don't want to be managed; they want to be led. Trust and Inspire is a new way of leading that starts with the belief that people are creative, collaborative, and full of potential. People with this kind of leader are inspired to become the best version of themselves and to produce their best work. Trust and Inspire is the solution to the future of work: where a dispersed workforce will be the norm, necessitating trust and collaboration across time zones, cultures, personalities, generations, and technology. Trust and Inspire calls for a radical shift in the way we lead in the 21st century, and Covey shows us how.
The Truth About Leadership : The No-Fads, Heart-of-the-Matter Facts You Need to Know
A fresh look at what it means to lead from two of the biggest names in leadership In these turbulent times, when the very foundations of organizations and societies are shaken, leaders need to move beyond pessimistic predictions, trendy fads, and simplistic solutions. They need to turn to what's real and what's proven. In their engaging, personal, and bold new book, Kouzes and Posner reveal ten time-tested truths that show what every leader must know, the questions they must be prepared to answer, and the real-world issues they will likely face. Based on thirty years of research, more than one million responses to Kouzes and Posner's leadership assessment, and the questions people most want leaders to answer Explores the fundamental, enduring truths of leadership that hold constant regardless of context or circumstance-leaders make a difference, credibility, values, trust, leading by example, heart, and more Shows emerging leaders what they need to know to be effective; fans of The Leadership Challenge will find a dynamic new look at the real challenges leaders face today Drawing from cases spanning three generations of leaders from around the world, this is a book leaders can use to do their real and necessary work-bringing about the essential changes that will renew organizations and communities.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
