Get the Job You Want, Even When No One's HiringGet the Job You Want, Even When No One's Hiring You CAN find a good job in a bad economy ? but NOT with conventional search strategies. New Rules for a New Reality Today's job market is the toughest in recent history, and the challenges are here to stay. Even so, you CAN get the job you want ? IF you discard conventional approaches to the search. Get the Job You Want, Even When No One's Hiring is the ONLY career book that: Explains the special strategies necessary to land a job during an economic crisis Integrates comprehensive, practical guidance on both job search and career management Provides an extensive online ?Job Search Survival Toolkit? to augment the book Addresses the realities of this job market with real-world, actionable steps Positions this downturn in the economy as a positive opportunity to develop a much better career In Get the Job You Want, Even When No One's Hiring, career expert Ford R. Myers maps the new world of job search and reveals essential strategies for your success. You'll learn how to seize opportunities that aren't posted yet ? how to make yourself an instant asset to potential employers ? how to clearly stand-out as the best candidate ... and how to leverage social media, blogs, and other Web tools. Best of all, you'll learn how to ?recession-proof? your career for the long term. Can YOU Get the Job You Want, Even When No One's Hiring? With this powerful new book ? YES, you can!
The introvert's complete career guide : from landing a job, to surviving, thriving, and moving on up"Ready to change your life? Jane nails it in this informative and resource-rich book that guides introverts on a clear journey to an empowered career. If a tendency toward introversion makes you feel stuck, this book offers the keys to freedom!" --Dawn Graham, PhD, LP, Career Director at The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania What do Elon Musk, Warren Buffet, Marissa Mayer, and Bill Gates all have in common outside of being wildly successful? They are all introverts. In today's fast-paced, unstable workplace achieving success requires speaking up, promoting oneself and one's ideas, and taking initiative. Extroverts, fearless in tooting their own horns, naturally thrive in this environment, but introverts often stumble. If you question your ability to perform and succeed in this extroverted work culture, The Introvert's Complete Career Guide is custom fit for you. In this supportive, all-inclusive handbook, Jane Finkle demonstrates how to use your introverted qualities to their best advantage, then add a sprinkling of extroverted skills to round out a forceful combination for ultimate career success. Finkle shares the keys to navigating each stage of professional development--from self-assessment and job searching, to survival in a new position and career advancement. In The Introvert's Complete Career Guide you will learn to: Build confidence by evaluating your values, personality style, interests, and achievements Write the story of your career in resume and LinkedIn formats Use social media at your own comfort level to promote your career and expand your network Express yourself clearly and confidently in network meetings, interviews, and workplace situations Build strong professional relationships with colleagues and senior leaders Overcome fears that prevent you from embracing new challenges Equally applicable to the real or virtual workplace, The Introvert's Complete Career Guide provides strategies, tools, and success stories that win you the professional respect and recognition you deserve.
Job Hunting A to Z :The WetFeet Insider Guide to Landing the Job You WantThis best-selling WetFeet Insider Guide will help you understand the importance of networking in your job search and will help you prepare for almost any interviewing situation. It was written exclusively for our readers by Robert A. Fish, founder of Right Management Consultants, the largest outplacement consulting firm in the U.S. In his extensive career in the recruiting and career management industries, Mr. Fish has counseled hundreds of leading executives of major corporations including Apple Computer, AT&T, and IBM on career transition issues.
Job Searching with Social Media for DummiesHarness social media to land your dream job For anyone looking for a first job, exploring a career change, or just setting up for future success, social media sites are proven platforms for facilitating connections, demonstrating passions and interests, and ultimately landing the job. Job Searching with Social Media For Dummies enables you to harness the power of the Internet to research and identify job opportunities, and then create a strategy for securing a position. Job Searching with Social Media For Dummies features in-depth coverage of topics such as: creating effective online profiles and resumes to sell your strengths; maintaining your online reputation and understanding electronic etiquette; using the power of personal branding and building your brand online; avoiding common pitfalls, such as jumping into filling out a social media profile without a strategy; getting to know Twitter, the only real-time job board with literally thousands of jobs posted daily; using social media sites to uncover opportunities in the "hidden job market" ahead of the competition; and much more. Takes the mystery out of Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn Offers advice on how to brand yourself online Includes coverage of the latest changes to social platforms and websites If you're a recent graduate, changing careers, or have been away from the job-search scene for a while, turn to the trusted guidance and expert insight of Job Searching with Social Media For Dummies.
Knock Em Dead—Social Networking : For Job Search & Professional SuccessLearn how to integrate social networking into every aspect of your job search and then leverage your social media presence for ongoing professional success. Build professionally relevant networks and a desirable, flexible brand that evolves with your growing experience, while you build and nurture networks that help you navigate a long worklife, and gain greater control over your destiny.
Launch Your CareerThis book shows how any college student can land the position they want by creating relationships with professionals in the industries they're interested in by using the author's proven Career Launch Method. Did you know only 20 percent of jobs and internships are posted online? This means 80 percent of positions are filled in what Sean O'Keefe and others calls the hidden job market. This book will teach you how to tap into that 80 percent! O'Keefe, in partnership with the Career Leadership Collective, is now sharing his proven eight-step Career Launch Method that will help any student explore career options and land the internships and jobs they want by creating professional relationships from scratch. This book demystifies the concept of intentional, proactive relationship building by teaching all the practical microsteps needed to succeed. And O'Keefe teaches readers how to "play the student card," turning inexperience and eagerness to learn into a powerful advantage. Launch Your Career features first-person stories of students from all backgrounds and programs of study who have used the Career Launch Method to earn jobs or internships at all types of companies, nonprofits, government agencies, social enterprises, and institutions across the country and around the world. The book includes the Career Launch Readiness Assessment, which helps students evaluate their competency in five key areas. This book will become a go-to resource for students looking to find internships and jobs, as well as a needed tool for colleges looking to increase retention rates and student's return on investment.
Life and Career Skills: EmploymentEach thematic volume in the Life and Career Skills series is written in easily digestible language and is heavily illustrated with pictures, colorful graphics, and call-out icons pointing to helpful hints, key terms, and key ideas, allowing users to navigate more easily within the text. Each volume will cover approximately 50 topics and include 30 anecdotal sidebars emphasizing the real-world life and career issues that people face in their daily lives. Each volume will also have an extensive and annotated resource section listing organizations, support groups, websites that are specific to the topic being covered.
LinkedIn for DummiesBrand yourself like a pro on LinkedIn LinkedIn multiplies what you know by the power of who you know to deliver the number one social platform for business professionals and new job seekers. LinkedIn For Dummies shows LinkedIn newcomers the best ways to discover new opportunities, enhance their personal brand, network with other professionals, and give an exponential boost to their career. Consider this book a passport to help you connect more successfully with many of LinkedIn's 660+ million members in over 200 countries, as well as an expert guide to the platform's tools and features and the proven tactics that get you noticed. In this friendly, all-access introduction to the LinkedIn scene, entrepreneurship guru Joel Elad clues you in on the essentials. Get the latest insight on how to create an attractive profile that will make employers give you a second glance as well as techniques for making useful connections across the globe. In no time at all you'll also be right at home with the profile user interface and getting busy with adding content, searching for career opportunities, and, if you're looking to hire for your company, recruiting top candidates. Build your personal brand and market it Sell yourself by highlighting skills, awards, and endorsements Get connected with LinkedIn groups Manage and make introductions via InMail Relationships matter: LinkedIn For Dummies gives you the online social skills to turn six degrees of separation into the colleagues, mentors, and friends who will transform your career--and your life.
Teach Yourself: Successful Job Hunting In A WeekWritten by Pat Scudamore and Hilton Catt, leading experts on job hunting as both a coachwa and HR practitioners, this book quickly teaches you the insider secrets you need to know to in order find the right job for you.
Your Healthcare Job Hunt: How Your Digital Presence Can Make or Break Your CareerDid you know that more than half of employers won't hire a candidate who doesn't have an online presence, and most companies are using social media to screen job applicants? Healthcare job seekers - from new graduates to seasoned professionals - need to know how to successfully achieve their career aspirations in a highly digitized job market. >Your Healthcare Job Hunt: How Your Digital Presence Can Make or Break Your Career focuses on getting the most out of the internet during a healthcare job search. With colorful, evocative examples specific to the field, this book covers information, tools, and online resources that can help you stand out and maximize your career advancement opportunities. Topics covered include: Creating a digital presence that accurately reflects your career goals, professionalism, and skills Exploring the ins and outs of digital self-branding Using online tools and social media sites to find potential employers and job openings Optimizing job sites such as LinkedIn and Indeed Mastering online interviews and resumes Networking and mentoring in the digital environment A professional online presence is essential to career advancement. If you are ready to put forward your best online self and pair your online persona with your offline career aspirations, then this book is a must-read.
Brand YOU! to Land Your Dream JobFinding and landing your idea job doesn't just happen by chance. You have to know the secrets of how to market yourself to land your dream job. You can learn and employ this unique set of skills to ensure you find a good job, get hired, and jumpstart your career. This book will teach you those skills, and share with you an insider's view of what it takes to be the one person out of hundreds of applicants to receive the coveted offer.In this step-by-step guide, you will discover many valuable insights including:-How to use social media to build your personal brand.-The tools you need to simplify and supercharge your job search.-The hiring process: what happens when you submit your résumé and job application.-What employers look for and reject in a candidate.-How to create a powerful résumé.-The secret to a winning cover letter.-How craft your elevator pitch to secure a meeting.-How to network your way to your dream job.-The secret job market where more than half of all jobs are found.-How to prepare to ace the interview.-How to answer the two key questions that will decide your fate.-How to negotiate the highest salary and best benefits.
Introverts : Leverage Your Strengths for an Effective Job Search"I've had some incredible personal growth from this book. The patterns that emerged from the exercises are enlightening. I'm finally saying 'enough is enough'. I have to stop going for the money and get a job that will energize instead of draining me. Without this book, I'd probably go back to the same bad-fit, stress-filled, long-commute type of job. So a heartfelt thank you " A.B. Interview with the author: Why did you write this book? Throughout the 10 years experience in coaching and employment counseling, I noticed that introverts feel more challenged when it comes to job hunting. Being an introvert myself, I want to help them become more successful in a professional world that seems more impressed with the extroverted behavior. How is this book different from other job search books? The tips and strategies from this practical book help introverts shift the perception from feeling a victim to creating a strategy mix that meets the employer midway, while staying true to their introverted nature. It also encourages the readers to become project managers of their own job search project, and make it more effective by using their strengths. What's inside the book? 167 introvert strengths and how to apply them in job hunting, to tap into the hidden job market and increase the chances to stand out. Real examples of successful introverted job-seekers, Linkedin for job hunting, resume & interview tips and 21 job search strategies fitting introvert's personality. Self-reflection exercises to help readers understand the weakest aspects of their job search process, and how to strengthen them. Who could benefit from this book? Introverts willing to find the desired job and build a rewarding career Students preparing to enter the job market Recruiters, Career Coaches, Employment Counselors serving introverted job seekers HR Professionals and Hiring Managers, to tap into introverts' power to achieve better results Parents of introverted students Anyone else interested in learning new job strategies to accelerate the job hunting process
Job Search : Fundamentals of Effective Job Hunting, Resumes, and InterviewsLooking for a job does not have to be frustrating. All you need are the right job hunting techniques. Job Search: Fundamentals of Effective Job Hunting, Resumes, and Interviews will help you develop those skills. In Job Search, you will be given step-by-step instructions on writing a resume that stands out and building a search-optimized profile that shows up on the top of potential employers' lists. You'll learn how to interview more effectively and get the job. You'll get search tips on navigating top job boards and social media sites, such as LinkedIn, Facebook, Indeed, and CareerBuilder. As a bonus, a directory is included: a list of over 500 websites that you can use to find your next job. Job Search has 18 years of firsthand experience behind it. As a recruiter interacting with many Fortune 500 hiring managers, I've learned what employers are looking for. This book shares those insider insights with you.
The Job Search Navigator : An Expert's Guide to Getting Hired, Surviving Layoffs, and Building Your CareerThe Job Search Navigator is a comprehensive guide to finding a new job in today's evolving career marketplace. Author Matt Durfee writes from the perspective of someone who has both recruited for some of America's biggest companies and navigated his way through nine of his own job losses. The book combines practical real-world perspectives with the technical knowledge job seekers need in order to excel at every aspect of their searches. Drawing on the knowledge Durfee accumulated through his own experiences, searches, and big-brand corporate hiring responsibilities,The Job Search Navigator abandons the "clinical approach" of many other career-advice books. Instead, Durfee gives easy-to-follow strategies and, perhaps more importantly, recounts in illuminating detail the kinds of mistakes that led him to develop these strategies. Despite recent reports of soaring corporate profits and gross domestic product growth, the effects of the Great Recession are still very real to the nearly 20 million Americans who are either jobless or underemployed. In these uncertain times,The Job Search Navigator is a reliable guide to every step of the 21st-century job hunt, whether readers are laid off, wanting to change careers after surviving cutbacks, or seeking a better full-time gig in a stagnant marketplace.
Job UGet ready to relearn everything you thought you knew about what a successful career path can look like. Today, unemployment hovers at a near-record high, yet 3.5 million American jobs remain unfilled. Why? Because companies simply cannot find people with the skills they actually need. The good news is that this skills gap represents unprecedented opportunities for every person seeking a successful and exciting career. But these opportunities can't be found inside the walls of the traditional classroom. Instead, they lie in the myriad of educational options that provide the technical, vocational, and soft skills on demand in today's workplace, such as: -Professional certifications: Start your career faster in fields like bioscience aviation, culinary arts, and medical technology. -Associates degrees: Increase earning potential through inexpensive 2-year programs in subjects like civil engineering, environmental science, education, and nursing. -Apprenticeships: Earn while you learn under the direct supervision of a skilled expert. Far beyond the artisan trades, today's apprenticeships can be found at companies like Volkswagen and Siemens. -Occupational learning: Refresh or reboot your skill sets through on-the-job training or online education. In Job U, you'll learn about these paths to rewarding occupations; where to find them and how to parlay them into the best paying job in any field. And along the way, you'll meet individuals of all ages who have attained their "dream jobs" through a non-traditional education: from an emergency air paramedic, to a lead mechanic of a racecar team, to an engineer of complex gas turbine generators, to a bestselling cookbook author. Whether you are recent high school or college graduate, or well along in your career journey, Job U will help you find your way to a more secure and prosperous future.
Practical Job Search : Based On A Personal Journey of Four Successes in Challenging SituationsDon't want to read another job search encyclopedia with a million strategies and frameworks that make your head spin and leave you overwhelmed, but instead want a short and efficient, personal-experience based job hunting guide to a productive job search? In recent years, Dan had to change his job four times, of which three were a result of layoffs due to recessions and economic downturns, and one on his own. Each time, with dedication, focus, and structure, he bounced back to ace the recruiting process and secured better-paying jobs with Fortune-50 and highly selective companies. With short chapters, simple templates, and straightforward explanations, this quick and practical guide is for anyone who wishes to borrow tactics from someone else's experience for an efficient and effective job hunting. Contents:- The story of Dan's layoffs and metrics of his search- Preparing after a job loss / or when ready to search- Approaching a job search ("Carpet Bombing or Missile Strikes")- The allure of modern search methods- Crafting CVs (Resumes) and Cover Letters to get past recruiters and machines- Dealing with company job portals where CVs go to die- Using LinkedIn and leveraging the power of InMails- Approaching informational interviews and networking- Preparing for interviews- Giving a great interview--conduct, framework, and asking good questions- Negotiating if you're a poor negotiator- Tackling gaps in your resume- Amusing tidbits from Dan's interviewing experience- Observations as an interviewer- Tools and Technologies that help- Link to a sample CV template, Cover letter, and a competency preparation spreadsheetAlong the way, enjoy little tidbits of Dan's own interview experiences, and cartoons on the journey of getting hired.Whether you are new to the job market or experienced, millennial or not, without a job or trying to change, and in a vibrant market or an economic downturn, there is something that you can borrow from this book.
The Secret to Getting a Job after CollegeThe Secret to Getting a Job after College: Marketing Tactics that Turn Degrees into Dollars is an easy to follow guide for all majors to help you launch your career in any job market. In just four chapters, you will learn tips and tactics to attract the attention of an employer and win the competition with other candidates to get the job you want. Bonus Feature: 1. Gain access to exclusive content to a companion website 2. Includes references to many job search resources 3. Resume examples for a variety of majors 4. Links to useful websites. Here are some of the topics that will be covered: Chapter 1: Finding Your Job: Identifying Your Best Opportunities 1. Summary of easy to find sources of information to focus your job search 2. Destroy the myth of what kind of job a college graduate should seek 3. Where to uncover the jobs most students fail to ever find 4. Create your personal brand. Chapter 2: Getting the Interview: Creating Your Marketing Plan 1. Learn to create a cover letter that generates a call from an employer 2. See what makes a great resume that cannot be ignored 3. Find out how to get on top of an employer's lists of candidates 4. How to leverage the Internet faster and more effectively. Chapter 3: Acing the Interview: Building a Relationship and Selling Yourself 1. Learn to prepare for any interview situation 2. Find out what market research you need to do before the interview 3. Learn the tricky questions that interviewers toss at you 4. Know which answers work and which answers fail. Chapter 4: Getting the Offer: Closing the Sale 1. How to be sure your references will support you when the employer calls 2. Gain the knowledge to get an offer from an employer you will want to accept 3. Obtain tips on how to be well positioned for your next job after you start your first job.
The Student's Federal Career GuideThe first and only comprehensive guide to the federal government for students. Advice to win hot jobs: CIA, FBI, State Department, National Parks and MORE! U.S. Federal Government is the largest employer in the world - thousands of federal jobs and paid internships are available now! Ten EASY steps to help students find job and internship postings, write a federal resume, apply to jobs online or by mail, nail the interview.
There Is Life After College: What Parents and Students Should Know About Navigating School to Prepare for the Jobs of TomorrowNew York Times Bestseller From the bestselling author of College Unbound comes a hopeful, inspiring blueprint to help alleviate parents' anxiety and prepare their college-educated child to successfully land a good job after graduation. Saddled with thousands of dollars of debt, today's college students are graduating into an uncertain job market that is leaving them financially dependent on their parents for years to come--a reality that has left moms and dads wondering: What did I pay all that money for? There Is Life After College offers students, parents, and even recent graduates the practical advice and insight they need to jumpstart their careers. Education expert Jeffrey Selingo answers key questions--Why is the transition to post-college life so difficult for many recent graduates? How can graduates market themselves to employers that are reluctant to provide on-the-job training? What can institutions and individuals do to end the current educational and economic stalemate?--and offers a practical step-by-step plan every young professional can follow. From the end of high school through college graduation, he lays out exactly what students need to do to acquire the skills companies want. Full of tips, advice, and insight, this wise, practical guide will help every student, no matter their major or degree, find real employment--and give their parents some peace of mind.
This is How to Get Your Next Job : An Inside Look at What Employers Really WantEven in a bad economy, companies have job openings they can't fill. Considering the millions of people who are out of work or unhappily employed, how can that be?What are job seekers doing to turn off employers? And what is it that employers want but aren't finding? Leading career expert and syndicated columnist Andrea Kay asked employers one simple question: why didn't you hire the last ten people you interviewed? What it came down to, every time, wasn't a matter of skills or experience, but how applicants seemed based on what they said or did. From lack of preparation, to pushiness, to a subtly defensive attitude, it's the simple behaviors prospective employees exhibit before, during, and after interviews that stand between them and job offers. Based on candid insights from real-life employers, and featuring a foreword by Richard Nelson Bolles, bestselling author of What Color Is Your Parachute?, this book helps job hunters take control of how they come across to the people in charge of hiring. From "20 Things You Should Never Do" to a "Would You Hire You?" test, This Is How to Get Your Next Job helps readers show hiring managers who they are and why they're the perfect fit for the job they seek.
What Color is Your Parachute? : A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-ChangersWith more than 10 million copies sold in 28 countries, the world's most popular job-search book is updated for 2018 and tailors Richard Bolles's long-trusted guidance with up-to-the-minute information and advice for today's job-hunters and career-changers. In today's challenging job-market, the time-tested advice of What Color Is Your Parachute? is needed more than ever. Recent grads facing a tough economic landscape, workers laid off mid-career, and people searching for an inspiring work-life change all look to career guru Richard N. Bolles for support, encouragement, and advice on which job-hunt strategies work--and which don't. This revised edition combines classic elements like the famed Flower Exercise with updated tips on social media and search tactics. Bolles demystifies the entire job-search process, from writing resumes to interviewing to networking, expertly guiding job-hunters toward their dream job.
Working in the ShadowsWhat is it like to do the back-breaking work of immigrants? To find out, Gabriel Thompson spent a year working alongside Latino immigrants, who initially thought he was either crazy or an undercover immigration agent. He stooped over lettuce fields in Arizona, and worked the graveyard shift at a chicken slaughterhouse in rural Alabama. He dodged taxis--not always successfully--as a bicycle delivery "boy” for an upscale Manhattan restaurant, and was fired from a flower shop by a boss who, he quickly realized, was nuts. As one coworker explained, "These jobs make you old quick.” Back spasms occasionally keep Thompson in bed, where he suffers recurring nightmares involving iceberg lettuce and chicken carcasses. Combining personal narrative with investigative reporting, Thompson shines a bright light on the underside of the American economy, exposing harsh working conditions, union busting, and lax government enforcement--while telling the stories of workers, undocumented immigrants, and desperate US citizens alike, forced to live with chronic pain in the pursuit of $8 an hour.
Working in Your Major: How to Find a Job When You GraduateThis guidebook contains what every college graduate needs to know to find a good job in their major, and it provides sound advice on establishing a professional identity, surviving the critical first year on the job, and ensuring marketability in the future.