Bi: The Hidden Culture, History, and Science of BisexualityA provocative, eye-opening, and original book on the science of sexuality beyond gender from an internationally bestselling pop-psychologist Despite all the welcome changes that have happened in our culture and laws over the past few decades in regards to sexuality, the subject remains one of the most influential but least understood aspects of our lives. For psychologist and bestselling author Julia Shaw, this is both professional and personal--Shaw studies the science of sexuality and she herself is proudly and vocally bisexual. It's an admission, she writes, that usually causes people's pupils to dilate, their cheeks to flush, and their questions to start flowing. Ask people to name famous bisexual actors, politicians, writers, or scientists, and they draw a blank. Despite statistics that show bisexuality is more common than homosexuality, bisexuality is often invisible. In BI: The Hidden Culture, History, and Science of Bisexuality, Shaw probes the science and culture of attraction beyond the binary. From the invention of heterosexuality to the history of the Kinsey scale, as well as asylum seekers trying to defend their bisexuality in a court of law, there is so much more to explore than most have ever realized. Drawing on her own original research--and her own experiences--this is a personal and scientific manifesto; it's an exploration of the complexities of the human sexual experience and a declaration of love and respect for the nonconformists among us.
Exploring Gender Diversity in the Ancient WorldExplores how binary gender and behaviors of gender were actively challenged in classical antiquity Provides a focus on gender on its own terms and outside the context of sex and sexuality. Offers an interdisciplinary approach, appealing to Classicists, Ancient Historians, and Archaeologists, as well as audiences working outside the ancient world, in Gender Studies, Transgender Studies, LGBTQ+ Studies, Anthropology, and Women's Studies. Covers a broad time period (6thc. BCE - 3rd c. CE) and addresses both textual evidence and material culture (vases, sculpture, wall painting). Provides history of gender identities and behaviors previously ignored or suppressed by disciplinary practices. Gender identity and expression in ancient cultures are questioned in these 15 essays in light of our new understandings of sex and gender. Using contemporary theory and methodologies this book opens up a new history of gender diversity from the ancient world to our own, encouraging us to reconsider those very understandings of sex and gender identity. New analyses of ancient Greek and Roman culture that reveal a history of gender diverse individuals that has not been recognized until recently. Taking an interdisciplinary approach these essays will appeal to classicists, ancient historians, archaeologists as well as those working in gender studies, transgender studies, LGBTQ+ studies, anthropology and women's studies.
Families We Keep: LGBTQ People and Their Enduring Bonds with ParentsWhy LGBTQ adults don't end troubled ties with parents and why (perhaps) they should. Families We Keep is a surprising look at the life-long bonds between LGBTQ adults and their parents. Alongside the importance of "chosen families" in the queer community, Rin Reczek and Emma Bosley-Smith found that very few LGBTQ people choose to become estranged from their parents, even if those parent refuse to support their gender identity, sexuality, or both. Drawing on interviews with over seventy-five LGBTQ people and their parents, Reczek and Bosley-Smith explore the powerful ties that bind families together, for better or worse.
The Fight for LGBTQ+ RightsThanks to the work of courageous individuals and energized organizations, great strides have been made in LGBTQ+ civil rights since the 1950s. These strides include the affirmation of marriage equality, enactment of anti-discrimination laws, and freedom to serve openly in the military. Despite such groundbreaking victories, achieving full equality remains a struggle. Readers will learn about the history of this fight, the activists, and the allies who've used their voices to spur progress. They will also discover the tools to safely and consciously support LGBTQ+ rights.
The Gay Marriage Generation: How the LGBTQ Movement Transformed American CultureThe generational and social thinking changes that caused an unprecedented shift toward support for gay marriage. How did gay marriage--something unimaginable two decades ago--come to feel inevitable to even its staunchest opponents? Drawing on over 95 interviews with two generations of Americans, as well as historical analysis and public opinion data, Peter Hart-Brinson argues that a fundamental shift in our understanding of homosexuality sparked the generational change that fueled gay marriage's unprecedented rise. Hart-Brinson shows that the LGBTQ movement's evolution and tactical responses to oppression caused Americans to reimagine what it means to be gay and what gay marriage would mean to society at large. While older generations grew up imagining gays and lesbians in terms of their behavior, younger generations came to understand them in terms of their identity. Over time, as the older generation and their ideas slowly passed away, they were replaced by a new generational culture that brought gay marriage to all fifty states. Through revealing interviews, Hart-Brinson explores how different age groups embrace, resist, and create society's changing ideas about gay marriage. Religion, race, contact with gay people, and the power of love are all topics that weave in and out of these fascinating accounts, sometimes influencing opinions in surprising ways. The book captures a wide range of voices from diverse social backgrounds at a critical moment in the culture wars, right before the turn of the tide. The story of gay marriage's rapid ascent offers profound insights about how the continuous remaking of the population through birth and death, mixed with our personal, biographical experiences of our shared history and culture, produces a society that is continually in flux and constantly reinventing itself anew. An intimate portrait of social change with national implications, The Gay Marriage Generation is a significant contribution to our understanding of what causes generational change and how gay marriage became the reality in the United States.
Gender Ambiguity in the Workplace: Transgender and Gender-Diverse DiscriminationA delicate exploration of the discrimination that gender-diverse people face, this book analyzes the relationship between gender identity and performance in the workplace while considering the emotional and economic survival of those who identify as transgender. Discusses long-ignored nuances of transgender identity through narratives of non-binary, gender-fluid, and genderless experiences, in the context of workplace discrimination; Extends existing theoretical literature on masculinity in the workplace, gender discrimination, and gender performance; Identifies factors that may preclude and minimize discrimination; Proposes a pragmatic set of policy recommendations for employers, community leaders, and others; Provides best practices around such policy items as bathroom access, workplace transition, hiring practices, and inclusive workplace culture.
Global Perspectives on the LGBT Community and Non-DiscriminationIn at least seventy-one countries in the world, there are national laws that criminalize same-sex relationships between consenting adults. In at least nine countries around the globe, national laws target and criminalize transgender and gender non-conforming persons. In some jurisdictions, the penalty for identifying as a part of the LGBT community is death. The debate in jurisdictions where being an LGBT person is a crime is typically that same-sex sexual relationships are "unnatural." In jurisdictions where anti-gay laws persist, the rights of LGBT persons are not considered as human rights, and the rationale for criminalizing same-sex sexual activity is that it is "immoral" and "sinful." Global Perspectives on the LGBT Community and Non-Discrimination offers perspectives on the rights of sexual minorities and discrimination. In several countries, consensual sexual activity in private amongst adults of the same gender is still criminalized. This book seeks to examine the social, cultural, religious, and political issues that influence anti-gay laws in juxtaposition with the need to protect the rights of the LGBT community. Covering topics such as LGBT child adoption rights, minority stress, and freedom from discrimination, this premier reference source is a dynamic resource for sociologists, anthropologists, government officials, policymakers, lawmakers, human rights advocates, non-profit organizations, libraries, students and faculty of higher education, researchers, and academicians.
Great Events from History: LGBTQThis new edition in the Great Events series chronicles important historical events that have identified, defined, and legally established the rights of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities. In the last ten years alone, the world has witnessed significant events that have broken down barriers, both socially and legally, making enormous strides to end discrimination against the LGBTQ community. Just some of these events include: 2011 - "Don't Ask, Don't Tell" is repealed. 2012 - Barack Obama becomes the first sitting US president to publicly support the freedom for LGBT couples to marry. 2013 - The US Supreme Court rules that legally married same-sex couples are entitled to federal benefits. 2015 - The Supreme Court rules that states cannot ban same-sex marriage. 2016 - Pentagon lifts the ban on transgender people serving openly in the US military. In-depth, yet accessible essays provide a summary of the event and discuss the event's significance and historical impact. Entries are supplemented with sources for further reading, cross-references to other material in the series, maps, quotations from primary source documents, timelines, and hundreds of photographs and illustrations. Finding Aids & Special Features - Essays have been supplemented with approximately 140 sidebars that will further inform a reader's understanding of the topics discussed. Some 115 essays include extracts from primary source documents such as court decisions, mission statements, laws and important supporting texts. Another 25 essays include biographical profiles of people who were key to the event, tables providing statistics by state, filmographies and other compilations of information that will deepen a reader's knowledge of the topics covered here. These volumes are illustrated with more than 100 photographs and other illustrations that visually bring the topics discussed to life. The back matter in volume two contains reference tools to help reader further explore GLBT history. An annotated bibliography arranged by category provides readers with sources for further study. A Website Directory identifies useful sites that will open the world of GLBT research on the internet to readers. A Category Index provides access to the individual essays through the 21 broad areas of interest. A Personage Index directs users to essay events in which a particular individual plays a role. The Subject Index provides access to the individual essays and their content through multiple access points. This set selects events that help to mark the definition of "gender," the emergence of social, cultural, and political movements, and the struggles to gain civil rights. Designed for history students at the high school and undergraduate levels, public librarians will also find the set, and the series as a whole, invaluable as a reference tool for students and general readers at all academic levels.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Americans at RiskThree volumes organized by the three phases of life--youth, middle age, and old age--explore the LGBTQ+ experience, delving deeply into research on a multitude of hot topics including risks experienced by this sometimes targeted population. * More than forty topics in three volumes are timely and in the news * Each topic is evaluated by academic authorities * References are authoritative and include primary resources * Contributors embrace and reflect the diversity found in the LGBTQ+ community
LGBTQ in the 21st CenturyAlthough the historic majority opinion of Obergefell v. Hodges legalized same-sex marriage nationwide and the military has moved toward a “gender neutral” enlistment policy, how LGBTQ people maneuver American society continues to get worked out at every level—in schools, in courts and in the popular culture. Issues explored in this title include the role of non-traditional same-sex families, and expanded protections for transgender people under the framework of civil rights. As conservative governors sue the federal government and try to block what they call a “massive social experiment” in school bathrooms and locker rooms, and states deal with the attendant backlash, LGBTQ activists continue to force a national conversation on gender identity.
LGBTQ Life in AmericaThis indispensable book debunks common myths and misconceptions about the LGBTQ community while providing accurate information about LGBTQ people, their successes and shared history, and the current challenges they face in American society. This book provides readers with a clear and unbiased understanding of what it means to be LGBTQ in the United States in the 2020s. Beginning with the origins of LGBTQ identity and history, the book addresses the current status of the LGBTQ community; gender expectations and performance in American culture; transgender and non-binary identity; behaviors and outcomes associated with LGBTQ people; and, finally, diversity within the LGBTQ community. Utilizing authoritative sources and lay-friendly definitions and explanations, this work punctures myths, misconceptions, and incorrect assumptions about sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expectations and norms. In addition, it provides an illuminating record of the history of discrimination and mistreatment to which LGBTQ people have historically been subjected in the U.S. At a time when information itself is increasingly fraught in American political discourse, this book provides facts and context for the most important questions facing LGBTQ Americans, past, present, and future. Provides readers with factual, easy-to-understand information about sexuality, sexual orientation, and gender identity Confronts falsehoods, half-truths, and misconceptions about LGBTQ identity and life in the U.S. Bridges the divide between disparate sources of information about LGBTQ identity and rights in the U.S. Paints a broad narrative about sociopolitical change surrounding LGBTQ people and rights over time.
LGBTQ LiteratureSo much of great literature centers on explorations of gender, sex, and sexuality. What does it mean to be a proper man or woman; what if one cannot be properly called either? Should one wield one's sexual power politically? What is the relation between law, divine or secular, and sexuality? These are just some of the questions that this volume examines through an analysis of a wide range of texts. Each essay is 2,500 to 5,000 words in length, and all essays conclude with a list of works cited, along with endnotes. Finally, the volume's appendixes offer a section of useful reference resources.
Opinions Throughout History: Gender Roles & RightsThis new series from Grey House offers in-depth, single volumes that follow the debate, or path, to a decision on a controversial topic as it evolved throughout history. Each volume offers a wide range of opinion essays and editorials, speeches, and journal articles and expert analysis. This volume tracks the changing national views on gender roles.
Raising LGBTQ Allies: A Parent's Guide to Changing the Messages from the PlaygroundNo matter who we are or where we come from, we all play on the same playground. There are certain collective societal messages we hear growing up that we either consciously or subconsciously believe. As a result, we develop certain belief systems from which we operate our lives. Raising LGBTQ Allies sheds light on the deeper, multi-faceted layers of homophobia. It opens up a conversation with parents around the possibility they may have an LGBTQ child, and shows how heteronormativity can be harmful if not addressed clearly and early. Although not every parent will have an LGBTQ child, their child will jump rope or play tag with a child who is LGBTQ. By showing readers the importance of having open and authentic conversations with children at a young age, Chris Tompkins walks parents through the many ways they can prevent new generations from adopting homophobic and transphobic beliefs, while helping them explore their own subconscious biases. Offering specific actions parents, family members, and caregivers can take to help navigate conversations, address heteronormativity, and challenge societal beliefs, Raising LGBTQ Allies serves as a guide to help normalize being LGBTQ from a young age. Creating allies and a world where closets don't exist happens one child at a time. And it begins with each of us and what we say, as much as what we choose not to say.
The Road to Marriage EqualityIn Obergefell v. Hodges (2015), the Supreme Court of the United States held that same-sex couples throughout the country had the right to marry. The ruling was the culmination of a decades-long struggle to gain the legal right for gay and lesbian couples to wed. This compelling book takes the reader through the ups and downs of the marriage equality movement, from the 1990s to the current era, from the first same-sex couples to have their marriage license applications rejected to the changing attitudes that led to every individual having the right that was once reserved only for some.
The Savvy Ally: A Guide for Becoming a Skilled LGBTQ+ AdvocateThe Savvy Ally: A Guide for Becoming a Skilled LGBTQ+ Advocate is an enjoyable, humorous, encouraging, easy to understand guidebook for being an ally to the LGBTQ+ communities. It is chock full of practical and useful tools for LGBTQ+ advocacy, including: Current and relevant information on identities and LGBTQ+ language; Tips for what to say and what not to say when someone comes out to you; LGBTQ+ etiquette and techniques for respectful conversations; Common bloopers to avoid; Tools for effectively navigating difficult conversations; Suggestions for addressing common questions and concerns; Actions for creating more LGBTQ+ inclusive spaces and recommendations for self-care and sustainable allyship This book will be useful for teachers, counselors, social workers, nurses, medical technicians, and college professors, as well as parents who want to be supportive of their LGBTQ+ child, but don't know how. This is not a book about why to be an ally. This is a book about how to be an ally. The goal of The Savvy Ally is to create more confident, active allies who are effective advocates for change. This informative, entertaining, and supportive guidebook will surely jump-start even the most tentative ally.
Sex and SexualitySex and sexuality remain contentious issues in twenty-first century America, dividing the country across religious and cultural lines. This volume traces the evolution of attitudes on gay and lesbian issues, transgender identities, women's rights, and sexual behaviors and consent. Going from the mid-twentieth century to the present day, the articles speak to the ongoing debate as writers and journalists attempt to make sense of the diverse sexual expressions found in human society and document the struggles toward greater acceptance and tolerance.
Art & Queer CultureArt and Queer Culture is a comprehensive and definitive survey of artworks that have constructed, contested or otherwise responded to alternative forms of sexuality. Not a book exclusively about artists who identify themselves as gay or lesbian, Art and Queer Culture instead traces the shifting possibilities and constraints of sexual identity that have provided visual artists with a rich creative resource over the last 125 years.
Beyond Trans: Does Gender Matter?Goes beyond transgender to question the need for gender classification. Beyond Trans pushes the conversation on gender identity to its limits: questioning the need for gender categories in the first place. Whether on birth certificates or college admissions applications or on bathroom doors, why do we need to mark people and places with sex categories? Do they serve a real purpose or are these places and forms just mechanisms of exclusion? Heath Fogg Davis offers an impassioned call to rethink the usefulness of dividing the world into not just Male and Female categories but even additional categories of Transgender and gender fluid. Davis, himself a transgender man, explores the underlying gender-enforcing policies and customs in American life that have led to transgender bathroom bills, college admissions controversies, and more, arguing that it is necessary for our society to take real steps to challenge the assumption that gender matters. He examines four areas where we need to re-think our sex-classification systems: sex-marked identity documents such as birth certificates, driver's licenses and passports; sex-segregated public restrooms; single-sex colleges; and sex-segregated sports. Speaking from his own experience and drawing upon major cases of sex discrimination in the news and in the courts, Davis presents a persuasive case for challenging how individuals are classified according to sex and offers concrete recommendations for alleviating sex identity discrimination and sex-based disadvantage. For anyone in search of pragmatic ways to make our world more inclusive, Davis' recommendations provide much-needed practical guidance about how to work through this complex issue. A provocative call to action, Beyond Trans pushes us to think how we can work to make America truly inclusive of all people.
The Book of Pride: LGBTQ Heroes Who Changed the WorldTHE BOOK OF PRIDE captures the true story of the gay rights movement from the 1960s to the present, through richly detailed, stunning interviews with the leaders, activists, and ordinary people who witnessed the movement and made it happen. These individuals fought battles both personal and political, often without the support of family or friends, frequently under the threat of violence and persecution.& By shining a light on these remarkable stories of bravery and determination, THE BOOK OF PRIDE not only honors an important chapter in American history, but also empowers young people today (both LGBTQ and straight) to discover their own courage in order to create positive change. Furthermore, it serves a critically important role in ensuring the history of the LGBTQ movement can never be erased, inspiring us to resist all forms of oppression with ferocity, community, and, most importantly, pride.
Brown, White, Black: An American Family at the Intersection of Race, Gender, Sexuality, and ReligionIntimate and honest essays on motherhood, marriage, love, and acceptance. Brown White Black is a portrait of Nishta J. Mehra's family: her wife, who is white; her adopted child, Shiv, who is black; and their experiences dealing with America's rigid ideas of race, gender, and sexuality. Her clear-eyed and incisive writing on her family's daily struggle to make space for themselves amid racial intolerance and stereotypes personalizes some of America's most fraught issues. Mehra writes candidly about her efforts to protect and shelter Shiv from racial slurs on the playground and from intrusive questions by strangers while educating her child on the realities and dangers of being black in America. In other essays, she discusses growing up in the racially polarized city of Memphis; coming out as queer; being an adoptive mother who is brown; and what it's like to be constantly confronted by people's confusion, concern, and expectations about her child and her family. Above all, Mehra argues passionately for a more nuanced and compassionate understanding of identity and family. Both poignant and challenging, Brown White Black is a remarkable portrait of a loving family on the front lines of some of the most highly charged conversations in our culture.
The Glass Closet: Why Coming Out is Good BusinessPart memoir and part social criticism, The Glass Closet addresses the issue of homophobia that still pervades corporations around the world and underscores the immense challenges faced by LGBT employees. In The Glass Closet, Lord John Browne, former CEO of BP, seeks to unsettle business leaders by exposing the culture of homophobia that remains rampant in corporations around the world, and which prevents employees from showing their authentic selves. Drawing on his own experiences, and those of prominent members of the LGBT community around the world, as well as insights from well-known business leaders and celebrities, Lord Browne illustrates why, despite the risks involved, self-disclosure is best for employees--and for the businesses that support them. Above all, The Glass Closet offers inspiration and support for those who too often worry that coming out will hinder their chances of professional success.
Handbook of LGBTQ-Affirmative Couple and Family TherapyThis comprehensive second edition inspires therapists to utilize clinical work to pragmatically address intersectional oppressions, lessen the burden of minority stress, and implement effective LGBTQ affirmative therapy. A unique and important contribution to LGBTQ literature, this handbook includes both new and updated chapters reflecting cutting-edge intersectional themes like race, ethnicity, polyamory, and mono-sexual normativity. A host of expert contributors outline the best practices in affirmative therapy, inspiring therapists to guide LGBTQ clients into deconstructing the heteronormative power imbalances that undermine LGBTQ relationships and families. There is also an increased focus on clinical application, with fresh vignettes included throughout to highlight effective treatment strategies. Couple and family therapists and clinicians working with LGBTQ clients, and those interested in implementing affirmative therapy in their practice, will find this updated handbook essential.
LGBTQ Service in the Armed ForcesLGBTQ Service in the Armed Forces looks at enlisted LGBTQ people and legislation that made their experience in the US military difficult. It also discusses how LGBTQ soldiers served during times of war but were often discharged for their gender identity or sexuality after the war. Features include a glossary, further readings, websites, source notes, and an index.
Once a Girl, Always A Boy: A Family Memoir of a Transgender JourneyJeremy Ivester is a transgender man. Thirty years ago, his parents welcomed him into the world as what they thought was their daughter. As a child, he preferred the toys and games our society views as masculine. He kept his hair short and wore boys' clothing. They called him a tomboy. That's what he called himself. By high school, when he showed no interest in flirting, his parents thought he might be lesbian. At twenty, he wondered if he was asexual. At twenty-three, he surgically removed his breasts. A year later, he began taking the hormones that would lower his voice and give him a beard--and he announced his new name and pronouns. Once a Girl, Always a Boy is Jeremy's journey from childhood through coming out as transgender and eventually emerging as an advocate for the transgender community. This is not only Jeremy's story but also that of his family, told from multiple perspectives--those of the siblings who struggled to understand the brother they once saw as a sister, and of the parents who ultimately joined him in the battle against discrimination. This is a story of acceptance in a world not quite ready to accept.
Outlaw Marriages: The Hidden Histories of Fifteen Extraordinary Same-sex CouplesFor more than a century before gay marriage became a hot-button political issue, same-sex unions flourished in America. Pairs of men and pairs of women joined together in committed unions, standing by each other "for richer for poorer, in sickness and in health" for periods of thirty or forty--sometimes as many as fifty--years. In short, they loved and supported each other every bit as much as any husband and wife. In Outlaw Marriages, cultural historian Rodger Streitmatter reveals how some of these unions didn't merely improve the quality of life for the two people involved but also enriched the American culture. Among the high-profile couples whose lives and loves are illuminated in the following pages are Nobel Peace Prize winner Jane Addams and Mary Rozet Smith, literary icon Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas, author James Baldwin and Lucien Happersberger, and artists Jasper Johns and Robert Rauschenberg.
A Queer History of the United States for Young PeopleIt is crucial for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer youth to know their history. But this history is not easy to find since it's rarely taught in schools or commemorated in other ways. A Queer History of the United States for Young People corrects this and demonstrates that LGBTQ people have long been vital to shaping our understanding of what America is today. Through engrossing narratives, letters, drawings, poems, and more, the book encourages young readers, of all identities, to feel pride at the accomplishments of the LGBTQ people who came before them and to use history as a guide to the future. The stories he shares include those of Thomas Morton, who celebrated same-sex love in Boston's Puritan community in the 1620s; Albert D. J. Cashier, an Irish immigrant and Civil War hero, who was born in the body of a woman but lived as a man for over a half century; Gladys Bentley, an African American blues singer who challenged cross-dressing laws in 1920s Harlem; Bayard Rustin, Martin Luther King Jr.'s close friend, civil rights organizer, and an openly gay man; Sylvia Rivera, who along with Marsha P. Johnson, founded the first transgender political group in the United States in 1970; Harvey Milk, a community organizer and the first openly gay politician to win an election in California; Jamie Nabozny, a teen who brought national attention to the issue of LGBTQ bullying by bringing his case to the Supreme Court in the 1990s. With over 60 illustrations and photos, a glossary, and a corresponding curriculum, A Queer History of the United States for Young People will be vital for teachers who want to introduce a new perspective to America's story.
Queer X Design: 50 Years of Signs, Symbols, Banners, Logos, and Graphic Art of LGBTQThe first-ever illustrated history of the iconic designs, symbols, and graphic art representing more than 5 decades of LGBTQ pride and activism--from the evolution of Gilbert Baker's rainbow flag to the NYC Pride typeface launched in 2017 and beyond. Organized by decade beginning with Pre-Liberation and then spanning the 1970s through the millennium, QUEER X DESIGN will be an empowering, uplifting, and colorful celebration of the hundreds of graphics-from shapes and symbols to flags and iconic posters-that have stood for the powerful and ever-evolving LGBTQ movement over the last five-plus decades. Included in the collection will be everything from Gilbert Baker's original rainbow flag, ACT-UP's Silence = Death poster, the AIDS quilt, and Keith Haring's "Heritage of Pride" logo, as well as the original Lavender Menace t-shirt design, logos such as "The Pleasure Chest," protest buttons such as "Anita Bryant Sucks Oranges," and so much more. Sidebars throughout will cover important visual grouping such as a "Lexicon of Pride Flags," explaining the now more than a dozen flags that represent segments of the community and the evolution of the pink triangle.
Trans* in College: Transgender Students' Strategies for Navigating Campus Life and the Institutional Politics of InclusionThis is both a personal book that offers an account of the author's own trans* identity and a deeply engaged study of trans* collegians that reveals the complexities of trans* identities, and how these students navigate the trans* oppression present throughout society and their institutions, create community and resilience, and establish meaning and control in a world that assumes binary genders. This book is addressed as much to trans* students themselves - offering them a frame to understand the genders that mark them as different and to address the feelings brought on by the weight of that difference - as it is to faculty, student affairs professionals, and college administrators, opening up the implications for the classroom and the wider campus. This book not only remedies the paucity of literature on trans* college students, but does so from a perspective of resiliency and agency. Rather than situating trans* students as problems requiring accommodation, this book problematizes the college environment and frames trans* students as resilient individuals capable of participating in supportive communities and kinship networks, and of developing strategies to promote their own success. Z Nicolazzo provides the reader with a nuanced and illuminating review of the literature on gender and sexuality that sheds light on the multiplicity of potential expressions and outward representations of trans* identity as a prelude to the ethnography conducted with nine trans* collegians that richly documents their interactions with, and responses to, environments ranging from the unwittingly offensive to explicitly antagonistic. The book concludes by giving space to the study's participants to themselves share what they want college faculty, staff, and students to know about their lived experiences. Two appendices respectively provide a glossary of vocabulary and terms to address commonly asked questions, and a description of the study design, offered as guide for others considering working alongside marginalized population in a manner that foregrounds ethics, care, and reciprocity.
Transgender PeopleBooks in this anthology series focus a wide range of viewpoints onto a single controversial issue, providing in-depth discussions by leading advocates, a quick grounding in the issues, and a challenge to critical thinking skills.
Unbound: Transgender Men and the Remaking of IdentityAn intimate portrait of a new generation of transmasculine individuals as they undergo gender transitions. Arlene Stein takes us into the lives of four strangers who find themselves together in a sun-drenched surgeon's office, having traveled to Florida from across the United States in order to masculinize their chests. Ben, Lucas, Parker, and Nadia wish to feel more comfortable in their bodies; three of them are also taking testosterone so that others recognize them as male. Following them over the course of a year, Stein shows how members of this young transgender generation, along with other gender dissidents, are refashioning their identities and challenging others' conceptions of who they are. During a time of conservative resurgence, they do so despite great personal costs. Transgender men comprise a large, growing proportion of the trans population, yet they remain largely invisible. In this powerful, timely, and eye-opening account, Stein draws from dozens of interviews with transgender people and their friends and families, as well as with activists and medical and psychological experts. Unbound documents the varied ways younger trans men see themselves and how they are changing our understanding of what it means to be male and female in America.