LibGuides: Marketing: Books & eBooks

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Always on : Advertising, Marketing and Media in an Era of Consumer Control The Wall Street Journal Bestseller The Future is Now--Get Ready to Reap the Profits. We stand at the beginning of a consumer-centric age--an era with potentially enormous returns for leaders in marketing, advertising and media--if they get their approach right. The new media environment is "always on," digitally accessible to audiences from anywhere at any time, and responsive to their control. As consumers get used to this, the world of marketing is shifting to one of constant experimentation, fine-grained insight through new metrics, and continual innovation of the visible advertising message, as well as the changing business infrastructure beneath it. The thought leaders at Booz & Company and strategy+business magazine have collaborated to create an up-to-the-minute exploration of this turbulent yet promising new digital era and its implications for corporate executives and marketing and advertising professionals. Giving you profiles of the best in the business and deep explorations of the most effective innovations and strategies in the marketing world, Always On introduces you to the companies that are reshaping the ways we will reach customers in the future. Their secrets are in this book, including how to: Match your messages to the right media Learn the leading strategies of consumer-centric pioneers Discover the lessons of laggard marketers Explore viral marketing Track advertising spending shifts Capture emerging opportunities in a world of constant change Master the new marketing metrics Engage your customers on their terms Figuring out the best mix of strategies for any brand requires experimentation, networking, innovation, analytics, and risk taking-qualities that have never been adequately nurtured in a marketer's traditional career path. Always On puts you at the front of the race for successful innovation, with the latest successful approaches and techniques--essential competitive knowledge in a marketing and advertising world that never quits.
Beyond Buzz : The Next Generation of Word-of-Mouth Marketing Gold prize winner for best marketing book (tie), 2008 Axiom/Inc Magazine awards Finalist, 2008 Berry-American Marketing Association Book Prize It's official: the old marketing model is dead, and word of mouth is king. But while a lot of attention has been paid to the mechanics of creating buzz, only the savviest of marketers have learnedto focus on crafting the right kind of message - because without it, even the loudest buzz will soon die down. Beyond Buzz shows readers how to listen to customers, identify what is important to them, and then craft the kind of message that will truly resonate and spark conversation. Filled with insightful examples of conversational marketing at work, Beyond Buzz gives readers the tools and inspiration they need to create an effective andinteresting conversational theme that will engage their customers and take their marketing to a whole new level. Without the right message in place, word of mouth marketing will never live up to its promise. This innovative and practical book shows readers how to ignite people's interest... and generate much more than buzz.
CaseBase: Case Studies in Global Business Covers business case studies focused on issues in emerging markets and emerging industries across the globe.
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns An annual publication that profiles important marketing campaigns of the 20th century.
Experiential Marketing : Secrets, Strategies, and Success Stories from the World's Greatest Brands The most researched, documented, and comprehensive manifesto on experiential marketing. As customers take control over what, when, why, and how they buy products and services, brands face the complete breakdown and utter failure of passive marketing strategies designed more than a half-century ago. To connect with a new generation of customers, companies must embrace and deploy a new marketing mix, powered by a more effective discipline: experiences. Experiential marketing, the use of live, face-to-face engagements to connect with audiences, create relationships and drive brand affinity, has become the fastest-growing form of marketing in the world as the very companies that built their brands on the old Madison Avenue approach--including Coca-Cola, Nike, Microsoft, American Express and others--open  the next chapter of marketing. . . as experiential brands. Using hundreds of case studies, exclusive research, and interviews with more than 150 global brands spanning a decade, global experiential marketing experts Kerry Smith and Dan Hanover present the most in-depth book ever written on how companies are using experiences as the anchor of reinvented marketing mixes. You'll learn: The history and fundamental principles of experiential marketing How top brands have reset marketing mixes as experience-driven portfolios The anatomy of a brand experience The psychology of engagement and experience design The 10 habits of highly experiential brands How to measure the impact of experiential marketing How to combine digital and social media in an experiential strategy The experiential marketing vocabulary How to begin converting to experiential marketing Marketers still torn between outdated marketing models and the need to reinvent how they market in today's customer-controlled economy will find the clarity they need to refine their marketing strategies, get a roadmap for putting their brands on a winning path, and walk away inspired to transition into experiential brands.
Global Marketing & Public Relations This volume offers an overview of global marketing techniques and public relations strategies. It covers a variety of international marketing methods and evaluates the potential problems organizations face in pursuing global marketing strategies.
Key Concepts in Marketing Introduces and examines the key issues, methods, models and debates that define the field of marketing today.
Key Concepts in Public Relations Key Concepts in Public Relations provides a comprehensive, easy-to-use overview to the field.
Marketing Plan Templates for Enhancing Profits This workbook coaches business leaders to magnify the profits of a business. They learn a unique scientific system for predicting and achieving results. Their systematic decisions will spark the profits of any business. This system comprises all strategic decisions in the marketing plan for a business. The first part uses the SWOT Analysis to assess its strengths and weaknesses and identify possible opportunities and threats. The SWOT Analysis clarifies the mission, target market, specialty, and suppliers of the business. The questions at the end of these four chapters guide business leaders to focus on quality, describe key customers, compete on strength, and delegate weaknesses. The next part positions the business relative to its competitors with marketing mix decisions. Business leaders specify its products and services, and how to distribute, promote, and price them. These four chapters close with questions that lead the business to offer treasures, deliver delight, trumpet empathy, and price as valued. The final part motivates them to implement their decisions. The clos ing questions motivate business leaders to target key prospects, reward the best, concentrate resources, and jump into action. These twelve decisions transform a marketing plan and build the business. Her unique scientific system coaches business leaders to use the 80/20 rule to magnify their profits.
Measuring Marketing : The 100+ Essential Metrics Every Marketer Needs Marketing has long been considered more art than science, but the demands of a more dynamic, globalized business world has led to the development of sophisticated methods for quantifying marketing success. Organized into eleven focused sections, this reliable resource offers an effective approach to making a complex topic understandable. Written for both marketing managers accountable for growth-driven activities that must yield measurable results as well as senior executives who need a firm understanding of marketing's impact on a business or product line, this informative guide puts more than 110 key metrics in perspective. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of important analytical tools, from brand, customer, and sales metrics to advertising, price, and distributions metrics. And with the addition of new examples and metrics--including significant updates to the online/digital/social area-- Measuring Marketing, Third Edition will put you in a better position to excel at this difficult endeavor.
Strategies in Marketing This volume offers an introduction to a number of marketing policies and strategies as well as their applications in a variety of marketing channels. It begins by describing promotional policies and strategic marketing approaches before discussing a number of applications, including Internet marketing and personal selling.
Studies in Marketing & Advertising This volume offers an introduction to the principles and strategies of advertising and marketing. The collection begins by reviewing managerial strategies in advertising, marketing, and sales groups before examining the principles of marketing and advertising that ensure the efficient use of resources and that effectively promote the company and its products and services.
Teach Yourself: The Ultimate Marketing & PR Book The Ultimate Marketing & PR Book gives you everything you need to be a better marketer. It is a dynamic collection of essential skills covering the topics that will help you make a seismic impact upon your performance - faster than you ever thought possible.

Featured Print Books

Go to OneSearch to search for more print books.

Want more on finding print books? Try our How to Use OneSearch guide.

100 Ideas That Changed Advertising A chronicle of the key ideas that have shaped the adverts we see everyday, 100 Ideas That Changed Advertising offers a fascinating insight into an ever-changing and fast-moving industry. Arranged broadly chronologically, the book looks at the overnight revolutions, the flashes of inspiration and the long-term evolutions that advertisers have wrought upon their industry. Author Simon Veksner guides us through the key ideas behind these changes, from the development of the first advertising formats and the history of branding, to the creative revolutions of the 1960s and the digital age. Looking forward, the book considers the most recent thinking in reaching new audiences, including the rise of neuromarketing and the latest behavioural economics. Illustrated with hundreds of examples of adverts and explaining their power to inspire, delight and annoy, but above all, to make us buy, the book is an absorbing guide to a turbulent, highly-creative industry.
Building a Storybrand : Clarify Your Message So Customers Will Listen New York Times bestselling author Donald Miller uses the seven universal elements of powerful stories to teach readers how to dramatically improve how they connect with customers and grow their businesses. Donald Miller's StoryBrand process is a proven solution to the struggle business leaders face when talking about their businesses. This revolutionary method for connecting with customers provides readers with the ultimate competitive advantage, revealing the secret for helping their customers understand the compelling benefits of using their products, ideas, or services. Building a StoryBrand does this by teaching readers the seven universal story points all humans respond to; the real reason customers make purchases; how to simplify a brand message so people understand it; and how to create the most effective messaging for websites, brochures, and social media. Whether you are the marketing director of a multibillion dollar company, the owner of a small business, a politician running for office, or the lead singer of a rock band, Building a StoryBrand will forever transform the way you talk about who you are, what you do, and the unique value you bring to your customers.
Contagious : Why Things Catch On New York Times bestseller and named Best Marketing Book of 2014 by the American Marketing Association What makes things popular? Why do people talk about certain products and ideas more than others? Why are some stories and rumors more infectious? And what makes online content go viral? If you said advertising, think again. People don't listen to advertisements, they listen to their peers. But why do people talk about certain products and ideas more than others? Why are some stories and rumors more infectious? And what makes online content go viral? Wharton marketing professor Jonah Berger has spent the last decade answering these questions. He's studied why New York Times articles make the paper's own Most E-mailed List, why products get word of mouth, and how social influence shapes everything from the cars we buy to the clothes we wear to the names we give our children. In this book, Berger reveals the secret science behind word-of-mouth and social transmission. Discover how six basic principles drive all sorts of things to become contagious, from consumer products and policy initiatives to workplace rumors and YouTube videos. Contagious combines groundbreaking research with powerful stories. Learn how a luxury steakhouse found popularity through the lowly cheese-steak, why anti-drug commercials might have actually increased drug use, and why more than 200 million consumers shared a video about one of the seemingly most boring products there is: a blender. If you've wondered why certain stories get shared, e-mails get forwarded, or videos go viral, Contagious explains why, and shows how to leverage these concepts to craft contagious content. This book provides a set of specific, actionable techniques for helping information spread--for designing messages, advertisements, and information that people will share. Whether you're a manager at a big company, a small business owner trying to boost awareness, a politician running for office, or a health official trying to get the word out, Contagious will show you how to make your product or idea catch on.
Do Good : Embracing Brand Citizenship to Fuel Both Purpose and Profit Good works are no longer optional. For many businesses, success comes in unexpected ways. Toms grew into a $600 million company by giving away 35 million pair of shoes. Patagonia's profits have climbed year after year even as it funnels heavy investments into sustainability. And it's not just millennials rewarding companies with causes. In every age group, people commit to brands that show good citizenship. From CVS's destocking cigarettes to Chipotle's ethical sourcing, people want to see fair employment practices, social responsibility, and charitable giving-and they quickly call out negligence. Based on extensive research with thousands of consumers, Do Good documents this sea change and explains how to embed social consciousness into a company's DNA. Packed with examples and original data, the five-step model highlights the new rules of business: * TRUST: Deliver on promises * ENRICHMENT: Make daily life easier or more inspiring * RESPONSIBILITY: Treat people and the environment with respect * COMMUNITY: Mirror values shared by customers, employees, and partners * CONTRIBUTION: Make a difference in the world. Buyers today demand more than half-hearted pledges. By actively linking great brands with higher purposes, companies capture both markets and hearts.
Ethical Marketing This book examines, discusses and provides guidance on ethical issues facing marketing practitioners. It begins with an examination of the major ethical theories and applies them in a marketing context. This book accentuates the positive practices that business firms can employ to bring about more ethical marketing. Coverage provides a thorough examination of marketing ethics (advertising, product safety and targeting markets) as well as marketing research, product counterfeiting, channels of distribution, selling practices and how to implement ethics into marketing organizations. For marketing practitioners and those in the business ethics field.
Guerrilla Marketing : Easy and Inexpensive Strategies for Making Big Profits From Your Small Business When Guerrilla Marketing was first published in 1983, Jay Levinson revolutionized marketing strategies for the small-business owner with his take-no-prisoners approach to finding clients. Based on hundreds of solid ideas that really work, Levinson’s philosophy has given birth to a new way of learning about market share and how to gain it. In this completely updated and expanded fourth edition, Levinson offers a new arsenal of weaponry for small-business success including * strategies for marketing on the Internet (explaining when and precisely how to use it) * tips for using new technology, such as podcasting and automated marketing * programs for targeting prospects and cultivating repeat and referral business * management lessons in the age of telecommuting and freelance employees Guerrilla Marketing is the entrepreneur’s marketing bible -- and the book every small-business owner should have on his or her shelf.
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands - Sales and Marketing How do you break the ice in the UAE? When do you present a contract in China? How close should you stand to a South Korean? Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Sales and Marketing is an informative, entertaining guide that shows you what to do--and what to avoid--in any given sales or marketing situation, from Argentina to South Africa. It provides the expert knowledge you need to gather data in diverse cultures, properly present your products, and close deals around the world. "As the global community comes closer together, Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Sales & Marketing will be a valuable resource to every person in every industry around the world." --Gil A. Cardon, Convention Manager, Japan National Tourism Organization "Just as you can be a connoisseur of wine, Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands: Sales and Marketing can help make you a connoisseur of cultures, philosophies, business behaviors, and social practices. Read it not just for work, but for the human side as well." --Giuseppe G. B. Pezzotti, Senior Lecturer, Cornell University School of Hotel Administration "Terri has accurately and succinctly captured the key issues that businesspeople or tourists need to know when traveling. It is spot-on, and a very valuable resource!" --Thomas M. Feifar, Director of Foreign Military Sales, NAVISTAR Defense
Onward: How Starbucks Fought for its Life Without Losing its Soul In 2008, Howard Schultz, the president and chairman of Starbucks, made the unprecedented decision to return as the CEO eight years after he stepped down from daily oversight of the company and became chairman. Concerned that Starbucks had lost its way, Schultz was determined to help it return to its core values and restore not only its financial health, but also its soul. In Onward, he shares the remarkable story of his return and the company's ongoing transformation under his leadership, revealing how, during one of the most tumultuous economic times in history, Starbucks again achievedprofitability and sustainability without sacrificing humanity. Offering readers a snapshot of a moment in history that left no company unscathed, the book zooms in to show, in riveting detail, how one company struggled and recreated itself in the midst of it all. The fastpaced narrative is driven by day-to-day tension as conflicts arise and lets readers into Schultz's psyche as he comes to terms with his limitations and evolving leadership style. Onward is a compelling, candid narrative documenting the maturing of a brand as well as a businessman. Onward represents Schultz's central leadership philosophy: It's not just about winning, but the right way to win. Ultimately, he gives readers what he strives to deliver every day--a sense of hope that, no matter how tough times get, the future can be just as or more successful than the past, whatever one defines success to be.
Profitable Marketing Communications: A Guide to Marketing Return on Investment Marketing is still seen by many companies as a cost, rather than an investment, and tops the list of types of expenditure most likely to go in a downturn. Profitable Marketing Communications explains that marketing is about creating positive value for a business or brand through demonstrating cost versus return. The authors propose a new marketing model, which helps business-owners, CEOs, CFOs and marketers apply an investment-led approach where the focus is value, not cost. Profitable Marketing Communications introduces investment disciplines and strategies to marketing practices. It offers insight into how marketers have delivered outstanding marketing ROI for their companies. Finally, it provides a blueprint to maximize the returns from marketing communications. Case studies show how marketing works as part of a wider business strategy and prove that marketing can give customers, staff and shareholders good reason to stay loyal to companies.
Ten Deadly Marketing Sins: Signs and Solutions Marketing′s undisputed doyen offers an unbeatable guide on what not to do As the cost of marketing rises, its effectiveness is in decline. CEOs want a return on their marketing investment, but can′t be sure their marketing efforts are even working. Truly, marketers have to shape up or watch their business go south. In this clear and comprehensive guide, renowned marketing expert Philip Kotler identifies the ten most common-and most damaging-mistakes marketers make, and how to avoid them. But these ten mistakes are much more than simple mess-ups; they′re glaring deficiencies that prevent companies from succeeding in the marketplace. In Ten Deadly Marketing Sins, Kotler covers each sin in-depth in its own chapter and offers practical, proven guidance for reversing them. Marketers will learn how to stay market-focused and customer-driven, fully understand their customers, keep track of the competition, manage relationships with stakeholders, find new opportunities, develop effective marketing plans, strengthen product and service policies, build brands, get organized, and use technology to the fullest. Covering crucial topics every marketer must understand, Ten Deadly Marketing Sins is a must-have for anyone who want to remain competitive in an increasingly challenging marketplace. Packed with the kind of marketing wisdom only Kotler can provide, this is an indispensable resource for every company-and every marketer-who wants to develop better products, better marketing plans, and better customer relationships. Ten Deadly Marketing Sins is an unbeatable resource from the most respected thinker in modern marketing. Philip Kotler (Chicago, IL) is the S. C. Johnson Distinguished Professor of International Marketing at Northwestern University′s Kellogg Graduate School of Management and the author of 15 books, including Marketing Insights from A to Z (0-471-26867-4) and Lateral Marketing (0-471-45516-4), both published by Wiley.