Open Access Citations

Most library catalogs and databases provide citations for articles, books and media. If you got your source from a library, check to see if a citation also provided. 

COM Library has APA and MLA guides that show how to grab links from our databases and catalogs, as well as in guides for all our databases, many of which include more that APA and MLA styles. Techniques for grabbing he citation will be the same for different styles. 

WorldCat provides citations for books in APA, Chicago, Harvard and Turabian*. Here's how to grab one: 

1. Select Books on the search box, type in your title and search.
2. When reviewing results, make sure to match the edition you are using.
3. When you find your match, click/tap on the title to go to the book page.
4. Look for cite/export on the top right side, under the search box.
5. Click/tap it and select your citation style to get your citation.

As with any resource that provides citations, always double check to make sure formatting is correct. 

* WorldCat doe snot provide MLA 8, the latest version of MLA. Only MLA 7 is available. 

Good news! Google scholar provides citations for articles and some books from the search result list (currently MLA, APA, Chicago (same as Turabian), Harvard or Vancouver). 

To grab a citation click on the Cite link below a search result and select from the available citation styles.

As with any resource that provides citations, always double check to make sure formatting is correct. 

Note: Google Scholar does not include DOI information.

These citation generators can help you build your citations in multiple styles, including APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, ACS, GSA  and more.

They can be especially helpful when you are citing something not available from a database like a web page, image, television or federal statute. 

zoterobib is the quickest and easiest to use. Want to know more? Try How to Use Zoterobib.