LibGuides: Child Growth &amp; Development: Books & eBooks

eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks.

Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.

Adolescent Emotions: Development, Morality, and Adaptation Take an in depth look at how emotions relate to adolescents. It provides a summary of current research on emotions, morality, and adaptive behaviors. Furthermore, it discusses new approaches to research on emotions, morality, and socially adaptive behavior in adolescence. By doing so, the articles provide new insights into adolescents' emotional and moral development and show how emotions contribute to the way adolescents negotiate, resolve, and adapt to the moral and social conflicts that inevitably occur in their everyday lives. By integrating innovative perspectives from developmental, educational, and clinical research, this volume has much to offer for researchers, youth practitioners, and educators. This is the 136th volume of New Directions for Youth Development, the Jossey-Bass quarterly report series is dedicated to bringing together everyone concerned with helping young people, including scholars, practitioners, and people from different disciplines and professions.
By the Ages: Behavior & Development of Children Pre-birth Through Eight This book is a user-friendly, non-technical guide to a child's development, beginning before birth through age eight. This is an easy-to-use tool for evaluating developmental milestones, growth patterns, daily routines, and activities. These authors are both experienced in teaching, child care issues, and have authored professional references on the topic of child development.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development remains the most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting. The second edition has also been thoroughly updated to reflect major developments over the last decade in areas such as neuroscientific methods, developmental cognitive and social neuroscience, the effects of environmental influences on gene expression, and the relationship between human development and evolution. Throughout 124 entries, the Encyclopedia advocates an integrated, interdisciplinary approach to the study of child development. With clear, jargon-free style and user-friendly format, this is the essential reference for researchers and students of child development, as well as healthcare professionals, social workers, educators, and anyone interested in the well-being of children.
Child Development from Birth to Eight Recommended reading for many childcare courses, this book for anyone who works with young children and who needs to know more about how they learn and develop.
Culture of Ambiguity: Implications for Self and Social Understanding in Adolescence Research shows that the ability to "read others" or to make sense of the signs and symbols evident in human communication has an influence on children's self-conceptions and their social interactions in childhood and adolescence. Given that psychological explanations play a key role in teaching and learning, further research is required, particularly on adolescents within the school context. This book investigates which aspects of these discourse experiences foster the growth of understanding of spirit, emotion, and mind in adolescence. Accordingly, from a co-relational approach to the development of understanding mind and education, this book builds on past and current research by investigating the social and emotional antecedents and consequences of psychological understanding in early adolescence. Specifically, this book explores the question: How do adolescents use their ability to understand other minds to navigate their relationships with themselves and their peers within the culture of ambiguity? To address this question, this book critically examines research on adolescents' ability to understand mind, emotion, and spirit, and how they use this ability to help them navigate their relationships within the school setting. This book might appeal to a variety of educators and researchers, ranging from early childhood educators/researchers to university professors specializing in socioemotional and spiritual/moral worlds of adolescents.
Digital Media Use in Early Childhood The easy interface of touchscreen technologies like tablets and smartphones has enabled children to access the digital world from a very young age. But while some commentators are enthusiastic about how this can open a new world for fun, learning, and developing digital skills, others see the dangers of yet more screens, inauthentic play, and time spent isolated with electronic babysitters that detract from interaction with parents and learning social skills. Taking five as the age when children transition into formal education, this book draws on a three-year research project examining the realities of under six-year-olds' experiences of these technologies in the UK and Australia. With a theoretical context including Vygotsky, Bruner, Bronfenbrenner and Flewitt, the book examines how parents of young children evaluate the opportunities and risks of children's digital media use in the context of other significant influences such as children's time with grandparents, early childhood care and education. Drawing on in-depth interviews with 22 families, and rich ethnographic data from observation and exchanges with their 29 children, aged four months to five years, the book reveals how digital technologies complement and challenge important aspects of daily life for infants, toddlers and preschoolers.
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children is the essential reference on research of early childhood education throughout the world. This singular resource provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues as well as the information necessary to make informed judgments about these issues. The field has changed significantly since the publication of the second edition, and this third edition of the handbook takes care to address the entirety of vital new developments. A valuable tool for all those who work and study in the field of early childhood education, this volume addresses critical, cutting edge research on child development, curriculum, policy, and research and evaluation strategies. With a multitude of new and updated chapters, The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children, 3rd Edition makes the expanding knowledge base related to early childhood education readily available and accessible.
The Oxford Handbook of Human Development and Culture The Oxford Handbook of Human Development and Culture provides a comprehensive synopsis of theory and research on human development, with every chapter drawing together findings from cultures around the world. This includes a focus on cultural diversity within nations, cultural change, and globalization. Expertly edited by Lene Arnett Jensen, the Handbook covers the entire lifespan from the prenatal period to old age. It delves deeply into topics such as the development of emotion, language, cognition, morality, creativity, and religion, as well as developmental contexts such as family, friends, civic institutions, school, media, and work. Written by an international group of eminent and cutting-edge experts, chapters showcase the burgeoning interdisciplinary approach to scholarship that bridges universal and cultural perspectives on human development. This "cultural-developmental approach" is a multifaceted, flexible, and dynamic way to conceptualize theory and research that is in step with the cultural and global realities of human development in the 21st century.
Parenting and Child Development In recent years, parenting research has demonstrated that toxic stressors such as intimate partner violence, postpartum depression, and substance abuse significantly diminish the quality of mother-child interaction. Moreover, research has shown that childhood is a sensitive period, during which cumulative exposure to adversities inhibits relationship quality, mother-child interaction and subsequent child health and developmental outcomes. Researchers have focused upon identifying populations at risk and interventions to improve related outcomes. Parenting and Child Development: Issues and Answers encompasses a collection of seminal studies by renowned researcher Dr Nicole Letourneau. The book starts with an examination of the mechanisms by which parent-child interaction and child developmental outcomes are diminished among high-risk families. Promising results of peer support and reflective functioning interventions to promote parent-child interaction and healthy child development are then presented. Finally, the book includes studies that investigate the relationship between genetics, parent-child relationships and child behaviour.
SAGE Key Concepts Series: Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care, Cathy Nutbrown's second edition, explains the key ideas and issues in Early Childhood clearly and concisely, keeping students up-to-date with the latest developments in the field.
Social Cognition in Middle Childhood and Adolescence: Integrating the Personal, Social, and Educational Lives of Young People Bridging psychological theory and educational practice, this is an innovative textbook on the emotional and social aspects of young people's development. Bosacki's Social Cognition in Middle Childhood and Adolescence, First Edition moves beyond tradition cognitivist representations of how children learn and grow, focusing on how to integrate the emotional, cognitive, moral, spiritual and social in young people's experiences. This text bridges the gap between theory and practice; analyses cutting edge research and translates it into culturally sensitive and developmentally appropriate strategies for future educational practice.

Featured Print Books

Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.

The Adolescent Brain: Learning, Reasoning, and Decision Making The period from adolescence through young adulthood is one of great promise and vulnerability. As teenagers approach maturity, they must develop and apply the skills and habits necessary to navigate adulthood and compete in an ever more technological and globalized world. But as parents and researchers have long known, there is a crucial dichotomy between adolescents' cognitive competence and their frequent inability to utilize that competence in everyday decision-making. This volume brings together an interdisciplinary group of leading scientists to examine how the adolescent brain develops, and how this development impacts various aspects of reasoning and decision-making, from the use and function of memory and representation, to judgment, mathematical problem-solving, and the construction of meaning. The contributors ask questions that seek to uncover the basic mechanisms underlying brain development in adolescence, such as: How do the concepts of proof and reasoning emerge? What is the relationship between cognitive and procedural understanding in problem-solving? How can researchers build assessments to capture and describe learning over time? The Adolescent Brain raises questions relevant to young people's educational and health outcomes, as well as to neuroscience research.
Child Development Thorough. Accurate. Reliable. Engaging. These are just a few of the words used by adopters and reviewers of John Santrock's Child Development. Anew Connections theme shows how it all fits together in the most accurate and up-to-date topically-organized text in the field. Used by hundreds of thousands of students over twelve editions, Santrock's proven learning system provides a clear roadmap to content mastery. The fully revised thirteenth edition continues with Santrock's highly contemporary tone and focus, featuring over 1,000 new citations.
Child Development: An Active Learning Approach In the Third Edition of the topically organized Child Development: An Active Learning Approach, authors Laura E. Levine and Joyce A. Munsch invite students to take an active journey toward understanding the latest findings from the field of child development. Using robust pedagogical tools built into the chapter narratives, students are challenged to confront myths and misconceptions, participate in real-world activities with children and independently, and utilize video resources and research tools to pursue knowledge and develop critical thinking skills on their own. This new edition covers the latest findings on developmental neuroscience, positive youth development, the role of fathers, and more, with topics of diversity and culture integrated throughout. More than a textbook, this one-of-a-kind resource will continue to serve students as they go on to graduate studies, to work with children and adolescents professionally, and to care for children of their own.
Child Psychology: A Very Short Introduction This Very Short Introduction provides an up-to-date, authoritative, and accessible guide to modern child psychology, from birth to early adolescence. Beginning with infancy, Usha Goswami considers the process of attachment and "bonding", showing how secure attachments enable the development of self-understanding. Exploring childhood learning, ranging from aspects of language and thinking to cognitive reasoning, Goswami looks at how babies and toddlers develop an understanding of the physical, biological, and social worlds, and develop complex abilities like language and morality. Demonstrating how learning is shaped by the environments surrounding the child; at home, school, with peers, and in wider society, Goswami emphasizes the importance of childhood friendships and siblings for psychological development. Introducing the key theories in child psychology, Goswami explains why children develop as they do and how society can further optimize their development through the adolescent years.
The Everything Child Psychology and Development Book: A Comprehensive Resource on How Children Think, Learn, and Play--From the Final Months Leading Up to Birth to Their Adolescent Years The everything child psychology and development book : a comprehensive resource on how children think, learn, and play--from the final months leading up to birth to their adolescent years.
The Human Spark: The Science of Human Development As infants we are rife with potential. For a short time, we have before us a seemingly infinite number of developmental paths. Soon, however, we become limited to certain paths as we grow into unique products of our genetics and experience. But what factors account for the variation--in skills, personalities, values--that results? How do experiences shape what we bring into the world? In The Human Spark, pioneering psychologist Jerome Kagan offers an unflinching examination of personal, moral, and cultural development that solidifies his place as one of the most influential psychologists of the past century. In this definitive analysis of the factors that shape the human mind, Kagan explores the tension between biology and the environment. He reviews major advances in the science of development over the past three decades and offers pointed critiques and new syntheses. In so doing, Kagan calls out the shortcomings of the modern fad for neuroscience, shows why theories of so-called attachment parenting are based on a misinterpretation of research, and questions the field's reflexive tendency to pathologize the behavior of the young. Most importantly, he reminds us that a life, however influenced by biology and upbringing, is still a tapestry to be woven, not an outcome to be endured. A profound exploration of what is universal and what is individual in human development, The Human Spark is the result of a scientist's lifelong quest to discover how we become who we are. Whether the reader is a first-time parent wondering what influence she, her genes, and the wider world will have on her child; an educator seeking insight into the development of her students; or simply a curious soul seeking self-knowledge, Kagan makes an expert and companionable guide.
Observing and Understanding Child Development Observing and Understanding Child Development: A Child Study Manual is a text designed to help students and practitioners alike learn how to gather and interpret data to gain insight into child development. It covers observation, developmental domains including patterns of development, child development theory, and communication. It features a unique and vitally important chapter on art, music, and movement development, and also covers special needs children in every chapter. This book will move the reader through theory to application, and will remain a timely and important resource that can be referenced again and again. This vital resource is also the perfect reference for the practicing professional and the dedicated parent.
Parenting: Styles and Strategies For new parents, those thinking about becoming parents, and old pros, this new title brings together informative and helpful information about parenting styles and strategies for infants, toddlers, school-age children, pre-teens and teenagers. Hundreds of essays take a deep dive into issues that contemporary parents are facing now, and offer tools and strategies to help deal with difficult behavior, develop sound parenting techniques, and promote learning and cooperation.
The Science Inside the Child: The Story of What Happens When We're Growing Up This engaging book presents some of the ways in which science can describe and explain how and why children develop in the way they do. It looks at children's individual development within the development of our species, at genes, at the hormone systems that flood our bodies, at the neuroscience of children's brains, and at patterns of behavior. It looks, in other words, at the different influences on child development according to the scientific disciplines of evolutionary theory, genetics, epigenetics, endocrinology, neuroscience, epidemiology and psychology. Filled with entertaining anecdotes, Sara Meadows shares the story of what happens when we're growing up, revealing how science can add depth to our understanding. This book will be an informative and enriching read for all parents, educators and carers, and those interested in how children develop to be emotionally balanced, socially skilled, and enthusiastic seekers after knowledge.
Why Gender Matters: What Parents and Teachers Need to Know About the Emerging Science of Sex Differences A revised and updated edition (with more than 70% new material) of the evergreen classic about the innate differences between boys and girls and how best to parent and teach girls and boys successfully, with completely new chapters on sexual orientation and on transgender and intersex kids.