Go to A-Z Databases: Books & eBooks to search for more eBooks. Must access on campus or login with your COM account for off campus access.
Want more on finding books or eBooks? Try our How to Use Books & eBooks guides.
50 Chemistry Ideas You Really Need to Know
50 Chemistry Ideas You Really Need to Know is an engaging guide to the world of chemistry. From the molecules that kick-started life itself to nanotechnology, chemistry offers some fascinating insights into our origins, as well as continuing to revolutionize life as we know it.
Biochemistry for Dummies
Grasp biochemistry basics, apply the science, and ace your exams Are you baffled by biochemistry? If so here's the good news ? you don't have to stay that way! Biochemistry For Dummies shows you how to get a handle on biochemistry, apply the science, raise your grades, and prepare yourself to ace any standardized test. This friendly, unintimidating guide presents an overview of the material covered in a typical college-level biochemistry course and makes the subject easy to understand and accessible to everyone. From cell ultrastructure and carbohydrates to amino acids, proteins, and supramolecular structure, you'll identify biochemical structures and reactions, and send your grades soaring. Newest biology, biochemistry, chemistry, and scientific discoveries Updated examples and explanations Incorporates the most current teaching techniques From water biochemistry to protein synthesis, Biochemistry For Dummies gives you the vital information, clear explanations, and important insights you need to increase your understanding and improve your performance on any biochemistry test.
Chemistry for Dummies
Practice makes perfect?and helps deepen your understanding of chemistry Every high school requires a course in chemistry, and many universities require the course for majors in medicine, engineering, biology, and various other sciences. 1001 Chemistry Practice Problems For Dummies provides students of this popular course the chance to practice what they learn in class, deepening their understanding of the material, and allowing for supplemental explanation of difficult topics. 1001 Chemistry Practice Problems For Dummies takes you beyond the instruction and guidance offered in Chemistry For Dummies, giving you 1,001 opportunities to practice solving problems from the major topics in chemistry. Plus, an online component provides you with a collection of chemistry problems presented in multiple-choice format to further help you test your skills as you go. Gives you a chance to practice and reinforce the skills you learn in chemistry class Helps you refine your understanding of chemistry Practice problems with answer explanations that detail every step of every problem Whether you're studying chemistry at the high school, college, or graduate level, the practice problems in 1001 Chemistry Practice Problems For Dummies range in areas of difficulty and style, providing you with the practice help you need to score high at exam time.
Curriculum Connections: 21st Century Science: Chemistry
This title covers all the different aspects of chemistry and shows, in practical terms, how chemistry affects our lives.
Facts at your Fingertips: Introducing Chemistry: Atoms, Molecules, and States of Matter
In this book, the detailed structure and properties of atoms (the building blocks of matter) are described, including how they bond to produce various types of molecules.
Facts at your Fingertips: Introducing Chemistry: Chemical Reactions
Describes the processes of chemical reactions, how energy and heat are involved, and what factors may affect the speed of reaction.
Facts at your Fingertips: Introducing Chemistry: Metals
ntroduces the periodic table and describes the basic characteristics of metals along with detailed descriptions of their atomic structure, reactivity, properties, discovery, sources and uses.
Facts at your Fingertips: Introducing Chemistry: Nonmetals
Introduces nonmetals, from hydrogen to the noble gases, and offers experiments for practical investigation.
Facts at your Fingertips: Introducing Chemistry: Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry
The science that studies these is organic chemistry, and the study of chemical reactions in living organisms is biochemistry. This book, part of a new series that introduces the essentials of chemistry, looks at these vital subjects.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary is a compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology. Provides concise, condensed, and prompt definitions of terms and phenomena in chemistry, biology, biochemistry, and more. Is ideal for those with only minutes to devote to any given chemical substance or topic.
Inorganic Chemistry for Dummies
The easy way to get a grip on inorganic chemistry Inorganic chemistry can be an intimidating subject, but it doesn't have to be! Whether you're currently enrolled in an inorganic chemistry class or you have a background in chemistry and want to expand your knowledge, Inorganic Chemistry For Dummies is the approachable, hands-on guide you can trust for fast, easy learning. Inorganic Chemistry For Dummies features a thorough introduction to the study of the synthesis and behavior of inorganic and organometallic compounds. In plain English, it explains the principles of inorganic chemistry and includes worked-out problems to enhance your understanding of the key theories and concepts of the field. Presents information in an effective and straightforward manner Covers topics you'll encounter in a typical inorganic chemistry course Provides plain-English explanations of complicated concepts If you're pursuing a career as a nurse, doctor, or engineer or a lifelong learner looking to make sense of this fascinating subject, Inorganic Chemistry For Dummies is the quick and painless way to master inorganic chemistry.
Molecular Structure
Written by a founding father of computational chemistry, Structure and Properties of Organic Molecules provides organic, physical, computational, pharmaceutical/medicinal, and polymer chemists with a strong understanding of the structure and properties of organic molecules by bringing together the computational methods and the experimental methods commonly used for studies of molecular structure. Both a useful text and self-teaching guide, coverage includes experimental structures from electron, neutron, X-ray diffraction, microwave spectroscopy, and computational structures, ab initio, semi-emperitcal molecular orbital, and molecular mechanics calculations.
The Periodic Table
The periodic table is one of the most potent icons in science. It lies at the core of chemistry and embodies the most fundamental principles of the field. The one definitive text on the development of the periodic table by van Spronsen (1969), has been out of print for a considerable time. The present book provides a successor to van Spronsen, but goes further in giving an evaluation of the extent to which modern physics has, or has not, explained the periodic system. The book is written in a lively style to appeal to experts and interested lay-persons alike. The Periodic Table begins with an overview of the importance of the periodic table and of the elements and it examines the manner in which the term 'element' has been interpreted by chemists and philosophers. The book then turns to a systematic account of the early developments that led to the classification of the elements including the work of Lavoisier, Boyle and Dalton and Cannizzaro. The precursors to the periodic system, like Döbereiner and Gmelin, are discussed. In chapter 3 the discovery of the periodic system by six independent scientists is examined in detail. Two chapters are devoted to the discoveries of Mendeleev, the leading discoverer, including his predictions of new elements and his accommodation of already existing elements. Chapters 6 and 7 consider the impact of physics including the discoveries of radioactivity and isotopy and successive theories of the electron including Bohr's quantum theoretical approach. Chapter 8 discusses the response to the new physical theories by chemists such as Lewis and Bury who were able to draw on detailed chemical knowledge to correct some of the early electronic configurations published by Bohr and others. Chapter 9 provides a critical analysis of the extent to which modern quantum mechanics is, or is not, able to explain the periodic system from first principles. Finally, chapter 10 considers the way that the elements evolved following the Big Bang and in the interior of stars. The book closes with an examination of further chemical aspects including lesser known trends within the periodic system such as the knight's move relationship and secondary periodicity, as well at attempts to explain such trends.
Physical Chemistry : How Chemistry Works
Much of chemistry is motivated by asking 'How'? How do I make a primary alcohol? React a Grignard reagent with formaldehyde. Physical chemistry is motivated by asking 'Why'? The Grignard reagent and formaldehyde follow a molecular dance known as a reaction mechanism in which stronger bonds are made at the expense of weaker bonds. If you are interested in asking 'why' and not just 'how', then you need to understand physical chemistry. Physical Chemistry: How Chemistry Works takes a fresh approach to teaching in physical chemistry. This modern textbook is designed to excite and engage undergraduate chemistry students and prepare them for how they will employ physical chemistry in real life. The student-friendly approach and practical, contemporary examples facilitate an understanding of the physical chemical aspects of any system, allowing students of inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, analytical chemistry and biochemistry to be fluent in the essentials of physical chemistry in order to understand synthesis, intermolecular interactions and materials properties. For students who are deeply interested in the subject of physical chemistry, the textbook facilitates further study by connecting them to the frontiers of research. Provides students with the physical and mathematical machinery to understand the physical chemical aspects of any system. Integrates regular examples drawn from the literature, from contemporary issues and research, to engage students with relevant and illustrative details. Important topics are introduced and returned to in later chapters: key concepts are reinforced and discussed in more depth as students acquire more tools. Chapters begin with a preview of important concepts and conclude with a summary of important equations. Each chapter includes worked examples and exercises: discussion questions, simple equation manipulation questions, and problem-solving exercises. Accompanied by supplementary online material: worked examples for students and a solutions manual for instructors. Written by an experienced instructor, researcher and author in physical chemistry, with a voice and perspective that is pedagogical and engaging.
Principles and Practice of Analytical Chemistry
Over more than two decades this book has established itself as the first choice for growing numbers of students and practising analysts who require a well-written and concise overview of the principles and practice of analytical chemistry. Recurring themes are improvement in medicine and the environment, the I.T. revolution and its continuing impacts on both analytical methodology and data handling. The successive editions of Principles and Practice of Analytical Chemistry have kept pace with the associated developments in the subject. Significant changes encompass strengthening of the coverage of data handling, together with new material covering rapidly developing subject areas of molecular spectrometry, atomic spectrometry, and separation techniques. Answers to the self- learning problems and exercises are also included. All sections of the book have been fully reviewed and updated as appropriate. The new edition of the book continues to provide a sound and broad base for the study of analytical chemistry by undergraduate and postgraduate students, and to be a useful resource for practising analysts, seeking a summary of the principles of techniques and methods.
Principles of Chemistry
This new resource introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of chemistry. Entries are written in easy-to-understand language, so readers can use these entries as a solid starting off point to develop a thorough understanding of this often time confusing subject matter. This reference work begins with a comprehensive introduction to the field, starting with man's earliest understanding of the primary substance of life and concluding with a discussion of chemistry as the "central science" and touching on the exciting contemporary research being conducted around such fascinating amterial as grapheme and buckyballs. Principles of Chemistry includes 128 entries ranging from Acid Anhydrides to Zone Refining. All entries are arranged in an A to Z order, making it easy to find the topic of interest. Each entry includes: related fields of study to illustrate the connections between the various branches of chemistry;a brief, concrete summary of the topic and how the entry was organized; principal terms that are fundamental to the discussion and to understanding the concepts presented; illustrations that clarify difficult concepts via models, diagrams, and charts of such key topics as the relationship between acid and bases, molecular structures, bonds, and reactions; equations that demonstrate how chemical formulas are written, how equations are balanced, and other important functions; photographs of significant contributors to the study of chemistry; sample problems that further demonstrate the concerpt presented; and further reading list that relates to the entry. Entries are arranged into easy-to-use subject areas. Salem Press' Principles of Chemistry covers: - Chemical Reactions - covers basic terms and concepts including Biochemistry, Diffusion, DNA & RNA Synthesis, Hydrolysis, Osmosis, Pericyclic Reactions, Redox Reactions and more. - Reaction Calculations - provides detail on Avogadro's Law, Balancing Equations, Conservation of Mass, Definite Proportions, Molecular Formula, Multitple Proportions, Percentage Composition, and Stoichiometry. - Elements, Molecules, & Compounds - covers Acids & Bases, Alkali Metals, Amino Acids, Atoms, Chemical Energy, Inert Gases, Man-made Elements, Molecular Formula, Neutrons, Protons, Reading the Periodic Table, Radioactive Elements, Salts, Toxins and many more. - Organic Chemistry: Functional Matter - provides an explanation of Acid Chloride, Alkynes, Benzene & Other Rings, Diols, Ketones, Phenols, Reaction Mechanisms and Reaction Rates. - Properties of Matter - covers Aromaticity, Atomic Number, Ductility, Half-Life, Lewis Structure, Litmus Test, Molarity, Orbitals, Radioactive Decay, Spectroscopy, Sublimation, and many more. This new resource will be a helpful tool for students and researchers who are just beginning their study of chemistry and need a solid background of the key terms and elements in the field. A must for all high school and undergraduate science programs.
Reactions : The Private Life of Atoms
Through an innovative, closely integrated design of images and text, and his characteristically clear, precise, and economical exposition, Peter Atkins explains the processes involved in chemical reactions. He begins by introducing a "tool kit" of basic reactions, such as precipitation,corrosion, and catalysis, and concludes by showing how these building blocks are brought together in more complex processes such as photosynthesis.
Reactive Intermediates in Organic Chemistry
Most reactions in organic chemistry do not proceed in a single step but rather take several steps to yield the desired product. In the course of these multi-step reaction sequences, short-lived intermediates can be generated that quickly convert into other intermediates, reactants, products or side products. As these intermediates are highly reactive, they cannot usually be isolated, but their existence and structure can be proved by theoretical and experimental methods. Using the information obtained, researchers can better understand the underlying reaction mechanism of a certain organic transformation and thus develop novel strategies for efficient organic synthesis. The chapters are clearly structured and are arranged according to the type of intermediate, providing information on the formation, characterization, stereochemistry, stability, and reactivity of the intermediates. Additionally, representative examples and a problem section with different levels of difficulty are included for self-testing the newly acquired knowledge. By providing a deeper understanding of the underlying concepts, this is a musthave reference for PhD and Master Students in organic chemistry, as well as a valuable source of information for chemists in academia and industry working in the field. It is also ideal as primary or supplementary reading for courses on organic chemistry, physical organic chemistry or analytical chemistry.
Scientific Method
The central theme running throughout this outstanding new survey is the nature of the philosophical debate created by modern science's foundation in experimental and mathematical method. More recently, recognition that reasoning in science is probabilistic generated intense debate about whether and how it should be constrained so as to ensure the practical certainty of the conclusions drawn. These debates brought to light issues of a philosophical nature which form the core of many scientific controversies today. Scientific Method: A Historical and Philosophical Introduction presents these debates through clear and comparative discussion of key figures in the history of science. Key chapters critically discuss * Galileo's demonstrative method, Bacon's inductive method, and Newton's rules of reasoning * the rise of probabilistic `Bayesian' methods in the eighteenth century * the method of hypotheses through the work of Herschel, Mill and Whewell * the conventionalist views of Poincaré and Duhem * the inductivism of Peirce, Russell and Keynes * Popper's falsification compared with Reichenbach's enumerative induction * Carnap's scientific method as Bayesian reasoning The debates are brought up to date in the final chapters by considering the ways in which ideas about method in the physical and biological sciences have affected thinking about method in the social sciences. This debate is analyzed through the ideas of key theorists such as Kuhn, Lakatos, and Feyerabend.
Understanding Chemistry
CNR Rao is Linus Pauling Research professor at the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research and honorary professor at the Indian Institute of science. He was at the Indian Institute of Technology, Karpur and has been a visting professor at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He is a member of many science academies including the Indian National Science Academy, The Royal society, London, U.S. National Academy of Sciences, Russian Academy and Japan Academy. He was president of the International Union of pure and Applied Chemistry and president of the Third World Academy of Sciences. He has received several medals and prizes which include the Marlow Medal of the Faraday Society, Centenary Fellowship of the American Chemical Society, Hevrovsky medal of the Czechoslovak Academy, Einstein Gold Medal of UNESCO, the Centenary Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry, London and the Hughes medal of the Royal Society. Professor Rao is the first recipient of the India science Award and the Dan David International Prize for Science (2005). He is the recipient of 42 honorary doctorate degrees and author of 1,400 research papers and 40 books. He was named National Research professor in 2006.
Search OneSearch for books, eBooks and media items in COM Library.
The Basics of Chemistry
Written for students beginning a formal study of chemistry, this volume encompasses many different topics in and approaches to introductory chemistry. Chapters are devoted to topics such as the atom, elements and the periodic table, bonding, equilibrium and kinetics, solutions, acids and bases, and chemical reactions. Several chapters discuss broad areas of chemistry including organic chemistry, biochemistry, environmental chemistry, and industrial chemistry. Illustrations and diagrams help the student understand chemical structures and reactions, and numerous tables present a wealth of reference information. The historical developments of chemical concepts are traced, and biographical information is provided on key individuals responsible for the development of modern chemistry. Appendices include an extensive bibliography, a glossary of over 400 chemical terms, an overview of Nobel laureates in chemistry, and an element reference table. This book will be of use not only to students, but also to anyone seeking an overview of the field. Teachers of all grades can use Basics of Chemistry as a practical general reference.
The Beauty of Chemistry : art, wonder, and science Creator/Author
Chemistry is not just about microscopic atoms doing inscrutable things; it is the process that makes flowers and galaxies. We rely on it for bread-baking, vegetable-growing, and producing the materials of daily life. In stunning images and illuminating text, this book captures chemistry as it unfolds. Using such techniques as microphotography, time-lapse photography, and infrared thermal imaging, The Beauty of Chemistry shows us how chemistry underpins the formation of snowflakes, the science of champagne, the colors of flowers, and other wonders of nature and technology. We see the marvelous configurations of chemical gardens; the amazing transformations of evaporation, distillation, and precipitation; heat made visible; and more.
Cathedrals of Science : The Personalities and Rivalries That Made Modern Chemistry
Cathedrals of Science describes the way modern chemistry was actually built-by scientists who were sometimes all too human. Chemists-Svante Arrhenius, Walther Nernst, Gilbert Lewis, Irving Langmuir, Fritz Haber, Linus Pauling, Glenn Seaborg, Harold Urey, and others-appear in differentcombinations in its chapters, struggling to understand what was driving chemical processes, but not doing so selflessly. They were all concerned with what is called "priority"-the credit for being the first to make a discovery, and all but Lewis eventually won the Nobel prize. They sometimes actedspitefully: Arrhenius managed to block Nernst's Nobel prize for 15 years, and Nernst may have blocked Lewis's completely. World War I was the first war in which scientists were forced to make moral choices about their work. Fritz Haber's synthesis of ammonia from atmospheric nitrogen allowed the Germans to prolong the war for four years. And Haber became known as the "father of chemical warfare," introducingchlorine, phosgene, and mustard gas to the battlefield. Glenn Seaborg and Harold Urey were both leaders in World War II's Manhattan Project. Seaborg later built his career on his successes there, while Urey nearly had a nervous breakdown and dedicated himself to control of nuclear weapons. Paulingtoo became politically active and won the 1963 Nobel peace prize for his work to stop atmospheric nuclear testing. A different sort of ethical issue arose when Hitler came to power in Germany in 1933 and immediately fired all government employees, including the university professors. Haber went into exile and died soon thereafter. Some non-Jewish scientists were principled, like Nernst, who refused to haveanything to do with the Nazis. Some supported the Nazis, and some were happy to take advantage of the professorships opened up by the expulsion of the Jews.
Chemical Calculations : Mathematics for Chemistry
Many undergraduate students enter into chemistry courses from a wide range of backgrounds, often possessing various levels of experience with the mathematical concepts necessary for carrying out practical calculations in chemistry. Chemical Calculations: Mathematics for Chemistry, Second Edition provides a unified, student-friendly reference of mathematical concepts and techniques incorporated into the context of familiar chemical topics. Uniquely organized by chemical--rather than mathematical--topics, this book relates each mathematical technique to the chemical concepts where it applies. The new edition features additional, revised, and updated material in every chapter. It achieves greater clarity with newly improved organization of topics and cross-referencing where mathematical techniques occur more than once. The text also contains numerous worked examples along with end-of-chapter exercises and detailed solution--giving students the opportunity to apply previously introduced techniques to chemically related problems. An ideal course companion for chemistry courses throughout the length of a degree, the second edition of Chemical Calculations: Mathematics for Chemistrymay also extend its utility as a concise and practical reference for professionals in a wide array of scientific disciplines involving chemistry.
Chemistry : A Very Short Introduction
Most people remember chemistry from their schooldays as largely incomprehensible, a subject that was fact-rich but understanding-poor, smelly, and so far removed from the real world of events and pleasures that there seemed little point, except for the most introverted, in coming to terms withits grubby concepts, spells, recipes, and rules. Peter Atkins wants to change all that. In this Very Short Introduction to Chemistry, he encourages us to look at chemistry anew, through a chemist's eyes, in order to understand its central concepts and to see how it contributes not only towards our material comfort, but also to human culture. Atkins shows how chemistry provides theinfrastructure of our world, through the chemical industry, the fuels of heating, power generation, and transport, as well as the fabrics of our clothing and furnishings. By considering the remarkable achievements that chemistry has made, and examining its place between both physics and biology, Atkins presents a fascinating, clear, and rigorous exploration of the world of chemistry - its structure, core concepts, and exciting contributions to new cutting-edgetechnologies. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Chemistry for Dummies
Chemistry For Dummies, 2nd Edition (9781119293460) was previously published as Chemistry For Dummies, 2nd Edition (9781118007303). While this version features a new Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product. See how chemistry works in everything from soaps to medicines to petroleum We're all natural born chemists. Every time we cook, clean, take a shower, drive a car, use a solvent (such as nail polish remover), or perform any of the countless everyday activities that involve complex chemical reactions we're doing chemistry! So why do so many of us desperately resist learning chemistry when we're young? Now there's a fun, easy way to learn basic chemistry. Whether you're studying chemistry in school and you're looking for a little help making sense of what's being taught in class, or you're just into learning new things, Chemistry For Dummies gets you rolling with all the basics of matter and energy, atoms and molecules, acids and bases, and much more! Tracks a typical chemistry course, giving you step-by-step lessons you can easily grasp Packed with basic chemistry principles and time-saving tips from chemistry professors Real-world examples provide everyday context for complicated topics Full of modern, relevant examples and updated to mirror current teaching methods and classroom protocols, Chemistry For Dummies puts you on the fast-track to mastering the basics of chemistry.
Chemistry for the Utterly Confused
Banish bafflement in this tough subject! From formulas and lab techniques to the periodic table, Chemistry for the Utterly Confused focuses on the areas of maximum confusion and breaks down the most difficult chemistry topics into easy-to-understand concepts. This invaluable guide also teaches problem-solving skills you need to master this imposing subject. Whether you're in high school, in college, or simply brushing up on chemistry knowledge, this fun, easily accessible book will make understanding chemistry a breeze.
CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety
Expanded and updated, The CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety, Fifth Edition provides information on planning and building a facility, developing an organization infrastructure, planning for emergencies and contingencies, choosing the correct equipment, developing operational plans, and meeting regulatory requirements. Still the essential reference tool, the New Edition helps you organize your safety efforts to adhere to the latest regulations and use the newest technology. Thoroughly revised, the CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety, Fifth Edition includes new OSHA laboratory safety standards, the 1994 NRC radiation safety standards, guidelines for X-ray use in hospitals, enforcement of standards for dealing with blood-borne pathogens, OSHA actions covering hazardous waste operations and emergency response, and the latest CDC guidelines for research with microbial hazards. Every word on every page has been scrutinized, and literally hundreds of changes have been made to bring the material up to date. See what's new in the New Edition New figures and tables illustrating the new material Internet references in addition to journal articles Changes in the Clean Air Act regarding incineration of hospital, medical, and infectious waste Obsolete articles removed and replaced - over one hundred pages of new material New information on respiratory protection guidelines
The Elements : A Very Short Introduction
This Very Short Introduction traces the history and cultural impact of the elements on humankind, and examines why people have long sought to identify the substances around them. Looking beyond the Periodic Table, the author examines our relationship with matter, from the uncomplicated visionof the Greek philosophers, who believed there were four elements - earth, air, fire, and water - to the work of modern-day scientists in creating elements such as hassium and meitnerium. Packed with anecdotes, The Elements is a highly engaging and entertaining exploration of the fundamentalquestion: what is the world made from?
Ethics of chemistry: from poison gas to climate engineering
"Although chemistry has been the target of numerous public moral debates for over a century, there is still no academic field of ethics of chemistry to develop an ethically balanced view of the discipline. And while ethics courses are increasingly demanded for science and engineering students in many countries, chemistry is still lagging behind because of a lack of appropriate teaching material. This volume fills both gaps by establishing the scope of ethics of chemistry and providing a cased-based approach to teaching, thereby also narrating a cultural history of chemistry. From poison gas in WWI to climate engineering of the future, this volume covers the most important historical cases of chemistry. It draws lesson from major disasters of the past, such as in Bhopal and Love Canal, or from thalidomide, Agent Orange, and DDT. It further introduces to ethical arguments pro and con by discussing issues about bisphenol-A, polyvinyl chloride, and rare earth elements; as well as of contested chemical projects such as human enhancement, the creation of artificial life, and patents on human DNA. Moreover, it illustrates chemical engagements in preventing hazards, from the prediction of ozone depletion, to Green Chemistry, and research in recycling, industrial substance substitution, and clean-up. Students also learn about codes of conduct and chemical regulations. An international team of experts narrate the historical cases and analyse their ethical dimensions. All cases are suitable for undergraduate teaching, either in classes of ethics, history of chemistry, or in chemistry classes proper"--Publisher's website.
The History of Chemistry : A Very Short Introduction
From man's first exploration of natural materials and their transformations to today's materials science, chemistry has always been the central discipline that underpins both the physical and biological sciences, as well as technology. In this Very Short Introduction, William H Brock traces the unique appeal of this fundamental science throughout history. Covering alchemy, early-modern chemistry, pneumatic chemistry and Lavoisier's re-interpretation of chemical change, the rise of organic and physical chemistry, and thetransforming power of synthesis, Brock explores the extraordinary and often puzzling transformations of natural and artificial materials, as well as the men and women who experimented, speculated, and explained matter and change. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
A History of Chemistry : From the Earliest Times Till the Present Day
This scarce antiquarian book is a facsimile reprint of the original. Due to its age, it may contain imperfections such as marks, notations, marginalia and flawed pages. Because we believe this work is culturally important, we have made it available as part of our commitment for protecting, preserving, and promoting the world's literature in affordable, high quality, modern editions that are true to the original work.
Inorganic Chemistry for Dummies
The easy way to get a grip on inorganic chemistry Inorganic chemistry can be an intimidating subject, but it doesn't have to be! Whether you're currently enrolled in an inorganic chemistry class or you have a background in chemistry and want to expand your knowledge, Inorganic Chemistry For Dummies is the approachable, hands-on guide you can trust for fast, easy learning. Inorganic Chemistry For Dummies features a thorough introduction to the study of the synthesis and behavior of inorganic and organometallic compounds. In plain English, it explains the principles of inorganic chemistry and includes worked-out problems to enhance your understanding of the key theories and concepts of the field. Presents information in an effective and straightforward manner Covers topics you'll encounter in a typical inorganic chemistry course Provides plain-English explanations of complicated concepts If you're pursuing a career as a nurse, doctor, or engineer or a lifelong learner looking to make sense of this fascinating subject, Inorganic Chemistry For Dummies is the quick and painless way to master inorganic chemistry.
The Joy of Chemistry : The Amazing Science of Familiar Things
This book challenges the perception of chemistry as too difficult to bother with and too clinical to be any fun. Cathy Cobb and Monty L. Fetterolf, both professional chemists and experienced educators, introduce readers to the magic, elegance, and, yes, joy of chemistry. From the fascination of fall foliage and fireworks, to the functioning of smoke detectors and computers, to the fundamentals of digestion (as when good pizza goes bad!), the authors illustrate the concepts of chemistry in terms of everyday experience, using familiar materials. The authors begin with a bang—a colorful bottle rocket assembled from common objects you find in the garage—and then present the principles of chemistry using household chemicals and friendly, nontechnical language. They guide the reader through the basics of atomic structure, the nature of molecular bonds, and the vibrant universe of chemical reactions. Using analogy and example to illuminate essential concepts such as thermodynamics, photochemistry, electrochemistry, and chemical equilibrium, they explain the whys and wherefores of chemical reactions. Hands-on demonstrations, selected for their ease of execution and relevance, illustrate basic principles, and lively commentaries emphasize the fun and fascination of learning about chemistry. This delightful and richly informative book amply proves that chemistry can appeal to our intuition, logic, and—if we’re willing to get down and dirty—our sense of enjoyment too.
Molecules : A Very Short Introduction
The processes in a single living cell are akin to that of a city teeming with molecular inhabitants that move, communicate, cooperate, and compete. In this Very Short Introduction, Philip Ball explores the role of the molecule in and around us - how, for example, a single fertilized egg cangrow into a multi-celled Mozart, what makes spider's silk insoluble in the morning dew, and how this molecular dynamism is being captured in the laboratory, promising to reinvent chemistry as the central creative science of the century.
Molecules : The Elements and the Architecture of Everything
In his highly anticipated sequel to The Elements, Theodore Gray demonstrates how the elements of the periodic table combine to form the molecules that make up our world. Everything physical is made up of the elements and the infinite variety of molecules they form when they combine with each other. In Molecules, Theodore Gray takes the next step in the grand story that began with the periodic table in his best-selling book, The Elements: A Visual Exploration of Every Known Atom in the Universe. Here, he explores through fascinating stories and trademark stunning photography the most interesting, essential, useful, and beautiful of the millions of chemical structures that make up every material in the world. Gray begins with an explanation of how atoms bond to form molecules and compounds, as well as the difference between organic and inorganic chemistry. He then goes on to explore the vast array of materials molecules can create, including: soaps and solvents; goops and oils; rocks and ores; ropes and fibers; painkillers and dangerous drugs; sweeteners; perfumes and stink bombs; colors and pigments; and controversial compounds including asbestos, CFCs, and thimerosal. Big, gorgeous photographs, as well as diagrams of the compounds and their chemical bonds, rendered with never before seen beauty, fill the pages and capture molecules in their various states. As he did in The Elements, Gray shows us molecules as we've never seen them before. It's the perfect book for his loyal fans who've been eager for more and for anyone fascinated with the mysteries of the material world.
Molecules and Models
This book provides a systematic description of the molecular structures and bonding in simple compounds of the main group elements with particular emphasis on bond distances, bond energies and coordination geometries. The description includes the structures of hydrogen, halogen and methylderivatives of the elements in each group, some of these molecules are ionic, some polar covalent. The survey of molecules whose structures conform to well-established trends is followed by representative examples of molecules that do not conform. We also describe electron donor-acceptor andhydrogen bonded complexes.Chemists use models to systematize our knowledge, to memorize information and to predict the structures of compounds that have not yet been studied. The book provides a lucid discussion of a number of models such as the Lewis electron-pair bond and the VSEPR models, the spherical and polarizable ionmodels, and molecular orbital calculations, and it outlines the successes and failures of each.
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry
Fully revised and updated, the sixth edition of this popular dictionary is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry, either at school or at university. With over 4,700 entires - over 200 new to this edition - it covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry tobiochemistry. The sixth edition boasts broader coverage in subject areas such as forensics, metallurgy, materials science, and geology, increasing the dictionary's appeal to students in these related fields. There are also biographical entries on key figures, highlighted entries on major topics suchas polymers and crystal defects, and a chronology charting the main discoveries in atomic theory, biochemistry, explosives, and plastics.
The Periodic Table : A Very Short Introduction
In this authoritative Very Short Introduction to the periodic table, Eric Scerri presents a modern and fresh exploration of this fundamental topic in the physical sciences, considering the deeper implications of the arrangements of the table to atomic physics and quantum mechanics. Scerri looks at the trends in properties of elements that led to the construction of the periodic table, and how the deeper meaning of its structure gradually became apparent with the development of atomic theory and quantum mechanics, so that physics arguably came to colonize an entirely different science, chemistry.
Physical Chemistry : A Very Short Introduction
With the development of a variety of exciting new areas of research involving computational chemistry, nano- and smart materials, and applications of the recently discovered graphene, there can be no doubt that physical chemistry is a vitally important field. It is also perceived as the mostdaunting branch of chemistry, being necessarily grounded in physics and mathematics and drawing as it does on quantum mechanics, thermodynamics, and statistical thermodynamics.With his typical clarity and hardly a formula in sight, Peter Atkins' Very Short Introduction explores the contributions physical chemistry has made to all branches of chemistry. Providing an insight into its central concepts Atkins reveals the cultural contributions physical chemistry has made toour understanding of the natural world. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Schaum's Outline of Theory and Problems of Beginning Chemistry
This clear and complete guide to the fundamentals of chemistry features course material in a succinct outline form, together with hundreds of detailed, fully solved problems. A perfect companion to most standard texts, this third edition has been updated to include the latest pedagogic approaches; more than 670 fully worked problems of varying difficulty, designed to lead you safely through the pitfalls of the course; and hundreds more practice problems.
Transforming Matter : A History of Chemistry from Alchemy to the Buckyball
Chemistry explores the way atoms interact, the constitution of the stars, and the human genome. Knowledge of chemistry makes it possible for us to manufacture dyes and antibiotics, metallic alloys, and other materials that contribute to the necessities and luxuries of human life. In Transforming Matter, noted historian Trevor H. Levere emphasizes that understanding the history of these developments helps us to appreciate the achievements of generations of chemists. Levere examines the dynamic rise of chemistry from the study of alchemy in the seventeenth century to the development of organic and inorganic chemistry in the age of government-funded research and corporate giants. In the past two centuries, he points out, the number of known elements has quadrupled. And because of synthesis, chemistry has increasingly become a science that creates much of what it studies. Throughout the book, Levere follows a number of recurring themes: theories about the elements, the need for classification, the status of chemical science, and the relationship between practice and theory. He illustrates these themes by concentrating on some of chemistry's most influential and innovative practitioners. Transforming Matter provides an accessible and clearly written introduction to the history of chemistry, telling the story of how the discipline has developed over the years.
What Is Chemistry?
Most people remember chemistry from their schooldays as a subject that was largely incomprehensible, fact-rich but understanding-poor, smelly, and so far removed from the real world of events and pleasures that there seemed little point, except for the most introverted, in coming to terms withits grubby concepts, spells, recipes, and rules. Peter Atkins wants to change all that. In What is Chemistry? he encourages us to look at chemistry anew, through a chemist's eyes, to understand its central concepts and to see how it contributes not only towards our material comfort, but also to human culture. Atkins shows how chemistry providesthe infrastructure of our world, through the chemical industry, the fuels of heating, power generation, and transport, as well as the fabrics of our clothing and furnishings. By considering the remarkable achievements that chemistry has made, and examining its place between both physics and biology, Atkins presents a fascinating, clear, and rigorous exploration of the world of chemistry - its structure, core concepts, and exciting contributions to new cutting-edgetechnologies.
© 2024 COM Library
1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591
409-933-8448 . FAX 409-933-8030
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
