Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COM Library News

Welcome Back Faculty!

by Kathryn Park on 2021-01-11T08:00:00-06:00 in Faculty, About COM Library | Comments

""

We missed you!
The physical library and the online library are open for Fall! The online library has never been closed and the physical library reopens on August 24th. You can see hours for the physical library, online library and library lab here. There will be some changes to allow for social distancing and decrease contact. You can go to About COM Library to see the latest information

Loads of Resources for Your Students!!! 
We have loads of resources that your students can access online! They can access them all from home, 24/7. They will just need to login with their COM ID and last name. 

  • Millions of articles from scholarly databases like Academic Search Complete, Gale Academic OneFile, and Research Library. See all our scholarly databases
  • Hundreds of thousands of current events and news articles from databases like CQ Researcher, NewsBank, Gale Global Issues and lots more! See all our current events databases.
  • Hundreds of thousands of eBooks from Ebook Central, EBSCO eBooks, OverDrive eBooks and more! See all eBook our collections
  • Tens of thousands of streaming videos from Films on Demand as well as other collections with streaming media

We have great How To guides for all our databases. If your students need help, they can just start a live chat with us during library hours, text us, email us or submit an online form. There are lots of ways to get help

Scans of Reserves
We are still filling requests of scanned chapters of reserve items for your students. Just so you know, students are making requests and are depending on these scanned chapters. What we can send them is limited to what we already have scanned. I’ve published a list for those items on the Textbook Checkout page. Click/tap on the list to see full size. Please let me know what you’d like scanned for Summer II so we can get those ready for your students. 

Virtual Librarians for your Courses
Let me know if you’d like a virtual librarian for your Summer II courses. Your virtual librarian will send out several announcements during the semester with links to top resources for their assignments as well as links to get help with the research directly from library staff via live chat, texts, emails and online forms. Email me you’d like a virtual librarian for your class. 

Library Instruction via Teams or Zoom
We can still deliver synchronous library instruction for your courses online, or even to your departments if you want to get more familiar with any of our online resources. Teams sessions are best if you have your class set up in teams already and don’t want a time limit on the sessions. Zoom sessions will work for course that have not been set up in Teams and would be limited to 40 minutes. We are also working on videos for asynchronous library instruction. Email me you’d like library instruction for your class.

We've created a series of guides just for faculty where you can learn more: 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Subjects



About COM Library
Academic Basics
Adult Education
African & African American
Allied Health
Ally
American History
American Literature
Art
Asian & Asian American
Barbering & Cosmetology
Biology
Books & eBooks
British Literature
Careers
Children & Young Adult
Citation
Collections
COM History
Community
Computers & Technology
Consumer
Controversial Issues
Coworker
CQ Researcher
Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement
Critical Thinking & Information Literacy
Cultures
Current Events
Databases
Distance Education
Drama
Dual Credit
Ebook Central
EBSCO
Economics
Education
Emergencies & Disasters
Emergency Management
EMS
English
Environment
Faculty
Films on Demand
Gale
Gender
Geneaology
General Interest
Geography
Geology & Environmental Science
Get Paper Topics
Getting Started with Literature
Government
Graphic Novels
Guides
Health Information Management
Health, Fitness & Wellness
Help
Hispanic American, Latin American & Spanish
History
Hoopla
Hours
How To...
Humanities
Hurricanes
Industry
Infobase
Integrated Reading & Writing
Issues & Controversies
Kanopy
Language
Law
Leisure
Library
Library of Things
Library Spaces
Life Skills
Literary Criticism
Literature
Math
Media
Microsoft Office & Windows
Military
Music
Native American
News & Media
Nursing
OneSearch
Online 24/7
Open Access
OverDrive
Pandemic
People
Popular Culture
Primary Sources
Pro & Con
Professional Development
Propaganda
ProQuest
Psychology
Psychology for Success
Public Services
Q&A
Reading
Reference
Research
Science
Social Media
Social Responsibility
Social Responsibility in American History
Social Sciences
Sociology
Sources
Speech
Staff
Streaming Media
Student Success
Students
Swank
Tech
Texas
Texas History
Textbook Checkout & Course Reserves
Tips
World History
World Literature
Z2019DecFaculty
Z2019NovFaculty
Z2019OctFaculty
Z2020JulyCOM
Z2020JulyFaculty
Z2020JuneCOM
Z2020JuneFaculty
Z2020MarchCOM
Z2020MayCOM
ZAugCOM
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...