Cite APA Style 7

Academic Video Online provides citations in APA, Chicago and MLA styles that you can grab from the database. Here's how:

1. On any video page select Cite below the video.
2. Choose your preferred citation format from the pull down menu.
3. Copy the citation.

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

On the eBook page, select the Citations tab to grab your citation in APA, Chicago, MLA, or IEEE format. 

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like This on Your Works Cited Page

McKenzie, P. (2004). The Mexican Texans. Texas A&M University Press.

https://e-readtx.biblioboard.com/content/b3caaa95-2a7d-42c6-9730-6662b26570d2

In Text Citations

Parenthetical: (McKenzie)

Narrative: McKenzie 

1. Every Britannica article has a citation icon at the top of the page. Click on the citation icon and MLA will come up by default.
2. Click on the Select citation style pull down menu to select APA. 
3. Grab your citation.
    

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Google. Britannica Academic. Retrieved June 29, 2022,

from https://academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article/Google/471099

Access citations on the upper right of the page above the entry using the Citation option. The default is MLA, so make sure to change it to APA. 
 

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

Rome (Italian name: Roma). (2003). In The Macmillan encyclopedia (2nd ed.). Market House Books Ltd. Credo

Reference: https://comlib.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/

content/entry/move/rome_italian_name_roma/0?institutionId=5089

In CQ Researcher, on every article page is an article toolbar. On a large screen it will be near the top of the page. On a a small screen look for Tools on the bottom of your screen. 

1. To grab your citation, select Cite from the Tool bar. 
2. Sleet your citation format. By default, the style is APA style.
3. Copy your citation to the clipboard so you can paste it in your paper. 

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
4. Change CQ Researcher to italics. 

It Should Look Like

Field, A. (2024). American capitalism. In CQ Researcher. CQ Press

https://doi.org/10.4135/cqresrre20240621

To gab a citation in Ebook Central:

1. On the book detail page, select Cite Book.
2. The citation window will pop up and you use the pull down menu to select APA style.

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like APA

Halpern, P. (2015). Einstein's Dice and Schrödinger's Cat : How Two Great Minds Battled

Quantum Randomness to Create a Unified Theory of Physics. Boulder, US: Basic Books. 

All EBSCO databases help you get citations. Here's how:

1. On the article page, select the quotes option. 
2. Under Select style, use the pull down menu to select APA. 
3. Select Copy to clipboard to grab the citation. 
4. Paste into your references page.

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to match the font of your paper.
4. Italicize the journal title. 

Articles Should Look Like

Milo, R. B. (2024). Diabetes innovations and access to care. American Nurse Journal, 19(5), 19–22.

https://doi.org/10.51256/ANJ052419

EBSCO has a great citation tool you can use to cite your eBooks. Here's how:

1. On the eBook page, select the quotes option. 
2. Under Select style, use the pull down menu to select APA. 
3. Select Copy to clipboard to grab the citation. 
4. Paste into your references page.

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to match the font of your paper.

eBooks Should Look Like

Peter Klimczak, & Christer Petersen. (2023). AI - Limits and Prospects of Artificial Intelligence (Vol. 00004). transcript Verlag.

Access citations on any a video page by clicking on Citation below the video. Citations are provided in APA, Chicago and MLA styles.
 

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.
4. Delete Films Media Group from the beginning of the citation that you grabbed.  
5. Put the date after the tile of the video. 

It Should Look Like

Every Gale article has a citation available. Look in the upper right corner of the article page and select Cite, then select APA. 
 

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

Berman, Lauren. "Dragons and serpents in J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter Series: are they evil?" Mythlore, vol. 27,

no. 1-2, 2008, p. 45+. Gale Academic Onefile, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A188065412/AONE?u=

txshracd2496&sid=AONE&xid=886d9525. Accessed 16 Sept. 2019.

Good news! Google scholar provides citations for articles from the search result list (currently MLA, APA, Chicago, Harvard or Vancouver). 

To grab a citation click on the Cite link below a search result and select from the available citation styles.

As with any resource that provides citations, always double check to make sure formatting is correct. See formatting tips below.

Change it Tips APA

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to match the font of your paper.

Note: Google Scholar does not include DOI information. You'll need to grab the citation from Google Scholar, then click on the title of the article to go to the article page. The article page probably has the DOI, which you should add at the end of the citation with no period following as it can interfere with the link.  

It Should Look Like APA

Taylor, G. (2019). Shakespeare’s Early Gothic Hamlet. Critical Survey, 31(1-2), 4-25. 

https://doi.org/10.3167/cs.2019.31010202



American History Online, Ancient and Medieval History Online, Ancient and Medieval History Online all use the History Research Center interface and citations can be obtained in the same way in each.

At the top of every article is a citation icon in that you can click on to get an MLA, Chicago Manual of Style, Harvard or APA citation. MLA is the default, so you'll need to click the radio button to choose APA.

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

Burg, D. F. (2007). Declaring independence: 1776. In American Revolution, Updated Edition. New York: Facts On File.

Retrieved June 29, 2022, from online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=95702&itemid=WE52&articleId=203427.

At the top of every Issues & Controversies article is a cite option. Click on it and select Citation to get a Chicago, MLA or APA style citation, MLA is the default so you'll need to select APA to grab your citation. 

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

Fake news. (2020, November 4). Retrieved June 29, 2022, from

https://icof.infobase.com/articles/QXJ0aWNsZVRleHQ6MTY0NTA=.

Every JSTOR article has a citation available. Look in the upper right corner of the article page and select Cite, then grab the APA style citation. 

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

O'Reilly for Higher Education does not provide citations that you can grab. But you can grab a citation from OneSearch. Here's how: 

Go to OneSearch and choose the Advanced search option.  Change the Any field option to Title. Type in or paste the title of your item. Click/tap on your item from the Result list
5. Select CITATION. 6. Choose your preferred citation format. 7. Copy the citation.

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

Mueller, & Massaron, L. (2022). Artificial intelligence (Second edition.).

For Dummies.

OneSearch is best used for citing items like books and DVDs that are physically in the library. If you are using an article, eBook or other item from a databases it's best to grab the citation from the database

1. On the result list, click on the quote icon to launch the pop up citation window.
2. APA is selected by default.
3. Select COPY THE CITATION  TO CLIPBOARD.
4. Paste into your paper. See the change it tips, below, to make it just right.

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

Brooks, M. (2006). World War Z : An oral history of the zombie war (1st ed.). New York: Crown.

ProQuest provides citations in APA, Chicago, MLA and more styles that you can grab from the database. Here's how:

1. Click Cite on the right side of your article page.
2. If MLA comes up in the pop up window, click on the pull down menu and select APA.
3. Copy the citation and paste it into your paper. See the change it tips, below, to make it just right.

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

Steindl, F. G. (2007). What ended the great depression? It was not world war II. The Independent Review, 12(2),

179-197. https://comlib.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/what-ended-great-

depression-was-not-world-war-ii/docview/211221353/se-2?accountid=702

At the top of every article is a article is a cite option. Click on it and select Citation to get a Chicago, MLA or APA style citation, MLA is the default so you'll need to select APA to grab your citation. 

Change It Tips

1. After pasting the citation in your paper, create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
2. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
3. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

Bozzone, D. M., & Whittemore, S. (2009). Anatomy of the human circulatory system. In The Circulatory System. 

New York: Facts On File. Retrieved June 29, 2022, from online.infobase.com/

Auth/Index?aid=95702&itemid=WE40&articleId=368481.

Getting your citation from TDS Health is different than getting it from other COM Library Databases. TDS Health provides citation for content from titles, images and media but not for alerts or news. 

1. Select the Citation Tool

For a citation for titles, images and media, there will be a Citation tool at the top of the page. Select it to get started.  

2. Grab the Plain Text Citation

2. Delete What You Don't Need

Because there are many citation styles that might be used, TDS Health incudes every piece of information required by all of them collectively. That means there are things you need to delete that APA does not require. In the example below, all the pieces highlighted in red are not needed.

APRIL HAZARD VALLERAND, PhD, RN, FAAN, CYNTHIA A. SANOSKI, BS, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS, eds. 2019. Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses - 16th Ed. Philadelphia, PA. F. A. Davis Company. ISBN-10: 0-8036-6945-3, ISBN-13: 978-0-8036-6945-1. STAT!Ref Online Electronic Medical Library. http://online.statref.com/Document.aspx?docAddress=N6Gco_9BBDOQaaQ0KDh78Q!!. 6/12/2018 4:19:30 PM CDT (UTC -05:00).

3. Put Together Pieces You Do Need

An eBook from our databases is cited just like a pint book, but with Retrieved from at the end of your citation. Like this: 

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Year of Publication). Title of book: Subtitle of book. edition. URL.

Using the example, above, these are the pieces that you do need:

APRIL HAZARD VALLERAND, CYNTHIA A. SANOSKI, 2019. Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses. Philadelphia, PA. F. A. Davis Company. http://online.statref.com/Document.aspx?docAddress=N6Gco_9BBDOQaaQ0KDh78Q!!.

4. Format It

1. Tweak author name and info: Change the text from all caps, use last name and first initials like this: Vallaerand, A.H. & Sanoski, C.A.
2. Put parentheses around the date: (2019).
3. Italicize the tile of the eBook: Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses.
4. After pasting the citation in your paper, make sure it has a hanging indent, or create a hanging indent. (follow this link to see how).
5. Make it double spaced (follow this link to see how).
6. Change the font to Times New Roman 12.

It Should Look Like

Vallaerand, A.H. & Sanoski, C.A. (2019). Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses. Philadelphia, PA. F. A. Davis Company. 

http://online.statref.com/Document.aspx?docAddress=N6Gco_9BBDOQaaQ0KDh78Q!!.