The best way to get started is with COM Library databases. Not only will you get the full text articles that are the college level sources that your instructors expect you to use, you'll save time! Here are some great features:
Our most popular databases with students and instructors are Academic OneFile, Academic Search Complete and Research Library. They have articles and article citations from thousands of journals and magazines on virtually every academic subject.
COM Library Guides collect the best databases to search for your subjects, as well as some top articles. Look for the page Articles in the guides.
You can get started now by going Straight to the Good Stuff.
Search OneSearch to search print books, eBooks articles and streaming media simultaneously, or select Go! to get started with all our databases.
Searching a database is better than searching Google for college level research. Not only will it you save time, you'll get better quality resources.
--Source: The Top Ten Reasons TexShare Is Better Than Just Surfing the Internet, Texas State Library.
Some magazine and journal publishers do publish articles on the Internet. Generally this is limited to sample articles or even just abstracts of the articles, so if you do search the Internet for articles you generally will not find many on your topic.
Since all the library's databases can be accessed at home and have thousands more journals available than what is freely available on the Internet, using the databases makes more sense. You will get you a lot more articles at the college level that your instructors expect and in less time.