Enhance Your Courses with Library Resources

Direct links to great academic resources are available for you to share with your students and embed in D2L. You'll find articles, eBooks, primary sources, reference, streaming media and more! 

All our online articles, streaming media and most other content available from our databases has 24/7 unlimited access! Meaning all your students can access them all at the same time, no limits, and you can feel free to provide links and assign to your classes. See the top databases below or select see all in that category.

• Articles
  All articles provide citations and have unlimited 24/7 access on or off campus. 
  • Top Picks
    Tie between JSTOR & ProQuest, it really depends on your subject. They both have easy to grab durable links to share with your students, good user interfaces, and provide citations. ProQuest has more content and more current articles. JSTOR has fewer titles but is more focused on just high quality scholarly articles.
  • Also Good
    Gale, CQ Researcher, Issues & Controversies, World News Digest, see all article options.
• eBooks
  Unlimited access varies greatly as some publishers and authors are not available that way. All eBooks provide citations with the exception of OverDrive/Libby. All have 24/7 access on or off campus. 
  • Top Pick
    Ebook Central, our largest collection (over 300,00) of academic eBooks, the most eBooks with unlimited access, the best user experience for academic eBooks and you can also grab a direct link to any part of the eBook, such as a chapter. 
  • Also Good
    EBSCO eBooks, O'Reilly for Higher Education (best for tech, all unlimited), Overdrive/Libby, see all eBook options.
• Primary Sources
  All primary sources provide citations and have unlimited 24/7 access on or off campus. 
  • Top Picks
     Gale Primary Sources, Salem Online History, Archival Films & Newsreels Collection (best for primary streaming media). Gale and Salem both have great collection of primary sources, accompanied by explanations of the significance of the documents. 
  • Also Good
    American History Online, National Geographic Magazine Archive 1888-2020, Time Magazine Archive, 1923-2000, see all primary source options. 
• Reference & Background Info
  All reference sources provide citations and have unlimited 24/7 access on or off campus. 
  • Top Pick
    CREDO has a wide variety of content and a user friendly interface. 
  • Also Good
    Britannica Academic, Gale In Context Biography, see al reference & background options. 
• Streaming Media
  All streaming media provide citations and have unlimited 24/7 access on or off campus, with the exception of Swank not providing citations. 
  • Top Pick
    Films on Demand is the easiest to search for content, better user experience in D2L.
  • Also Good
    AVON, Swank (best for feature films), see all streaming media options.

Some library databases let you embed content. Currently the only one that works both on and off campus is Films on Demand. 

Our eBooks come to us in a variety of ways based on provider, publisher and sometimes author restrictions. Some publishers simply will not sell unlimited copies of eBooks; sometimes all we can get is 1-3 copies of an eBook; and some publishers won't sell to academic libraries.

Top sources for unlimited concurrent access eBooks are:

• Ebook Central
• Gale eBooks
• CREDO eBooks
• O'Reilly for Higher Education
• Salem Online eBooks

All Unlimited, All Owned eBooks
All of the eBooks from these platforms is unlimited concurrent users. They are also owned by the library so access will never go away. The eBooks are web based and you can link to an eBook home page or directly to a specific chapter. 

• Gale eBooks
• Salem Online eBooks*
  All Salem Online eBooks are also available in print in COM Library. 

All Unlimited, Not Owned eBooks
All of the eBooks from this platform is unlimited concurrent users, but are not owned. The eBooks are web based and you can link to an eBook home page.

• O'Reilly for Higher Education

Mostly Unlimited, Some Owned eBooks
All of the eBooks from this platforms is unlimited concurrent users. A few are also owned by the library so access will never go away. The eBooks are web based and you can link to an eBook home page or directly to a specific chapter. 

• CREDO eBooks

Mostly Unlimited eBooks, Some Owned eBooks
Most of the eBooks from this platforms are unlimited concurrent users. While there are some titles with only 1-3 copies, this is our single largest eBooks collection with over 200,000 titles and you will find more unlimited eBooks here than anywhere else. The eBooks come in a web based format to which you can link to an eBook home page or directly to a specific chapter. These eBooks are also available to checkout and download to read on eBook apps. 

• Ebook Central

Mostly 1 Copy, All Owned eBooks
These eBooks are owned by the library so access will never go away. Most of them are available as 1 copy, though in a few cases in EBSCO some may be 1-3 or unlimited. 

• EBSCO eBooks
• OverDrive eBooks (Libby)

Ebook Central
Ebook Central shows you on the home page of an eBook under the title and author how many copies are available. Most eBooks have unlimited copies.

EBSCO eBooks shows you on the home page of an eBook how many copies are available under Concurrent User Level. Most eBooks have single copies, though a few have 3 or unlimited.