The Latest News from COM Library

Library Services for Faculty

COM Library offers a number of services to our faculty including custom guides, book suggestions, reserves, library instruction and more.

• Collection Recommendations
  No one knows better than you what you are teaching and which books, eBooks, DVDs, feature films (via Swank) will help your students the most. Email us with your collection suggestions. Learn more. 
• Virtual Librarians for your Online/Hybrid Courses
  Let us know if you’d like a virtual librarian for your courses. Your virtual librarian will send out several announcements during the semester with links to top resources for their assignments as well as links to get help with the research directly from library staff via live chat, texts, emails and online forms. Email us if you’d like a virtual librarian for your class. Learn more. 
• Library Instruction In person or via Teams
  We can deliver synchronous library instruction for your courses in person in the library, your classroom and online, or even do demos for your departments if you want to get more familiar with any of our online resources. Teams sessions are best if you have your class set up in teams already and don’t want a time limit on the sessions. Email us you’d like library instruction for your class. Learn more. 
• More Faculty Services
  We've created a series of guides just for faculty: 
  • Collection Recommendations for Faculty
  • COM Library Newsletter
  • Copyright & Fair Use for Faculty
  • Creative Commons, Public Domain, Fair Use & Open Access Content for Faculty
  • Current Awareness for Faculty
  • Custom Guides for Faculty
  • Enhance Your Courses with Library Resources
  • Getting Started with OER for Faculty
  • How to Find & Get Items From Other Libraries
  • How to Use Chronicle of Higher Education
  • Library Instruction for Your Students
  • Library Reserves for Faculty
  • Library Services for Faculty
  • OER & Equity
  • OER by Subject for Faculty
  • Virtual Librarian for Faculty

Loads of Resources for Your Students!!! 
We have loads of resources that your students can access in person or online! 

• Millions of articles from scholarly databases like Academic Search Complete, Gale Academic OneFile, and Research Library. See all our scholarly databases. 
• Hundreds of thousands of current events and news articles from databases like CQ Researcher, NewsBank, Gale Global Issues and lots more! See all our current events databases.
• Hundreds of thousands of eBooks from Ebook Central, EBSCO eBooks, OverDrive eBooks and more! See all eBook our collections. 
• Tens of thousands of streaming videos from Films on Demand as well as other collections with streaming media. 

We have great How To guides for all our databases. If your students need help, they can just start a live chat with us during library hours, text us, email us or submit an online form. There are lots of ways for students to get help!