The Latest News from COM Library

Library Services for Faculty

by Kathryn Park on 2025-01-02T08:00:00-06:00 in About COM Library, Faculty | 0 Comments

COM Library offers a number of services to our faculty including custom guides, book suggestions, reserves, library instruction and more.

Collection Recommendations
No one knows better than you what you are teaching and which books, eBooks, DVDs, feature films (via Swank) will help your students the most. Email us with your collection suggestions. Learn more.
Virtual Librarians for your Online/Hybrid Courses
Let us know if you’d like a virtual librarian for your courses. Your virtual librarian will send out several announcements during the semester with links to top resources for their assignments as well as links to get help with the research directly from library staff via live chat, texts, emails and online forms. Email us if you’d like a virtual librarian for your class. Learn more.
Library Instruction In person or via Teams
We can deliver synchronous library instruction for your courses in person in the library, your classroom and online, or even do demos for your departments if you want to get more familiar with any of our online resources. Email us if you’d like library instruction for your class. Learn more.
Placing materials on reserve
The library will place on reserve books, articles or other items that faculty would like to have available to their students. We recommend placing on reserve multiple copies of course textbooks. This helps to ensure that students who cannot afford to purchase books still have access. Learn More.
Creating course guides and more
We have created numerous guides that are available to your students 24/7. We are happy to create guides for you that support your courses with the best library resources for your subject. Learn More.
For Your Research
We have our great collection of A-Z Databases. Library databases include scholarly articles, eBooks, primary sources, streaming media and more. Faculty favorites include the Chronicle of Higher Education and JSTOR. Library databases are available 24/7 to you and your students, on or off campus. When off campus login with your COM account. See all library databases.
More Faculty Services
We've created a series of guides just for faculty:

Loads of Resources for Your Students!!!
We have loads of resources that your students can access in person or online! See more about resources for your students.

Millions of articles from scholarly databases like JSTOR, Gale Academic OneFile, and ProQuest One Community College. See all our scholarly databases.
Hundreds of thousands of current events and news articles from databases like CQ Researcher, NewsBank, Gale Global Issues and lots more! See all our current events databases.
Hundreds of thousands of eBooks from Ebook Central, EBSCO eBooks, Libby eBooks and more! See all eBook our collections.
Tens of thousands of streaming videos from Films on Demand and AVON, as well as other collections with streaming media.

Help for your Students 24/7
And last but no least, library staff are here to help your students with their research, citations or other library related questions. During library hours COM Library staff will still be answering chats, but when we close real academic librarians working at colleges from around the world will hop online to help them out. They can help with all the same things that our library staff do, like helping you find scholarly articles, primary sources and grabbing citations.

Library Guides 24/7
We have great Subject, How To and Tip guides for all our databases. Out most popular guides include Media Bias, Art Appreciation and Banned Books. If your students need help, they can just start a live chat with us during library hours, text us, email us or submit an online form.

Add a Comment